Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > macOS

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-20-2011, 10:52 PM
Craig F Craig F is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 12,591
Default How is it on a 1.1 Mac Pro?

I cant find a computer spec sheet
__________________
...

"Fly High Freeee click psst tic tic tic click Bird Yeah!" - dave911

PT11 System Requirements link http://avid.force.com/pkb/articles/C...m-Requirements


Thank you,

Craig
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-20-2011, 10:54 PM
cjguitar cjguitar is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 1999
Location: Sunland, CA
Posts: 561
Default Re: How is it on a 1.1 Mac Pro?

What's a 1.1 Mac Pro? Can you be more specific?
__________________
Chris M. Jacobson, CAS
Re-recording Mixer, Sound Designer
IMDB
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-20-2011, 11:18 PM
BigMeany BigMeany is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Detroit
Posts: 99
Default Re: How is it on a 1.1 Mac Pro?

I think he's referring to this:

August 2006
Hardware Overview:

Model Name: Mac Pro
Model Identifier: MacPro1,1
Processor Name: Dual-Core Intel Xeon
Processor Speed: 2.66 GHz
Number Of Processors: 2
Total Number Of Cores: 4
L2 Cache (per processor): 4 MB
Memory: 7 GB
Bus Speed: 1.33 GHz
Boot ROM Version: MP11.005C.B04
SMC Version (system): 1.7f10
Serial Number (system):
Hardware UUID:

And craig, You need to be more specific on what exactly your asking? The mac pro 1,1 is the first intel mac pro, So whats your question?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-20-2011, 11:45 PM
Rail Jon Rogut Rail Jon Rogut is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Los Angeles, CA, USA
Posts: 14,492
Default Re: How is it on a 1.1 Mac Pro?

Works fine here with NativeHD, 002/C, Built-in and other hardware on our MacPro 1,1

HDX requires a Nehalem or better.

Rail
__________________
Platinum Samples
www.platinumsamples.com
Engineered Drums for BFD
••••••••••••••••••••••••••••
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-20-2011, 11:46 PM
cjguitar cjguitar is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 1999
Location: Sunland, CA
Posts: 561
Default Re: How is it on a 1.1 Mac Pro?

I'm sure it will run (I'm running it on my 2008 MacBook Pro Intel Core 2 Duo 2.8 Ghz), but how well it will run is hard to say.
__________________
Chris M. Jacobson, CAS
Re-recording Mixer, Sound Designer
IMDB
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-21-2011, 12:01 AM
DigiTechSupt's Avatar
DigiTechSupt DigiTechSupt is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Worldwide
Posts: 33,818
Default Re: How is it on a 1.1 Mac Pro?

I've been running it on a 1,1 Mac Pro for awhile and it's been quite nice. The one sticking point, for me, is the expense of RAM for these machines - it's heinously expensive compared to a newer Westmere or Nehalem model - so much so that it almost makes more sense to put the money I would have spent on RAM for the 1,1 into a newer model. Not only is RAM significantly cheaper performance on those machines put it leagues above the 1,1.
__________________
Avid Audio Tech Support
Help us help you - read this before posting
Support FAQ
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 10-21-2011, 12:18 AM
BrianJArmstrong BrianJArmstrong is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 115
Default Re: How is it on a 1.1 Mac Pro?

All the links on the Pro Tools 10 page that are supposed to link us to system requirements are for Pro Tools 9.

I just got a new MacBook Pro a few weeks ago, am I good to go? Cause I'm SO READY to stop fighting PT9.0.5 on Lion.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 10-21-2011, 12:09 PM
cjguitar cjguitar is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 1999
Location: Sunland, CA
Posts: 561
Default Re: How is it on a 1.1 Mac Pro?

You should be good to go. Like I said above, I've been running it on my 3 year old MacBook Pro, with only an Intel Core 2 Duo, so you're system will be smokin' if it's one of the recent MacBook Pro's with Thunderbolt.

Quote:
Originally Posted by BrianJArmstrong View Post
All the links on the Pro Tools 10 page that are supposed to link us to system requirements are for Pro Tools 9.

I just got a new MacBook Pro a few weeks ago, am I good to go? Cause I'm SO READY to stop fighting PT9.0.5 on Lion.
__________________
Chris M. Jacobson, CAS
Re-recording Mixer, Sound Designer
IMDB
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 10-22-2011, 04:48 PM
Snarf Snarf is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Bergen, Norway
Posts: 240
Default Re: How is it on a 1.1 Mac Pro?

Csjguitar: How is it running on your macbook compared to 9?
I have a 3,06 core 2 duo iMac with 8gb of RAM. 9.0.5 beta in lions has been horrible, but 9.04 in SL was ok. Does it make your mac feel faster or slower? Also, how is AAX performance compared to rtas?
__________________
Stian Sylta
Producer/Songwriter/Musician
Sons Of Vanity on iTunes/Spotify
MacBook Pro i7/Apogee One/Duet/ElevenR/Pro Tools 12
Preamps from UA, Mackie and Avid.
Listening through Dynaudio, Genelec and ADAM
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 10-22-2011, 11:55 PM
cjguitar cjguitar is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 1999
Location: Sunland, CA
Posts: 561
Default Re: How is it on a 1.1 Mac Pro?

I never ran 9.0.5 on Lion, but in comparison to 9.0.3 on Snow Leopard, I do feel that PT10 on Lion is faster, and more responsive. Also AAX is getting pretty good performance, but it's hard to compare to RTAS, as we don't have any AAX that exist as RTAS (yet).
__________________
Chris M. Jacobson, CAS
Re-recording Mixer, Sound Designer
IMDB
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:15 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com