Avid Pro Audio Community




Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post | Community Terms of Use | Avid.com Home Page

Google the Forum | Search Knowledge Base | Search Avid.com

Find Support | Support FAQ | Avid Support How To Video Series

Software Updates, Drivers, Manuals, Compatibility, Optimize, Troubleshoot, etc. (Links)

Please post your message once only to the correct forum
Help us Help You - READ THIS Before Posting!



Pro Tools 11 Information









Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools Software (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-24-2011, 04:40 PM
lockwolf lockwolf is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 12
Default Pro Tools 9.0.5 Not recording or playing back audio

Hey all, I'm having a crap ton of issues. Basically, it comes down to 2 things:

1. Whenever I arm a track to record, then press record, the stop, play & record buttons flash a few times then it doesn't record anything. I've tried the playback engine trick and it works but that leads to another problem.

2. Whenever audio is played back, it doesn't play through anything. Basically, meters move, the time moves forward, everything that should normally happen happens but no audio plays.

I'm running PT 9.0.5, Win 7, Intel Core i5-661, 14 GB ram, 1tb HD and a Mackie Onyx 1640 for the interface. Any help would be amazing!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-24-2011, 08:20 PM
CookSier CookSier is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 14
Default Re: Pro Tools 9.0.5 Not recording or playing back audio

Would be interested to know if you're using firewire - I have a similar topic going with a new PT9/Mbox Pro 3 system and my best guess is that I didn't see the firewire specs for Pro Tools before I ordered the PC. I have the same problem with no audio at times but it interleaves with getting a few seconds of audio then the audio buffer overflow error message, so I'm assuming they are related at this stage.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-24-2011, 09:03 PM
hue hue is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Vancouver BC, Canada
Posts: 154
Default Re: Pro Tools 9.0.5 Not recording or playing back audio

Quote:
Originally Posted by lockwolf View Post
Hey all, I'm having a crap ton of issues. Basically, it comes down to 2 things:

1. Whenever I arm a track to record, then press record, the stop, play & record buttons flash a few times then it doesn't record anything. I've tried the playback engine trick and it works but that leads to another problem.

2. Whenever audio is played back, it doesn't play through anything. Basically, meters move, the time moves forward, everything that should normally happen happens but no audio plays.

I'm running PT 9.0.5, Win 7, Intel Core i5-661, 14 GB ram, 1tb HD and a Mackie Onyx 1640 for the interface. Any help would be amazing!
What's your signal chain. You say that the meters move so, something is getting recorded. Whether you are able to monitor is the problem I think. What kind of monitors do you have?
__________________
Intel i7 4770
Dell XPS 8700
16 Gig DDR3
1 x 1TB System Drive
2 x 160Gig Seagate HDD
1 x 320Gig Seagate HDD
1 x 500Gig Seagate HDD
UAD-2 Solo
Presonus Firestudio Mobile
KRK RP5
Windows 7 Pro. 64 bit
Sonar X2
Samplitude 11 Producer
Sampletank 2 XL
EZDrummer
Guitar Rig 4
ProTools 9.06

All legit software thank you very much.

Yes I have a low post count but only because I don't have a lot of problems with my gear.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-24-2011, 11:22 PM
CookSier CookSier is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 14
Default Re: Pro Tools 9.0.5 Not recording or playing back audio

With my similar situation I just learnt one of the Pro Tools commandments the hard way "Though shalt not run Pro Tools with a wireless network connection enabled". I thought I had disabled it but not so......

The system has run flawlessly for a few hours now - no transport issues, no error messages, nothing but perfect behaviour. I also stripped it back to use a max of 4 out of 6 cores (and tried just 2 without issue).

One happy Pro Tools user now (and one happy Adam A7X user!)

Lesson learnt....now to make some music!

__________
Intel Core i7 970 3.20GHz, 12MB Cache, 6 Cores
24GB 1333MHz DDR3 Triple Channel Kit (6x4GB)
ATI Radeon HD 5770 1GB Passive, DVI, HDMI, DisplayPort
Integrated IEEE-1394 Firewire Port (VIA)
Western Digital 500GB 7200rpm, SATA 6Gb/s, 32MB Cache
2 x Western Digital 1TB, 64MB, 7200rpm, SATA 6GB/s, Caviar Black
Samsung STORY USB 3.0 1TB (backup)
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-25-2011, 09:56 AM
lockwolf lockwolf is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 12
Default Re: Pro Tools 9.0.5 Not recording or playing back audio

Well, after completely uninstalling PT9 and reinstalling it, everything works now. I don't know what the issue was but I haven't had any problems.

I'm running my Onyx in via Firewire.

As for meters moving and no monitoring, it was never a problem when recording. The problem came when playing the audio back. Id see waveforms in my edit window but nothing was playing.

Like I said, a fresh reinstall of PT9 seems to have fixed things. Hopefully no more problems
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Garbled audio recording and playing back Steve0 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 09-08-2013 02:23 PM
M-Powered 7.3 not recording/playing back, Please help!! nsanc Pro Tools M-Powered (Win) 2 07-25-2009 09:35 AM
Distortion of Recording When Playing Back Recording acs Pro Tools M-Powered (Win) 2 03-18-2008 04:29 PM
audio playback stops when recording and playing back cnote 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 04-27-2007 03:09 AM
recording drums into PT LE while playing back mix? dubrichie 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 01-11-2005 03:08 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:21 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com