Avid Pro Audio Community




Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post | Community Terms of Use | Avid.com Home Page

Google the Forum | Search Knowledge Base | Search Avid.com

Find Support | Support FAQ | Avid Support How To Video Series

Software Updates, Drivers, Manuals, Compatibility, Optimize, Troubleshoot, etc. (Links)

Please post your message once only to the correct forum
Help us Help You - READ THIS Before Posting!



Pro Tools 11 Information









Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-09-2011, 04:10 AM
yijvapar yijvapar is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 52
Default Interruptions and buffer size problems

Pro Tools has recently been giving me the "increase buffer size" message and when not recording the audio is being interrupted for a split-second with silence. I haven't had this problem with this PC at all up to now. It might have something to do with the fact that I recently put all the contents of an external hard-drive onto my "Pro Tools" D: drive, but I then moved it off.

I'm wandering what I should do? I tried the troubleshooting tips and I think my PC is up to scratch.

-------------------------
SiSoftware Sandra

Computer
Model : GigaByte X58A-UD3R
Workgroup : WORKGROUP
Host Name : James-PC
User : James

Processor
Model : Intel(R) Core(TM) i7 CPU 950 @ 3.07GHz
Speed : 3.24GHz
Cores per Processor : 4 Unit(s)
Threads per Core : 2 Unit(s)
Type : Quad-Core
Integrated Data Cache : 4x 32kB, Synchronous, Write-Thru, 8-way, 64 byte line size, 2 threads sharing
L2 Cache : 4x 256kB, ECC, Synchronous, ATC, 8-way, 64 byte line size, 2 threads sharing
L3 Cache : 8MB, ECC, Synchronous, ATC, 16-way, Exclusive, 64 byte line size, 16 threads sharing

Computer
Mainboard : GigaByte X58A-UD3R
BIOS : Award (OEM) FB 08/24/2010
Bus(es) : X-Bus PCI PCIe IMB USB FireWire/1394 i2c/SMBus
Multi-Processor (MP) Support : No
Multi-Processor Advanced PIC (APIC) : Yes
Total Memory : 6GB DIMM DDR3

Chipset
Model : Giga-Byte X58 I/O Hub
Front Side Bus Speed : 2x 2.43GHz (4.86GHz)

Chipset
Model : Giga-Byte Core Desktop (Bloomfield) UnCore
Front Side Bus Speed : 2x 2.43GHz (4.86GHz)
Total Memory : 6GB DIMM DDR3
Channels : 3
Memory Bus Speed : 2x 540MHz (1GHz)

Memory Module(s)
Memory Module : Kingston 99U5458-001A00LF 2GB DIMM DDR3 PC3-10700U DDR3-1334 (9-9-9-25 4-34-10-5)
Memory Module : Kingston 99U5458-001A00LF 2GB DIMM DDR3 PC3-10700U DDR3-1334 (9-9-9-25 4-34-10-5)
Memory Module : Kingston 99U5458-002A00LF 2GB DIMM DDR3 PC3-10700U DDR3-1334 (9-9-9-25 4-34-10-5)

Video System
Video Adapter : NVIDIA GeForce GTS 450 (192 SM5.0 1.65GHz, 1GB 3.6GHz, PCIe 2.00 x16)

Graphics Processor
OpenCL GP Processor : NVIDIA GeForce GTS 450 (192SP 4C 1.65GHz, 1GB 3.6GHz)
Compute Shader Processor : NVIDIA GeForce GTS 450 (192SP 1.65GHz, 1GB 3.6GHz)

Storage Devices
WDC WD10EARS-22Y5B1 (1TB, SATA300, 3.5") : 932GB (C:)
WDC WD10EARS-22Y5B1 (1TB, SATA300, 3.5") : 932GB (D:)
TSSTcorp CDDVDW SH-S223C (SATA150, DVD+-RW, CD-RW, 2MB Cache) : N/A (E:)
SAMSUNG DVDWBD SH-B083L (SATA150, BD-R, DVD+-RW, CD-RW, 2MB Cache) : N/A (F:)

Logical Storage Devices
System Reserved : 100MB (NTFS)
STORAGE (D:) : 932GB (NTFS) @ WDC WD10EARS-22Y5B1 (1TB, SATA300, 3.5")
Hard Disk (C:) : 931GB (NTFS) @ WDC WD10EARS-22Y5B1 (1TB, SATA300, 3.5")
Optical Drive (E:) : N/A @ TSSTcorp CDDVDW SH-S223C (SATA150, DVD+-RW, CD-RW, 2MB Cache)
Optical Drive (F:) : N/A @ SAMSUNG DVDWBD SH-B083L (SATA150, BD-R, DVD+-RW, CD-RW, 2MB Cache)

Peripherals
LPC Hub Controller 1 : Giga-Byte LPC Interface Controller
LPC Legacy Controller 1 : ITE IT8720F
Audio Device : Giga-Byte HD Audio Controller
Audio Device : EVGA GF106 High Definition Audio Controller
Audio Codec : nVidia 0011h
Audio Codec : nVidia 0011h
Audio Codec : nVidia 0011h
Disk Controller : Giga-Byte 6 port SATA AHCI Controller
Disk Controller : Giga-Byte 88SE91A3 SATA-600 Controller
Disk Controller : Giga-Byte JMB36X PCIE-to-SATAII/IDE RAID Controller
Disk Controller : Giga-Byte JMB36X PCIE-to-SATAII/IDE RAID Controller
USB Controller 1 : Giga-Byte USB UHCI Controller #4
USB Controller 2 : Giga-Byte USB UHCI Controller #5
USB Controller 3 : Giga-Byte USB UHCI Controller #6
USB Controller 4 : Giga-Byte USB EHCI Controller #2
USB Controller 5 : Giga-Byte USB UHCI Controller #1
USB Controller 6 : Giga-Byte USB UHCI Controller #2
USB Controller 7 : Giga-Byte USB UHCI Controller #3
USB Controller 8 : Giga-Byte USB EHCI Controller #1
FireWire/1394 Controller 1 : Giga-Byte TSB43AB23 1394a-2000 OHCI PHY/link-layer Controller
SMBus/i2c Controller 1 : Intel ICH SMBus

Printers and Faxes
Printer : Microsoft XPS Document Writer (600x600, Colour)
Fax : Microsoft Shared Fax Driver (200x200)

Network Services
Network Adapter : Realtek PCIe GBE Family Controller (Ethernet, 100Mbps)

Power Management
Mains (AC) Line Status : On-Line

Operating System
Windows System : Microsoft Windows 7 Home 6.01.7601 (Service Pack 1)
Platform Compliance : x64

Windows Experience Index
Current System : 5.9
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-09-2011, 08:51 AM
EGS's Avatar
EGS EGS is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Chicago
Posts: 2,196
Default Re: Interruptions and buffer size problems

Quote:
Originally Posted by yijvapar View Post
...I haven't had this problem with this PC at all up to now. It might have something to do with the fact that I recently put all the contents of an external hard-drive onto my "Pro Tools" D: drive, but I then moved it off...
There's a few things I would try. Perhaps your PT session drive got too full. Try defragging it or even reformatting. Also, can you roll-back to an earlier Acronis Image (or similar) of your working boot drive? Trash PTools databases and preferences. Hope this helps !!!
__________________
Studio: Win 7 64 / GIGABYTE GA-X58A-UD3R / i7-930 / 12GB / 3 int WD Black / PT 9.0.3 / Focusrite LS56

Remote: Win 7 64 / HP ProBook 4730s + SIIG FW / i7-2630 / 8GB / ext USB2 drive / PT 9.0.3 / Focusrite Pro 40
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-09-2011, 08:40 PM
yijvapar yijvapar is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 52
Default Re: Interruptions and buffer size problems

Thanks for the tips. Trashing the PT prefs is what worked.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Having problems with my H/W Buffer size The Poet 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 28 06-13-2007 05:30 PM
H/W Buffer Size Problems soulcatcher 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 21 12-19-2006 05:11 AM
"H/W buffer size" pop-up problems mickj 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 6 12-15-2004 09:39 AM
h/w buffer size interruptions johnnymojo 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 08-20-2004 08:35 AM
BUFFER SIZE PROBLEMS... Renan 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 3 03-04-2004 02:32 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:33 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com