Avid Pro Audio Community




Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post | Community Terms of Use | Avid.com Home Page

Google the Forum | Search Knowledge Base | Search Avid.com

Find Support | Support FAQ | Avid Support How To Video Series

Software Updates, Drivers, Manuals, Compatibility, Optimize, Troubleshoot, etc. (Links)

Please post your message once only to the correct forum
Help us Help You - READ THIS Before Posting!



Pro Tools 11 Information


Avid at AES Los Angeles 2014





Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-13-2011, 04:33 PM
uptowners2010 uptowners2010 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 12
Default Exporting Audio Files for mixing

ok i use pro tools 8 le and i use virtual instruments. now i know about recording audio and that you have to record it at the highest level before distortion, but im using virtual instruments, so if i wanted to export strings to mix in another program or a mixing engineer, would i have to set the level to the highest before it hits distortion and then export it,,or it wouldnt matter because it was recorded internally via virtual instrument. i guess the question im really asking is, how do i prepare a song for mixing later on. like levels of each track and such ?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-13-2011, 04:54 PM
Craig F's Avatar
Craig F Craig F is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: LA, CA
Posts: 10,699
Default Re: Exporting Audio Files for mixing

you are fundamentally wrong about recording each element as hot as possible.
end product is much better if each element has 12 to 24 dB of average headroom.

so print each VI so the average level is the area were the meter changes from green to yellow
__________________
!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

We are not mind readers: Help Us Help You


"Fly High Freeee click psst tic tic tic click Bird Yeah!" - dave911

PT11 System Requirements link http://avid.force.com/pkb/articles/C...m-Requirements


Thank you,

Craig
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-13-2011, 06:56 PM
Top Jimmy's Avatar
Top Jimmy Top Jimmy is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Spokane, WA
Posts: 3,214
Default Re: Exporting Audio Files for mixing

Quote:
Originally Posted by Craig F View Post
you are fundamentally wrong about recording each element as hot as possible.
end product is much better if each element has 12 to 24 dB of average headroom.

so print each VI so the average level is the area were the meter changes from green to yellow
Ditto.
__________________
James Cadwallader

"In different circles we keep holding our ground
Indifferent circles we keep spinning round and round"

-Rush
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Exporting Audio Files gz131 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 04-20-2009 01:26 PM
exporting separate audio files simultaneously brenmcg 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 06-17-2008 02:18 PM
Exporting PT audio files to Logic w/o OMF, how? sirgant 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 11-11-2007 05:56 PM
Exporting Regions as Audio Files HiRaX Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 6 11-28-2005 08:35 PM
Exporting Logic audio files.... Eric9volt 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 11-11-2001 06:00 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:02 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com