Avid Pro Audio Community




Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post | Community Terms of Use | Avid.com Home Page

Google the Forum | Search Knowledge Base | Search Avid.com

Find Support | Support FAQ | Avid Support How To Video Series

Software Updates, Drivers, Manuals, Compatibility, Optimize, Troubleshoot, etc. (Links)

Please post your message once only to the correct forum
Help us Help You - READ THIS Before Posting!



Pro Tools 11 Information









Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools Software (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-07-2011, 10:40 AM
cdmstudios cdmstudios is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 18
Default ASIO Drivers for Pro Tools 9 in win7 64bit DO NOT WORK

Hi -
I just "upgraded" my whole system to win7 64bit assuming (unfortunately) that since 8.0.4, the whole 64bit ASIO driver issues had been resolved. Well, at least I was able to use them before. Now, they simply do not work in 3rd party software. Using Sony Vegas Pro, or Sound Forge, or any other DAW, the cursor does not move during playback and there is no response in the meters. In other words, it's unuseable.

Is this a known issue and is it being worked on?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-07-2011, 11:08 AM
daeron80 daeron80 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Orlando, Florida, USA
Posts: 3,420
Default Re: ASIO Drivers for Pro Tools 9 in win7 64bit DO NOT WORK

There are lots of people using other DAWs with Avid hardware on Win7x64. Must be a different problem. I assume you've gone through all the optimizations and are running as Admin?
__________________
David J. Finnamore

Amount of control over loudness exercised by
1. Recording/mastering engineer by reducing dynamic range: 0%
2. Listener by operating volume control: 100%

PT9.0.3 | 002R | Win7 and Mac SL
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-07-2011, 12:32 PM
cdmstudios cdmstudios is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 18
Default Re: ASIO Drivers for Pro Tools 9 in win7 64bit DO NOT WORK

I'd love to hear from someone who is using one of Sony's products in ASIO mode in win7 64bit with Pro Tools 9 installed. I have heard from several sources that this is a known issue and would love to know if it's being worked on.

I did all the optimizations.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-07-2011, 04:49 PM
Bill Denton Bill Denton is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Pittsburgh PA
Posts: 1,942
Default Re: ASIO Drivers for Pro Tools 9 in win7 64bit DO NOT WORK

Maybe I'm missing something, but since it is Sony products that aren't working, don't you think a Sony forum might be a more appropriate place for these questions?
__________________
Just rockin'...what more is there?

Bill in Pittsburgh
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-07-2011, 07:40 PM
George Ware George Ware is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 1970
Location: El Paso Tx
Posts: 218
Default Re: ASIO Drivers for Pro Tools 9 in win7 64bit DO NOT WORK

PT ASIO stopped working in Sony apps with 8.04 and up!
Acid 7, Vegas 9 & 10, Sound Forge 9 & 10.
Now I run PT 8.03 on one system with Sony and other apps and PT 9.02 on another.

George Ware
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-07-2011, 07:48 PM
Top Jimmy's Avatar
Top Jimmy Top Jimmy is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Spokane, WA
Posts: 3,200
Default Re: ASIO Drivers for Pro Tools 9 in win7 64bit DO NOT WORK

It's not just PT 9 on Win7/64. http://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=296620

I forgot about Vegas and Sound Forge on my XP machine. I tried them both with the ASIO 8.0.5 Mbox 2 driver and they are dead in the water along with Reaper and Ableton Live.

I don't know if this has anything to do with it, but the issue appears to be with any program that uses both the inputs and outputs via ASIO. I have tried VIs and Reason Adapted and they all use the ASIO driver just fine. The common theme with those being that they don't use the inputs.
__________________
James Cadwallader

"In different circles we keep holding our ground
Indifferent circles we keep spinning round and round"

-Rush
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 04-07-2011, 08:50 PM
TOM@METRO's Avatar
TOM@METRO TOM@METRO is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 13,504
Default Re: ASIO Drivers for Pro Tools 9 in win7 64bit DO NOT WORK

This is odd, but it is the way it is. All of our Sony applications distort audio and experience a total GUI failure thru the Avid drivers. We use an "EchoAudio Layla" for all the Sony Apps. And we leave the Avid interface for Avid only.
__________________
~ tom thomas

Formerly hobotom
No.1 on Wish List... Track Freeze

Pro Tools 11.2.1 (11.1.3 for clients) ~HDX~HDN
HD Omni +192 I/O
Intel Hexcore i7, SSD
Gigabyte GA-X79-UD3
Ampex MM1200 2" 24 trk tape
MOTU 24 I/O W/PCI 424
Outboard, UREI, Eventide, Lexicon, Yamaha, TC Electronics, Orban, ART, EchoAudio, Dolby, Hughes, API, Neve, Audio Arts, BBE, Aphex, Berringer, MOTU, dbx, Allison, etc.

www.metrostudios.com
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 04-08-2011, 06:00 AM
daeron80 daeron80 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Orlando, Florida, USA
Posts: 3,420
Default Re: ASIO Drivers for Pro Tools 9 in win7 64bit DO NOT WORK

Reaper works brilliantly with 002R on my Win7x64 machine. As do the few stand-alone VIs I have. I can also use it for Skype, both in- and outputs.

Sony is just like that. Remember the days of DAT machines, when all brands could play each other's tapes except Sony?
__________________
David J. Finnamore

Amount of control over loudness exercised by
1. Recording/mastering engineer by reducing dynamic range: 0%
2. Listener by operating volume control: 100%

PT9.0.3 | 002R | Win7 and Mac SL
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 04-08-2011, 07:30 AM
cdmstudios cdmstudios is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 18
Default Re: ASIO Drivers for Pro Tools 9 in win7 64bit DO NOT WORK

I think saying "Sony is just like that" isn't the right response. It's clearly a clocking problem in the driver and needs to be addressed. There are a lot of us who share the Digi hardware with both Pro Tools and 3rd party apps and you would think Avid would want to know their driver works with all apps, not just one or two 3rd party ones.

I'm most interested in this thread reaching the Avid Tech folks so they know there is an actual reproducable problem
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 04-08-2011, 07:37 AM
TOM@METRO's Avatar
TOM@METRO TOM@METRO is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 13,504
Default Re: ASIO Drivers for Pro Tools 9 in win7 64bit DO NOT WORK

Quote:
Originally Posted by cdmstudios View Post
I think saying "Sony is just like that" isn't the right response. It's clearly a clocking problem in the driver and needs to be addressed. There are a lot of us who share the Digi hardware with both Pro Tools and 3rd party apps and you would think Avid would want to know their driver works with all apps, not just one or two 3rd party ones.

I'm most interested in this thread reaching the Avid Tech folks so they know there is an actual reproducable problem
+1
__________________
~ tom thomas

Formerly hobotom
No.1 on Wish List... Track Freeze

Pro Tools 11.2.1 (11.1.3 for clients) ~HDX~HDN
HD Omni +192 I/O
Intel Hexcore i7, SSD
Gigabyte GA-X79-UD3
Ampex MM1200 2" 24 trk tape
MOTU 24 I/O W/PCI 424
Outboard, UREI, Eventide, Lexicon, Yamaha, TC Electronics, Orban, ART, EchoAudio, Dolby, Hughes, API, Neve, Audio Arts, BBE, Aphex, Berringer, MOTU, dbx, Allison, etc.

www.metrostudios.com
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
MBox2 Mini: ASIO Troubles with Win7 64bit!! dRead Pro Tools Software (Win) 8 04-04-2011 06:13 AM
003rack+win7-64bit PC+digi asio driver = midi input (5pin) problem! Slaido 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 0 03-22-2011 06:32 AM
Installing Mbox2 Win7 64bit drivers WITHOUT Protools 8 - Have you done this? :-) grasta 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 16 02-25-2011 08:23 PM
Most up to date ASIO drivers for Win7? session_8 Pro Tools 9 Discussion 1 11-08-2010 11:09 AM
Standalone ASIO drivers for Win7 x64 kenzo 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 12-21-2009 08:57 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:52 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com