Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Additional Resources


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Tips & Tricks

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-20-2011, 07:52 AM
DJ Hellfire DJ Hellfire is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Keyport/Cliffwood, NJ
Posts: 1,841
Question Dithering...

Trying to understand more about dithering. Now, say I have all my stereo bounces of my project imported into a new session for mastering, the session is 24/48 like the original sessions of all the songs. I set up all my limiters and everything with Dithering turned on (to 16). Now once I have all the songs properly set and level overall and I bounce all the songs to a new audio track in the same session. Are those songs properly dithered? Or do you have to actually use Bounce to disk for true dithering to take place?
__________________
www.HellfireBeats.com

Akai MPC 2000XL, Akai MPC Renaissance, NI Maschine MKI, JV 1010, Mackie 1202VLZ Pro, Akai Advance 61, Focal Alpha 80, UAD Apollo Quad, UAD 2 Satellite Quad, Pro Tools 10, Pro Tools 12, Neve R6 "Lunch Box", Neve Portico 511, Neumann TLM49, Monster Power Pro 2500

Mac Pro 4,1, Early-2009, 3.46GHz Nehalem 12-Core, 32GB RAM - OSX 10.10.5

13" MacBook Pro, Late-2011, 2.4GHz Dual Core i5, 16GB RAM - OSX 10.11.4

27" iMac, Late-2012, 3.4GHz i7, 24GB RAM - OSX 10.10.5
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-20-2011, 09:07 AM
scenicrecords scenicrecords is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 177
Default Re: Dithering...

There are two ways to do this:

1. If you are recording back to another track, your file will still be at 24bit 48kHz. You would want to apply dither only if you are looking to go to 16bit 44.1kHz for CD. Once you record back to another track with your limiter, etc. (with dithering off in your limiter) you will then have your final track at 24bit 48kHz. You can then export the region as a file and select 16 bit 44.1kHz.

From the Reference Guide (Page 288):

In the Export Selected dialog, set the File Type,
Format, Bit Depth, and Sample Rate. In addition,
specify the Conversion Quality, and choose the
Destination Directory.
When you export regions to a lower bit depth,
Dither (with or without Noise Shaping) is applied
as shown in Table 16.
The Dither used for any conversion is the
Digidesign Dither plug-in (with or without
Noise Shaping enabled, as noted in Table 16).

Table 16. Dither and Noise Shaping with Export
Selected dialog

Bit Depth Dither Noise Shaping
24-bit to 24-bit No No
16-bit to 24-bit No No
24-bit to 16-bit Yes Yes
16-bit to 16-bit No No


2. Another option is to use the Bounce to Disk feature with the Dithering on in your Limiter and bouncing to the correct bit depth and sample rate. Double check your tops and tails of each track after your bounces.
__________________
Dell Studio 1555 Laptop, Intel Core Duo T6600 2.2GHz, 4GB RAM
Windows 7 64-bit
Pro Tools M-Powered 8.0.4cs2
M-Audio Firewire 410 via Digi-Qualified SIIG FireWire 2-Port ExpressCard {NN-EC2012-S1}
Glyph 050Q 500GB via eSATA
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-20-2011, 09:29 AM
DJ Hellfire DJ Hellfire is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Keyport/Cliffwood, NJ
Posts: 1,841
Default Re: Dithering...

Thanks! Yea, I know about the dither on export. That's how I've been doing it. I guess my second question then is whether it's better to use the dither in export, or better to use a limiters built in dither? Or does it not matter?

I guess what's throwing all this confusion in my head is some people saying they don't like BTD, because it's inaccurate or doesn't sound as good, and that they rather bounce to audio track. Then I see people say use the built in dither of the limiter. But then how do you dither with the limiter if you don't BTD???!!! Just too many different opinions I'm seeing I guess!
__________________
www.HellfireBeats.com

Akai MPC 2000XL, Akai MPC Renaissance, NI Maschine MKI, JV 1010, Mackie 1202VLZ Pro, Akai Advance 61, Focal Alpha 80, UAD Apollo Quad, UAD 2 Satellite Quad, Pro Tools 10, Pro Tools 12, Neve R6 "Lunch Box", Neve Portico 511, Neumann TLM49, Monster Power Pro 2500

Mac Pro 4,1, Early-2009, 3.46GHz Nehalem 12-Core, 32GB RAM - OSX 10.10.5

13" MacBook Pro, Late-2011, 2.4GHz Dual Core i5, 16GB RAM - OSX 10.11.4

27" iMac, Late-2012, 3.4GHz i7, 24GB RAM - OSX 10.10.5
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-20-2011, 10:19 AM
Dorian Green Dorian Green is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: France
Posts: 210
Default Re: Dithering...

I'm used to use Wavelab as my mastering stage software...But the process is the same in Protools.
First of all BTD your mixdown ay 48/24.
Open a new session with the same SR/BD
Import your bounced Stereo Track in that new session
Open a new Master track...Insert the plugin you need to do your mastering and at the very last insert put your Limiter/Dither or only Dither.Set it for 16bit truncation.
Bounce to disk..again...This time setting bounce options to 44.1/16.
That's it.
__________________
Green Room Studios, France
Mac Book Pro i7 15"4 Mac OSX 10.6.6
PT 9.0.2
DIY Intel Core 2 Quad, P5B Premium,DDR2 6GB, Win 7 Ultimate.
PTLE 8.0.4
002R Unit and MBox Mini
SSL XLogic Alpha Channel.
SPL Goldmike valve Preamp.
DBX Analog Compressors, Gate and Eq.
Monster Cables
Home made & Neutrik Patchbay.
Brauner, Shure, Seinnheiser and T.Bone mikes.
Tannoy 8D Active monitors.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-20-2011, 11:19 AM
Stig Eliassen's Avatar
Stig Eliassen Stig Eliassen is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Norway, @ home...........
Posts: 6,673
Default Re: Dithering...

Quote:
Originally Posted by DJ Hellfire View Post
Trying to understand more about dithering. Now, say I have all my stereo bounces of my project imported into a new session for mastering, the session is 24/48 like the original sessions of all the songs. I set up all my limiters and everything with Dithering turned on (to 16). Now once I have all the songs properly set and level overall and I bounce all the songs to a new audio track in the same session. Are those songs properly dithered? Or do you have to actually use Bounce to disk for true dithering to take place?
I dither during export. No hassle.
__________________
Pro Tools|HDX 12.5.2 | Logic Pro X | Avid HD I/O (8x8x8) | 6-core 3.33 Westmere w/24GB RAM | OS 10.10.5 | D-Command ES | Eleven Rack | Vienna Ensemble Pro 5
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-20-2011, 02:52 PM
DJ Hellfire DJ Hellfire is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Keyport/Cliffwood, NJ
Posts: 1,841
Default Re: Dithering...

Quote:
Originally Posted by PT Lover View Post
I dither during export. No hassle.
This is how I have always done it. But all these other "methods" get confusing!

Thanks guys!
__________________
www.HellfireBeats.com

Akai MPC 2000XL, Akai MPC Renaissance, NI Maschine MKI, JV 1010, Mackie 1202VLZ Pro, Akai Advance 61, Focal Alpha 80, UAD Apollo Quad, UAD 2 Satellite Quad, Pro Tools 10, Pro Tools 12, Neve R6 "Lunch Box", Neve Portico 511, Neumann TLM49, Monster Power Pro 2500

Mac Pro 4,1, Early-2009, 3.46GHz Nehalem 12-Core, 32GB RAM - OSX 10.10.5

13" MacBook Pro, Late-2011, 2.4GHz Dual Core i5, 16GB RAM - OSX 10.11.4

27" iMac, Late-2012, 3.4GHz i7, 24GB RAM - OSX 10.10.5
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 11-06-2016, 11:32 AM
littlesicily littlesicily is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Nashville, TN
Posts: 135
Default Re: Dithering...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Stig Eliassen View Post
I dither during export. No hassle.
No hassle... but best sounding option? Isn't the export dither using the oldest tech?
__________________
PT HD 12.5.2, HD Native PCI-e, HD I/O 8x8x8, Mac Pro, OSX 10.9.5
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 11-06-2016, 12:59 PM
Stig Eliassen's Avatar
Stig Eliassen Stig Eliassen is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Norway, @ home...........
Posts: 6,673
Default Re: Dithering...

Quote:
Originally Posted by littlesicily View Post
No hassle... but best sounding option? Isn't the export dither using the oldest tech?
I don't know. I can't remember the last time I exported a 16-bit file. I give both clients and mastering houses 24/44.1, same specs as I record in.
__________________
Pro Tools|HDX 12.5.2 | Logic Pro X | Avid HD I/O (8x8x8) | 6-core 3.33 Westmere w/24GB RAM | OS 10.10.5 | D-Command ES | Eleven Rack | Vienna Ensemble Pro 5
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 11-06-2016, 02:22 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is online now
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: nashville
Posts: 31,269
Default Re: Dithering...

Quote:
Originally Posted by littlesicily View Post
No hassle... but best sounding option? Isn't the export dither using the oldest tech?
Its using whatever dither option you have specified in Preferences
__________________
Asus Sabertooth x79, Intel i7 3930K, 64 gig G-Skill DDR3, GeForce 610, HD/Native, HD IOx2, PT11HD, UAD Quad, preamps from Vintech, Five Fish Audio, Focusrite, Chameleon Labs and Midas..............................
http://www.myspace.com/cswstudio
www.capricornsoundworks.com

The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 11-06-2016, 02:28 PM
EGS's Avatar
EGS EGS is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Chicago
Posts: 2,348
Default Re: Dithering...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Stig Eliassen View Post
I don't know. I can't remember the last time I exported a 16-bit file. I give both clients and mastering houses 24/44.1, same specs as I record in.
Sounds like the OP is self-mastering. Are you burning an actual CD? That's the only time you'll need 16/44.1. What burning app are you using? The reason I ask is that some apps (for example Sony CD Architect on Windows) have a quality dither built-in. You can simply pull your final files, regardless of bit/sample rate, right into CD Architect and let it dither to 16/44.1 during the CD burn process. Just a thought!
__________________
Desktop: Win 7 64 / GIGABYTE GA-X58A-UD3R / i7-930 / 12GB / 3 int WD Black / PT 9.0.3 / Focusrite LS56

Laptop: Win 7 64 / HP ProBook 4730s + SIIG FW / i7-2630 / 8GB / ext USB2 drive / PT 9.0.3 / Focusrite Pro 40
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Dithering.... JazzyJ 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 07-11-2009 01:32 PM
Dithering JohnChancey Tips & Tricks 2 01-13-2007 04:27 PM
Dithering tomdiek 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 12-12-2006 07:43 AM
POW-r 3 Dithering Imagine Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 13 03-06-2005 10:07 AM
Dithering and 48k nz 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 9 05-08-2001 11:40 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:17 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com