Avid Pro Audio Community




Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post | Community Terms of Use | Avid.com Home Page

Google the Forum | Search Knowledge Base | Search Avid.com

Find Support | Support FAQ | Avid Support How To Video Series

Software Updates, Drivers, Manuals, Compatibility, Optimize, Troubleshoot, etc. (Links)

Please post your message once only to the correct forum
Help us Help You - READ THIS Before Posting!



Pro Tools 11 Information









Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools Software (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-30-2010, 04:00 AM
Whasssaaahhh Whasssaaahhh is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Belgium
Posts: 23
Default Best possible hard drive configuration

Hi All,

I've been skimming the forum, but didn't really find what I am looking for :

I want to know which would be the best possible hard drive setup for use with PT9 (and Digi003) (regardless of 'cost' for an extra drive). Let's forget RAID drives for now, don't like 'm, too many issues, and not sure if it even works with PT.

At this moment, I have a Mac Pro with 4-core Xeon, 1 terra system drive (OS X 10.6.4, and installed yesterday a second 1 Terra-byte to use as an audio drive (I did find this recommendation on the forum and manual)

I asume it's best to use internal SATA drives over external Firewire 800 drives, it's obvious that SATA drives are much faster than the 800Mbit firewire. I keep my Firewire 800 drive for backups.

I also understood that I need to put PT9 on my system drive, and record audio to my 2nd drive, which I did.

but now the following questions :

* where do I put my sample library?

* where do I put my Kontakt library?

* would it be a better idea to split the audio drive in 2 partitions, one for audio tracks, and one for the samples?

* would it be even better to buy a 3rd drive to put my Kontakt libs, sample libs and loops on? Just bought a new 1 terra drive for 120 euro's, so that's not the cost (official MAC dealer, guess you can find cheaper ones)

* to defragment the audio drive, I read that the only way is to 'clean' (is this 'formatting') the audio drive from time to time (once a year for example) (on windows there is a defrag util included)? In this case, I would prefer to keep my sample libs on a 2nd partition on my audio drive, or even a 3rd drive (there are 4 bays for something in the Mac Pro

thanks for any advice!

R.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-30-2010, 07:43 AM
mhelm01 mhelm01 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Washington, DC
Posts: 337
Default Re: Best possible hard drive configuration

Use a third drive for samples. You are correct on reformatting.
__________________
2.66GHz Quad-Core Intel Xeon
6 GB SDRAM
3 1 TB WD Caviar Black Hard Drives
Eleven Rack, Axiom 61
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-30-2010, 09:38 AM
reichman reichman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: New York
Posts: 1,202
Default Re: Best possible hard drive configuration

I have the Burly hotswap bay from MacGurus. It's been rock-solid for years. MacGurus recommends the following drive prep:

http://www.macgurus.com/productpages...ZeroDrives.php

Using about 18 Seagate drives over the last few years, I've had no total crashes, and only one occurrence of corrupt data. Use Diskwarrior occasionally, and run regular backups.

Three drives looks good to me. I haven't noticed any performance difference between SATA and eSATA. Buy a Burly! You'll like it.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-30-2010, 12:33 PM
Park Seward's Avatar
Park Seward Park Seward is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Grants Pass, OR
Posts: 3,834
Default Re: Best possible hard drive configuration

My FW800 drives are about 75 MB/sec. Using the same Hitachi drive inside my MacPro, I get about 125 MB/sec.

eSATA and SATA are the same. One is external.

Buy a drive for samples.
__________________
Park
The Transfer Lab at Video Park
Analog tape to Pro Tools transfers, 1/4"-2"
http://www.videopark.com/Gatesstory/...home_page.html
MacPro 6 core 3.33 GHz, 10.8.3, 8 GB RAM, PT10.3.6, PT11, 002 rack, MC Control V2, 3.0 software, dual displays,
Neumann U-47, Tab V76 mic pre, RCA 44BX and 77DX, MacBook Pro 9,1, 2.3 Mhz, i7, CBS Labs Audimax and Volumax.
Ampex 440B half track and four-track, 351 tube full-track mono, MM1100 16 track.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-30-2010, 12:56 PM
Jiffzillla Jiffzillla is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Scottsdale, AZ USA
Posts: 32
Default Re: Best possible hard drive configuration

I had been wondering something similar myself a few days ago. Currently, I have PT9 on the system drive along with all of my sample libraries. (Also have a 1tb drive dedicated to recording audio) I don't have tons of plugins, but enough that I'm now down to 70gb left of free space on the 320gb system drive. So my question is this: If I get another drive specifically for sample libraries and move the libraries currently on the system drive, does PT have problems finding those libraries since the path to them has been changed? If so, what is the proper way to move sample libraries? Thanks. And sorry for the hijack,Whasssaaahhh.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-30-2010, 12:57 PM
Craig F's Avatar
Craig F Craig F is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: LA, CA
Posts: 10,521
Default Re: Best possible hard drive configuration

yes, 3rd drive for samples
if your feeling saucy you could try an SSD for the fast read times
__________________
!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

We are not mind readers: Help Us Help You


"Fly High Freeee click psst tic tic tic click Bird Yeah!" - dave911

PT11 System Requirements link http://avid.force.com/pkb/articles/C...m-Requirements


Thank you,

Craig
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 12-30-2010, 01:10 PM
NewdestinyX NewdestinyX is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 484
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Craig F View Post
yes, 3rd drive for samples
if your feeling saucy you could try an SSD for the fast read times
Do they actually work? I thought they weren't approved for audio yet?
__________________
Rig 1-Cutting : PT 10.3.0|CPTk2; MacPro 12core (5,1) 2.66GHz; 10.8.2 (3TB int SATA for audio); 2-MOTU 24I/Os (48ch); no CueMix
Rig 2-Mix/Mast: PT 10.3.0|CPTk2; MacPro 8core (3,1) 2.8 GHz Xeon; 10.8.2 (2TB int SATA for audio); Apogee DUET, ProFire+Digimax FS as Hware Inserts to PT
Rig 3-Remotes: PT 10.3.0|CPTk2; MacBook Pro (8,1) 2.8 GHz Dual i7; 10.8.2 (120GB int '6G' SSD drive); Profire LightBridge (FW800), 32ch Presonus Digimax
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 12-30-2010, 02:44 PM
Park Seward's Avatar
Park Seward Park Seward is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Grants Pass, OR
Posts: 3,834
Default Re: Best possible hard drive configuration

Leave at least 10% of free space on your system drive.
__________________
Park
The Transfer Lab at Video Park
Analog tape to Pro Tools transfers, 1/4"-2"
http://www.videopark.com/Gatesstory/...home_page.html
MacPro 6 core 3.33 GHz, 10.8.3, 8 GB RAM, PT10.3.6, PT11, 002 rack, MC Control V2, 3.0 software, dual displays,
Neumann U-47, Tab V76 mic pre, RCA 44BX and 77DX, MacBook Pro 9,1, 2.3 Mhz, i7, CBS Labs Audimax and Volumax.
Ampex 440B half track and four-track, 351 tube full-track mono, MM1100 16 track.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 12-30-2010, 02:59 PM
Dism's Avatar
Dism Dism is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 6,162
Default Re: Best possible hard drive configuration

Quote:
Originally Posted by NewdestinyX View Post
Do they actually work? I thought they weren't approved for audio yet?
Actually... for a samples drive an SSD wouldn't be bad.

The problem with most SSD (except for really really expensive ones) is that they have a fairly limited number of writes available. If you were to use one as your audio drive, it would die quickly. As a samples drive, the only reason you should be writing to it, is if you are installing a new library. Otherwise, it should be mostly reads, and super fast at that.

Might be a worth while investment... but I'm still holding off on SSDs for a while. Perhaps another year or so.
__________________

D
a n t h e I n c r e d i b l e S o u n d M a n

"Svetlana" v1 - 4.2GHz i7, 16GB RAM, OSX 10.7.4
Liquid Saffire 56 - PT10.2 - BFD2, VCC, Duende Native, Play 3.0

_C U R R E N T-D V E R B-S C O R E:515
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 12-30-2010, 04:34 PM
NewdestinyX NewdestinyX is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 484
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dism View Post
Actually... for a samples drive an SSD wouldn't be bad.

The problem with most SSD (except for really really expensive ones) is that they have a fairly limited number of writes available. If you were to use one as your audio drive, it would die quickly. As a samples drive, the only reason you should be writing to it, is if you are installing a new library. Otherwise, it should be mostly reads, and super fast at that.

Might be a worth while investment... but I'm still holding off on SSDs for a while. Perhaps another year or so.
Ah yes! Read only - mostly for a sample drive. Makes total sense. I hear they're wicked fast but won't be ready for Audio read write any time soon. You'd also need to me careful to know if any temp files were needing to be written every time you load a library from Kontakt, let's say. Thanks, Dism!
__________________
Rig 1-Cutting : PT 10.3.0|CPTk2; MacPro 12core (5,1) 2.66GHz; 10.8.2 (3TB int SATA for audio); 2-MOTU 24I/Os (48ch); no CueMix
Rig 2-Mix/Mast: PT 10.3.0|CPTk2; MacPro 8core (3,1) 2.8 GHz Xeon; 10.8.2 (2TB int SATA for audio); Apogee DUET, ProFire+Digimax FS as Hware Inserts to PT
Rig 3-Remotes: PT 10.3.0|CPTk2; MacBook Pro (8,1) 2.8 GHz Dual i7; 10.8.2 (120GB int '6G' SSD drive); Profire LightBridge (FW800), 32ch Presonus Digimax
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Hard drive configuration fat_fish Pro Tools M-Powered (Win) 1 08-10-2006 06:45 AM
Hard drive configuration fat_fish Pro Tools M-Powered (Win) 1 08-09-2006 05:04 PM
? on hard drive configuration deejfro 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 09-07-2005 07:12 PM
Hard Drive Configuration Zetajazz44 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 01-21-2004 03:38 PM
Hard Drive Configuration souelle Storage Subsystems 0 02-12-2003 07:54 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:23 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com