Avid Pro Audio Community




Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post | Community Terms of Use | Avid.com Home Page

Google the Forum | Search Knowledge Base | Search Avid.com

Find Support | Support FAQ | Avid Support How To Video Series

Software Updates, Drivers, Manuals, Compatibility, Optimize, Troubleshoot, etc. (Links)

Please post your message once only to the correct forum
Help us Help You - READ THIS Before Posting!



Pro Tools 11 Information


Avid at AES Los Angeles 2014





Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Other Products > Storage Subsystems

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-15-2010, 09:35 AM
kova kova is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 1970
Location: London,Ontario
Posts: 125
Default Recording to USB FLASH Sticks?

Has anyone devised a way to record to USB2 FLASH memory sticks? ProTools only lets these sticks be used as a transfer volumn. Is there some OS trick that can be done to allow recording or playback from these FLASH sticks. Especially that newer stick are coming out like 64,128, and 256 Blade-X type sticks with USB2/3 connectivity. This is an excellent method for portable recording. Please let me know if there is a way to fool the OSX that these are logical volumes to record too.
Thanks in Advance
Regards
Mike
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-15-2010, 09:46 AM
Keybeeetsss's Avatar
Keybeeetsss Keybeeetsss is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Memphis
Posts: 8,733
Default Re: Recording to USB FLASH Sticks?

Reformat... they're usually standard @ FAT32...
__________________
MYSPACE ON'EIM
LAUTEN MICS & ME
DA'TUBE ON'EIM

'IS TAMARA HOME'
NO, SHE'S WITH
HOBO KEY
'' (that dopey green thing)

('we' must start using pronouns)
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-15-2010, 10:35 AM
Dism's Avatar
Dism Dism is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 6,163
Default Re: Recording to USB FLASH Sticks?

Quote:
Originally Posted by kova View Post
Has anyone devised a way to record to USB2 FLASH memory sticks? ProTools only lets these sticks be used as a transfer volumn. Is there some OS trick that can be done to allow recording or playback from these FLASH sticks. Especially that newer stick are coming out like 64,128, and 256 Blade-X type sticks with USB2/3 connectivity. This is an excellent method for portable recording. Please let me know if there is a way to fool the OSX that these are logical volumes to record too.
Thanks in Advance
Regards
Mike
I wouldn't bother trying to record to a thumb drive. They have notoriously low transfer rates, and I certainly wouldn't call them reliable for anything other than file transfer.

At any rate... it should only be a matter of formatting them as OSX Journaled rather than FAT32.
__________________

D
a n t h e I n c r e d i b l e S o u n d M a n

"Svetlana" v1 - 4.2GHz i7, 16GB RAM, OSX 10.7.4
Liquid Saffire 56 - PT10.2 - BFD2, VCC, Duende Native, Play 3.0

_C U R R E N T-D V E R B-S C O R E:515
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-15-2010, 02:45 PM
kova kova is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 1970
Location: London,Ontario
Posts: 125
Default Re: Recording to USB FLASH Sticks?

yes, I have tried reformatting to HFS+ journaled, but Pro Tools still sees the device as only a transfer volume. So it seems there is no way Pro Tools will allow this. Reason i'm interested is that I have a MacBook Air with 64 Gig internal NAND Flash drive for light duty recording voice overs etc. The ability to record to thumb drives would be awesome, without having to attach an external USB drive, cables and power supply.
Let me know if anyone has successfully managed to record to one.
Thanks Again
Regards
Mike
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-15-2010, 03:00 PM
Dism's Avatar
Dism Dism is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 6,163
Default

There are plenty of portable USB drives out there that are selfpowered and will certainly out perform most flash drives. That being said... If your remote tracking is indeed light, you should be fine tracking to the system drive. You aren't going to gain much out of an external on a Mac if it isn't at least FireWire.
__________________

D
a n t h e I n c r e d i b l e S o u n d M a n

"Svetlana" v1 - 4.2GHz i7, 16GB RAM, OSX 10.7.4
Liquid Saffire 56 - PT10.2 - BFD2, VCC, Duende Native, Play 3.0

_C U R R E N T-D V E R B-S C O R E:515
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 07-17-2011, 08:00 AM
aicragleon81 aicragleon81 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: san jose, ca, usa
Posts: 1
Default Re: Recording to USB FLASH Sticks?

What the h? I just bought a fast usb 3.0 64gb flash drive with the intention to use it for recording and now I find out that I cannot set it to a record drive. This drive is faster than any usb 2.0 drive period since it is the usb 2.0 interface that bottlenecks speed and I have recorded and read about many others recording to external usb 2.0 drives. usb 2.0 can read and write at 35MB/s max and my flash drive can do 113.2MB/s read and 67.1MB/s write. I got this one: http://www.aliexpress.com/store/1010...-Warranty.html
So please, either tell me how to record to my new flash drive or please Avid, make usb 3.0 flash drives able to be recorded to in an update. And yes, I do have it plugged in to a usb 3.0 port.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 07-17-2011, 09:49 AM
Dism's Avatar
Dism Dism is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 6,163
Default Re: Recording to USB FLASH Sticks?

Did you read any of this thread?

Plus, USB3 hasn't been qualified with Pro Tools. Flash drives aren't for recording, mate.
__________________

D
a n t h e I n c r e d i b l e S o u n d M a n

"Svetlana" v1 - 4.2GHz i7, 16GB RAM, OSX 10.7.4
Liquid Saffire 56 - PT10.2 - BFD2, VCC, Duende Native, Play 3.0

_C U R R E N T-D V E R B-S C O R E:515
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Better to have 3 sticks of ram then 4? stevedresser83 Pro Tools Software (Win) 7 12-23-2010 09:51 PM
recording to & running a session on a USB flash drive JasonGough 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 16 02-05-2009 05:43 PM
2 Sticks vs 4 Sticks of RAM? Class-A 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 6 09-11-2008 07:26 PM
3 RAM sticks - A8N-SLI SixChurchStreet 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 6 04-25-2007 01:34 PM
RAM- Two Sticks or One? 8mmOverdose 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 10 02-15-2004 11:02 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:08 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com