Avid Pro Audio Community

Pro Tools 11 Information

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post | Community Terms of Use | Avid.com Home Page

Google the Forum | Search Knowledge Base | Search Avid.com

Find Support | Support FAQ | Avid Support How To Video Series

Software Updates, Drivers, Manuals, Compatibility, Troubleshooting, etc. (Links)

Please post your message once only to the correct forum
Help us Help You - READ THIS Before Posting!

Avid at NAB 2014








Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-21-2010, 05:32 AM
Caatalyst Caatalyst is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 133
Default Fuzzy\distorted playback of recorded audio.

Hey guys,

I'm having abit of difficult with the new Windows 7 drivers. Everything at last works! I can use my m-box 2 as my default playback device, run Cubase or Pro Tools without out any issues (or none that I've found yet).

Anyway I decided to start working on a song in Cubase, everythings been fine up untill the point I decided to record my guitar.

I've got my guitar D.Ied in the back of my M-box, when I set up the channel and listen to what I'm playing it sounds absolutely fine. However Once I record it and play it back it sounds fuzzy\distorted and out of tune, abit robotic.

It's really fruhstrating because it records and plays back fine in Pro Tools just not Cubase.

I've tried changing the buffer size which doesnt work unless I set it to 4000 which I'm sure you know isn't practical. Anything lower than that then the recording becomes fuzzy. The weird thing is that in Pro Tools I can change the buffer size and its fine no matter what except for the lowest setting (I think its like 26 or something).

If anybody has any suggestions then please help!

James

Asus Crosshair III Motherboard
AMD Quad Core Phenom II 3.2ghz
4GB DDR3
Geforce 260 GTX
M-Box 2
Windows 7 Premium 64bit
__________________
*******
Pro Tools 10.3.2 | Focusrite Saffire Pro 24 | Gigabyte X79-UD3 | Intel i7 3820 2011 LGA | GeIL EVO Leggera 16GB 4x4GB | MSI Nvidia 660 Twin Frozier | Corsair XT 850 watt PSU
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-21-2010, 06:27 AM
spkguitar's Avatar
spkguitar spkguitar is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Pittsburgh
Posts: 18,150
Default Re: Fuzzy\distorted playback of recorded audio.

Some things to try:
  1. Try another USB port.
  2. Make sure you have Windows set to NOT power down USB devices from the root hubs.
  3. Try a powered USB hub; one that plugs into a wall socket.
__________________
My Website: Pro Tools "Newbie" Help

Studio rig: Gigabyte GA-EX58-UD3R, Intel i7 920, 6GB Patriot DDR3, NVidia 8600GS, LG GGW-H20L BD-RE, Sony CRX195E1 CD-RW, 2x WD Caviar black 640GB (os swap), 1x WD caviar 320GB (sessions), 1x Maxtor 120GB (sessions), 1x Seagate 1TB (samples/loops)

Profire2626, MBox Mini, Command8
PT10
OSX = 318 Dverb2.0
EFIX is a scam!
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-21-2010, 08:55 AM
JMS40 JMS40 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Gnashville
Posts: 6,344
Default Re: Fuzzy\distorted playback of recorded audio.

Your signature says:
Quote:
Windows 7 Premium 64bit
Pro Tools 8.0.3 LE
PTLE 8.0.4 is the only version qualified to run on W7 64.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-22-2010, 08:30 AM
Caatalyst Caatalyst is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 133
Default Re: Fuzzy\distorted playback of recorded audio.

Sorry my signature hasnt been updated I use 8.0.4 now as i said in my post.

I have tried using a different USB port and changing those settings in windows with no luck. As I said I can successfully record into pro tools and it plays back fine, just not cubase.

Any more ideas?
__________________
*******
Pro Tools 10.3.2 | Focusrite Saffire Pro 24 | Gigabyte X79-UD3 | Intel i7 3820 2011 LGA | GeIL EVO Leggera 16GB 4x4GB | MSI Nvidia 660 Twin Frozier | Corsair XT 850 watt PSU
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-22-2010, 05:23 PM
Jamaican Jamaican is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 9
Default Re: Fuzzy\distorted playback of recorded audio.

I get similar problems as well. I'm using win 7 64bit pt8.04

What I do is I go to the "Hardware" Tab in Pt and then switch to a clock source that im not using and click ok. Wait 5 seconds (u can wait 6 secs if u want lol) and then I go back and click the correct clock source and thats the fix.

If the prob occurs again, just repeat it. (sometimes it gives a msg when ur thru switching clock sources. = I can't remember what the msg says but its basically saying something is out of sync) just hit spacebar for it to go away and wait about 5 secs again and it should all be in sync.

Hope I helped. Sorry I'm not familiar with Cubase.

Also I've noticed the prob becomes more frequent when there are other tasks being performed outside protools, so disable ur network card, kill antivirus, and whatever else is running.

Let me know if it helps.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-06-2010, 01:04 AM
Caatalyst Caatalyst is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 133
Default Re: Fuzzy\distorted playback of recorded audio.

Thanks Jamaican Hmmm I tried changing the clock source back and forth through Pro Tools and Cubase (I can't access the audio drivers control panel through cubase).

Nothing works except setting the buffer rate to 4k which is not practical at all.

I also balanced down a few midi drums today as audio, put them back in my cubase session and i got the same response as my guitar.

So I'm now drawing the conclusion that I can't playback any audio in Cubase because of this problem. The strange thing is any audio seems ot play back fine in Pro Tools so the problem lies with Cubase.

Any more suggestions?
__________________
*******
Pro Tools 10.3.2 | Focusrite Saffire Pro 24 | Gigabyte X79-UD3 | Intel i7 3820 2011 LGA | GeIL EVO Leggera 16GB 4x4GB | MSI Nvidia 660 Twin Frozier | Corsair XT 850 watt PSU
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 10-09-2010, 01:29 AM
Caatalyst Caatalyst is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 133
Default Re: Fuzzy\distorted playback of recorded audio.

Anymore suggestions?
__________________
*******
Pro Tools 10.3.2 | Focusrite Saffire Pro 24 | Gigabyte X79-UD3 | Intel i7 3820 2011 LGA | GeIL EVO Leggera 16GB 4x4GB | MSI Nvidia 660 Twin Frozier | Corsair XT 850 watt PSU
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 11-25-2010, 09:24 PM
crossroadsc crossroadsc is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 6
Default Re: Fuzzy\distorted playback of recorded audio.

Caatalyst,

I'm having the same issue to. Recording and Exporting Audio with Mbox 2 and Cubase 5.5.2 is fine but playback is distorted at every buffer size. Protools works fine, though. Did you figure out a solution? Or anybody know a solution?

CrossroadsC
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 12-01-2010, 01:16 PM
Blank Frank Blank Frank is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Not Far From Nimbin, Orstralia!
Posts: 135
Default Re: Fuzzy\distorted playback of recorded audio.

I'm having exactly the same problem here. Only seems to have come in with 8.04.cs2 update.Really frustrating, I've ended up using another interface for cubase etc. The other thing I noticed is strange scrolling issues in Wavelab when using MBox 2, these go away when I select a different interface or when I don't use the ASIO driver for the MBox.
__________________
ASUS P5k, Win 7, RME Multiface
Macpro, 10.8.3, Digi 003 Profire 2626 PT 10.3.6
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 12-01-2010, 04:00 PM
sungwoon1130 sungwoon1130 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 12
Default Re: Fuzzy\distorted playback of recorded audio.

Same problem here since 8.0.2
problems payingback in audio track in cubase 5
the instresting fact is that once you bounce the track, you do not hear that fuzzy/distorted sounds.
Really disappointed that this didn't resolved in 8.0.4 updates.
Thinking of switching to new Audio interface.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
PT10 Sound goes fuzzy / distorted randomly; also get hard freezes dan0082 Pro Tools Software (Win) 2 10-19-2013 12:37 PM
002r and Cubase - Distorted Audio Playback 1234 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 6 05-15-2013 06:35 AM
Fuzzy Static with ProTools playback and window media files playback 39lashesmedia 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 3 05-25-2011 05:41 PM
002 rack - distorted audio playback xeeganx 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 3 11-17-2003 06:44 PM
JAM 2.6.2 DISTORTED AUDIO PLAYBACK mike@riddlemusic.com General Discussion 3 07-18-2002 12:42 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:01 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com