Avid Pro Audio Community




Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post | Community Terms of Use | Avid.com Home Page

Google the Forum | Search Knowledge Base | Search Avid.com

Find Support | Support FAQ | Avid Customer Care How To Videos

Software Updates, Drivers, Manuals, Compatibility, Optimize, Troubleshoot, etc. (Links)

Please post your message once only to the correct forum
Help us Help You - READ THIS Before Posting!



Pro Tools 11 Information


Avid at AES Los Angeles 2014





Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-23-2010, 10:56 PM
spiritG spiritG is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 171
Default Cut Only EQ clipping light after brickwall limiter on Master Fader?

Both Oxford EQ and EQ III are showing clipping on their outputs with cut only settings (i.e. -4 @140hz). They are after an x3 with it's ceiling set to 0.1 db and then a Massey 2007, even with it's maximum output control lowered a notch or two. The master fader is at 0.
Are the EQ's clipping with only cut?
Do their clip lights show clipping at a lower level than the massey.
Do cut only EQ settings result in some boost at the edge/shoulder of the cut that could cause this?
Lowering the EQ output volume sufficiently stops the clipping indicator.
The more the cut, the greater the output volume has to be lowered, and the average indication on the output level is notably lower than the input level.

How can I trim a bid of low end mud from the mix without lowering the overall volume, or changing the limiting (which would happen if the EQ's were put ahead of the limiters?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-23-2010, 11:02 PM
Thumper1040 Thumper1040 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 20
Default Re: Cut Only EQ clipping light after brickwall limiter on Master Fader?

Eqs will have a slight boost where the frequency curve starts to cut. That's why you're getting the little clip light.

As far as fixing the mud in your mix, I'd fix it in the mix, not on the 2bus after a limiter.

I personally prefer to have everything sounding perfect before applying an l2 or whatever. I don't want my the limited reacting to something that is going to be removed later.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-24-2010, 02:44 AM
Tobias Eichelberg Tobias Eichelberg is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1998
Location: in front of my computer
Posts: 259
Default Re: Cut Only EQ clipping light after brickwall limiter on Master Fader?

Since any non linear phase eq will change the phase on the edges of the passband, even when you only cut frequencies, that phase change can and likely will change the peak level of the program/audio. Either use a linear phase eq or leave a little headroom.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-24-2010, 07:17 AM
Rich Breen Rich Breen is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 1970
Location: Burbank, CA USA
Posts: 814
Default Re: Cut Only EQ clipping light after brickwall limiter on Master Fader?

Quote:
Originally Posted by spiritG View Post
...
How can I trim a bid of low end mud from the mix without lowering the overall volume, or changing the limiting (which would happen if the EQ's were put ahead of the limiters?
You can't - you should either leave enough headroom for post-limiter processing, or put the processing where it should be - *ahead* of the limiter. No DSP should be done to program that's been brickwalled to -.1dBFS

best,
rich
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-24-2010, 07:17 AM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Finland
Posts: 8,830
Default Re: Cut Only EQ clipping light after brickwall limiter on Master Fader?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Thumper1040 View Post
As far as fixing the mud in your mix, I'd fix it in the mix, not on the 2bus after a limiter.
Fix everything *before* the limiter...
__________________
Janne -- what we do in life, echoes in eternity
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08-24-2010, 07:18 AM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Finland
Posts: 8,830
Default Re: Cut Only EQ clipping light after brickwall limiter on Master Fader?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rich Breen View Post
No DSP should be done to program that's been brickwalled to -.1dBFS
+infinite

(not to mention, if the limiter has noise shaping dithering activated, there should be zero processing after that anyway...)
__________________
Janne -- what we do in life, echoes in eternity
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
MD3 and Brickwall Limiter - How to prevent bus clipping? rantanplan RTAS & TDM Plug-ins 1 07-04-2013 03:22 AM
master fader limiter -help me buy cary chilton 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 21 02-11-2007 03:51 PM
Fixing Clipping in Master in Master Fader pakobo7 Pro Tools M-Powered (Win) 10 09-16-2006 09:53 AM
Master inserts are post-fader? Was: L1+ on Master = clipping s2n Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 10 11-20-2001 07:41 AM
Limiter Settings in a Master Fader Mark_Knecht 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 4 11-11-2001 06:46 PM


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 12:50 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com