Avid Pro Audio Community




Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post | Community Terms of Use | Avid.com Home Page

Google the Forum | Search Knowledge Base | Search Avid.com

Find Support | Support FAQ | Avid Customer Care How To Videos

Software Updates, Drivers, Manuals, Compatibility, Optimize, Troubleshoot, etc. (Links)

Please post your message once only to the correct forum
Help us Help You - READ THIS Before Posting!



Pro Tools 11 Information


Avid at AES Los Angeles 2014





Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-08-2010, 08:54 PM
Roboteknic Roboteknic is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Australia
Posts: 5
Red face Robotic Digital Distortion when recording voice! Please help!

Hello fellow Pro-Tools users.

I have recently upgraded my PC and Pro-Tools but am having problems.
The recording goes fine for a bit then suddenly the sound goes all weird and robotic!

Sounds like a digital issue of some sort but I have played with all the buffer settings ETC and the issue just wont go away.

Upon looking at the waveform, that all seems fine so I don't think it's actually recorded the sound, but on bounce down and playback the audio is playing up! Any suggestions? A compatibility issue? A setting I have missed?

I spotted this thread here:

http://duc.digidesign.com/showthread.php?t=231731

Bit this doesn't give a solution to the problem? Low Latency Monitoring is not on LE/Mbox systems?
______________________________________________
Windows 7 @ 16 bit

Intel Core i5 M430 2.27 GHz

4GB ram

Protools LE 8.0.4 MBOX 2 rack...

MIC WITH PHANTOM POWER (TESTED AND OK)
__________________
Check out my music - http://soundcloud.com/jofomofo
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-09-2010, 06:11 AM
spkguitar's Avatar
spkguitar spkguitar is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Pittsburgh
Posts: 18,150
Default Re: Robotic Digital Distortion when recording voice! Please help!

We really need more detailed specs of your computer (see the General Troubleshooting thread for instructions on how to post the information that we need) to be able to help you in any kind of real sense.


I can tell you that I was experiencing this issue with my MBox Mini at buffer levels lower than 256. I fixed the issue by plugging the Mini into a different USB port.

Also, make absolute sure that you have read and tried the items in the Windows Guide - Windows 7 Optimizations and Troubleshooting, especially the "Disable USB Power Management" entry on that page. It is EXTREMELY important with the USB interfaces.
__________________
My Website: Pro Tools "Newbie" Help

Studio rig: Gigabyte GA-EX58-UD3R, Intel i7 920, 6GB Patriot DDR3, NVidia 8600GS, LG GGW-H20L BD-RE, Sony CRX195E1 CD-RW, 2x WD Caviar black 640GB (os swap), 1x WD caviar 320GB (sessions), 1x Maxtor 120GB (sessions), 1x Seagate 1TB (samples/loops)

Profire2626, MBox Mini, Command8
PT10
OSX = 318 Dverb2.0
EFIX is a scam!
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-09-2010, 07:59 PM
Roboteknic Roboteknic is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Australia
Posts: 5
Question Re: Robotic Digital Distortion when recording voice! Please help!

For anyone else having this problem, DIGIDESIGN said this:

Thank you for contacting Avid Audio Asia Pacific Technical Support. This could be an IO corruption issue. Please follow these steps to reset your preferences and databases.
1. Exit Pro Tools
2. Delete the folder: C:\Program Files\Common Files\Digidesign\DAE\DAE Prefs
3. Delete the folder: C:\Program Files\Digidesign\Pro Tools\Databases
4. Delete the folder: C:\Users\”Your User Name”\AppData\Roaming\DigidesignIf you can’t see the “AppData” folder it must be hidden. Go to “Organise > Folder and search options > View (tab) and select Show hidden files, folders and drives”. Then click OK.
5. Delete the folder: C:\Digidesign Databases
6. This “Digidesign Databases” folder must also be deleted of every other hard drive attached to your system. It may only exist on one drive but please check them all anyway.
7. Empty the Recycle Bin
8. Restart the computer

-------------------------------------
I have done this and so far the problem hasn't re-surfaced.

Will let you know if it does.

Thanks for the extra info.. I also turned off the USB power management as suggested.

Fingers crossed!
__________________
Check out my music - http://soundcloud.com/jofomofo
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-09-2010, 08:04 PM
spkguitar's Avatar
spkguitar spkguitar is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Pittsburgh
Posts: 18,150
Default Re: Robotic Digital Distortion when recording voice! Please help!

Everything except #4 in that list is mentioned in the General Troubleshooting thread at the top of this forum that I referenced in my earlier post.

I would imagine DigiTechSupt will be updating the General Troubleshooting post soon to add #4.

I'm glad you got it working.
__________________
My Website: Pro Tools "Newbie" Help

Studio rig: Gigabyte GA-EX58-UD3R, Intel i7 920, 6GB Patriot DDR3, NVidia 8600GS, LG GGW-H20L BD-RE, Sony CRX195E1 CD-RW, 2x WD Caviar black 640GB (os swap), 1x WD caviar 320GB (sessions), 1x Maxtor 120GB (sessions), 1x Seagate 1TB (samples/loops)

Profire2626, MBox Mini, Command8
PT10
OSX = 318 Dverb2.0
EFIX is a scam!
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-30-2011, 07:31 PM
Roboteknic Roboteknic is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Australia
Posts: 5
Default Re: Robotic Digital Distortion when recording voice! Please help!

Well, just updated to the latest Pro-Tools 8 update and still getting this same problem!

Doing those above changes didn't fix my problem after all.

I can only assume Pro-Tools 8, and my laptop are not compatible?

NOTHING will fix this problem!

Great work DIGIDESIGN - NOT!

If you do have any more suggestions, please post as i'm at my whits end!
__________________
Check out my music - http://soundcloud.com/jofomofo
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-31-2011, 07:43 AM
Hotcrazyfruit Hotcrazyfruit is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Toronto
Posts: 1,261
Default Re: Robotic Digital Distortion when recording voice! Please help!

>>i have to assume my system and protools are not compatible

>> Good work digidesign - NOT

Is it digi's fault for not making pro tools work on your specific system?

Is it our fault for not being able to help you because you never posted a sandra?

Nick
__________________
Core i7 920 OC'ed @ 4.0 GHz (200 X 20)
12 GB Patriot Viper Extreme
Asus P6T
OCZ Agility 64 GB SSD
Hitachi 1TB 32 MB HDD
WD Caviar Black 500GB
Saphhire HD 5850
3 x 20" monitors

Eleven Rack w/ ERXP
Fender Super Champ XD
Marshall JCM2000 DSL100 Silver Edition W/ Silver Jubilee Cabinet
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 02-08-2011, 06:06 AM
Lazyk Lazyk is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: NO
Posts: 1
Default Re: Robotic Digital Distortion when recording voice! Please help!

Hey guys.

I had problems that are very similar to yours. Robotic sound when playing back audio. In my case it turned out to be the USB-port. It's a brand new HP Envy, and it has this SSB (super speed bus)I was unaware of, in addition to 2 regular USB-ports. So, long story short, I plugged my mbox mini in a different USB and voila.

cheers
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 02-08-2011, 07:01 AM
NewdestinyX NewdestinyX is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 484
Default

PC's are very fussy with USB interfaces. I had your same problem with a USB extender cable between computer and my MBox2Mini and the desktop. As soon as I plugged the Mini directly into the 'front' USB hub the problem went away. I even had intermittent clicking when I plugged it into the BACK USB reports that disappeared when plugged in to the 'front' USB ports. Uggh.

On a laptop you only have a couple USB options.
__________________
Rig 1-Cutting : PT 10.3.0|CPTk2; MacPro 12core (5,1) 2.66GHz; 10.8.2 (3TB int SATA for audio); 2-MOTU 24I/Os (48ch); no CueMix
Rig 2-Mix/Mast: PT 10.3.0|CPTk2; MacPro 8core (3,1) 2.8 GHz Xeon; 10.8.2 (2TB int SATA for audio); Apogee DUET, ProFire+Digimax FS as Hware Inserts to PT
Rig 3-Remotes: PT 10.3.0|CPTk2; MacBook Pro (8,1) 2.8 GHz Dual i7; 10.8.2 (120GB int '6G' SSD drive); Profire LightBridge (FW800), 32ch Presonus Digimax
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 02-08-2011, 07:29 PM
aflalo aflalo is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 6
Default Re: Robotic Digital Distortion when recording voice! Please help!

Quote:
Originally Posted by NewdestinyX View Post
PC's are very fussy with USB interfaces. I had your same problem with a USB extender cable between computer and my MBox2Mini and the desktop. As soon as I plugged the Mini directly into the 'front' USB hub the problem went away. I even had intermittent clicking when I plugged it into the BACK USB reports that disappeared when plugged in to the 'front' USB ports. Uggh.

On a laptop you only have a couple USB options.
I have a similar issue with my Digidesign 003 Rack Factory - connected via FireWire. I even tried changing inputs to see if there may be some capacitor issues but nothing gives.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
digital distortion on audio recording only ottestad Pro Tools Software (Mac) 11 08-19-2013 03:31 PM
Random Robotic Distortion During Recording aflalo 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 7 05-10-2011 04:31 PM
Robotic Sounding Digital Distortion ampeck2 Pro Tools 9 Discussion 2 11-17-2010 03:34 PM
ISA 220 with digital card +voice to picture and ISDN mhvoiceuk Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 1 10-21-2002 04:37 AM
Voice 5 distortion TLarvenz Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 3 07-19-2001 04:43 AM


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 10:11 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com