Avid Pro Audio Community




Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post | Community Terms of Use | Avid.com Home Page

Google the Forum | Search Knowledge Base | Search Avid.com

Find Support | Support FAQ | Avid Support How To Video Series

Software Updates, Drivers, Manuals, Compatibility, Optimize, Troubleshoot, etc. (Links)

Please post your message once only to the correct forum
Help us Help You - READ THIS Before Posting!



Pro Tools 11 Information


Avid at AES Los Angeles 2014





Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > General Discussion & Off Topic > General Discussion

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-13-2010, 02:23 AM
pixeltarian pixeltarian is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Minneapolis
Posts: 13
Question Reaper VS. Protools

so I have pro tools 8mp, but just ended up learning reaper while i was saving for pro tools (as the profire 2626 emptied my bank account). I'd like to know what benefits there are to using pro tools over reaper. If you knew someone who never touched a DAW, why would you recommend PT over reaper?

on a 1 year old mac (2.66 intel core 2 duo, 4GB ram, running snow leopard) pro tools is very slow and has lots of playback issues. I would actually like using pro tools if it was smooth as a top. mostly it is playback issues, and crashing. I would actually be surprised if I closed out of pro tools because I wanted to and it didn't crash. are there some config things to do on macs? why might it be performing so poorly?
  #2  
Old 06-13-2010, 03:56 AM
tamasdragon tamasdragon is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Hungary
Posts: 1,917
Default Re: Reaper VS. Protools

Because pro tools is better!

So, seriously. If you have sooo many problems with pt, than something is broken with your setup. But without further info about your setup, it is almost impossible to help you.

Reaper is a fantastic daw, but imho not as good as pt. For many, it is even better than pt. It is always a personal decision, which is more suits you, so don't wait that a few person from here can help you out, because it is actually your homework.

In the meantime, you can give us more info, so maybe we can help you to make your pt system stable.
__________________
my blog:Tamas Dragon
  #3  
Old 06-13-2010, 04:42 AM
darkdream darkdream is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 43
Default Re: Reaper VS. Protools

hey mate i been in a lot of digital workstations and i know reaper
so i am gonna do a pro /cons list on both pro tools and reaper
reaper pro´s
highly customary
skins a lot of em
fast development
and stable and can be run from a usb stick
and if one need a feature there is properly a script that does it
cheap license
good community around it

con´s
no instruments whit it
medium mix and mastering plug-ins
and in my opinion way to complex work-flow

pro tools 8 le
pro´s
very good interface
easy workflow
standard in the industry
and top of the line
mix and mastering plugins
instruments that is some of the greatest
some great training sites both on line and as dvd

cons
expensive
at times unstable (not for me)
and is only working whit there own sound cards
best regard me
__________________
pro tools le 8,04
amd athlon 2x2 3,06ghz 8gb ram windows 7 64bit
  #4  
Old 06-13-2010, 03:42 PM
pixeltarian pixeltarian is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Minneapolis
Posts: 13
Default Re: Reaper VS. Protools

Quote:
Originally Posted by tamasdragon View Post
In the meantime, you can give us more info, so maybe we can help you to make your pt system stable.
what info would you like?
  #5  
Old 06-14-2010, 12:26 AM
tamasdragon tamasdragon is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Hungary
Posts: 1,917
Default Re: Reaper VS. Protools

http://duc.digidesign.com/showthread.php?t=193636

Hardware (you gave some), operating system, pt version info, plugin versions for starter.
__________________
my blog:Tamas Dragon
  #6  
Old 06-14-2010, 02:04 AM
pixeltarian pixeltarian is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Minneapolis
Posts: 13
Default Re: Reaper VS. Protools

well a lot of that is mentioned in my op. but here it is in a more linear way:

hardware: profire 2626
PT version: Pro Tools M-powered 8.0.3
Computer: iMac running Snow Leopard 10.6.3
CPU: 2.66 GHz Intel Core 2 Duo
Memory: 4GB 1067 MHz DDR3
External (tracking) HD: mybook, 320GB
MIDI: yamaha p85 through a midi to usb cable, mackie control universal via midi on the profire 2626
plugins: the playback errors and crashes seem to be mostly unrelated to plugins as I tend to use the stock stuff that comes with m-powered anyway...
  #7  
Old 06-14-2010, 04:36 AM
abt abt is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 149
Default Re: Reaper VS. Protools

Quote:
Originally Posted by darkdream View Post
hey mate i been in a lot of digital workstations and i know reaper
so i am gonna do a pro /cons list on both pro tools and reaper
reaper pro´s
highly customary
skins a lot of em
fast development
and stable and can be run from a usb stick
and if one need a feature there is properly a script that does it
cheap license
good community around it

con´s
no instruments whit it
medium mix and mastering plug-ins
and in my opinion way to complex work-flow

pro tools 8 le
pro´s
very good interface
easy workflow
standard in the industry
and top of the line
mix and mastering plugins
instruments that is some of the greatest
some great training sites both on line and as dvd

cons
expensive
at times unstable (not for me)
and is only working whit there own sound cards
best regard me
Here's a few PT LE cons that I've been using reaper for
- Limited track count
- No automatic delay compensation
- No auto fades
- No true slip editing
  #8  
Old 06-14-2010, 05:42 AM
mhelm01 mhelm01 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Washington, DC
Posts: 337
Default Re: Reaper VS. Protools

Quote:
Originally Posted by pixeltarian View Post
well a lot of that is mentioned in my op. but here it is in a more linear way:

hardware: profire 2626
PT version: Pro Tools M-powered 8.0.3
Computer: iMac running Snow Leopard 10.6.3
CPU: 2.66 GHz Intel Core 2 Duo
Memory: 4GB 1067 MHz DDR3
External (tracking) HD: mybook, 320GB
MIDI: yamaha p85 through a midi to usb cable, mackie control universal via midi on the profire 2626
plugins: the playback errors and crashes seem to be mostly unrelated to plugins as I tend to use the stock stuff that comes with m-powered anyway...
If i'm not mistaken, the mybook uses WD Green drives. This is problematic with protools. Which version of the mybook is it? Is it firewire or USB?
__________________
2.66GHz Quad-Core Intel Xeon
6 GB SDRAM
3 1 TB WD Caviar Black Hard Drives
Eleven Rack, Axiom 61
  #9  
Old 06-14-2010, 07:18 AM
pixeltarian pixeltarian is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Minneapolis
Posts: 13
Default Re: Reaper VS. Protools

Quote:
Originally Posted by mhelm01 View Post
if i'm not mistaken, the mybook uses wd green drives. This is problematic with protools. Which version of the mybook is it? Is it firewire or usb?
usb
  #10  
Old 06-14-2010, 08:28 AM
mhelm01 mhelm01 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Washington, DC
Posts: 337
Default Re: Reaper VS. Protools

Ok. USB is not supported. This may be causing some of your playback issues. I'd try a firewire capable drive. Just make sure it has the correct chipset. That info can be found by searching the forum.
__________________
2.66GHz Quad-Core Intel Xeon
6 GB SDRAM
3 1 TB WD Caviar Black Hard Drives
Eleven Rack, Axiom 61
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Reaper 4 in Protools Help.. egrideout Pro Tools Software (Mac) 7 12-23-2011 08:17 AM
Reaper and ProTools question S.TaylorRCC Pro Tools Software (Win) 3 12-15-2011 10:30 AM
Protools vs Sonar or reaper digi003 Pro Tools 10 Discussion 20 11-30-2011 12:48 PM
Reaper rewired to Protools 9 tele27 Pro Tools 9 Discussion 8 02-11-2011 07:49 AM
just got protools le - what can it do better than reaper? kristen 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 17 04-12-2010 07:19 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:22 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com