Avid Pro Audio Community




Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post | Community Terms of Use | Avid.com Home Page

Google the Forum | Search Knowledge Base | Search Avid.com

Find Support | Support FAQ | Avid Customer Care How To Videos

Software Updates, Drivers, Manuals, Compatibility, Optimize, Troubleshoot, etc. (Links)

Please post your message once only to the correct forum
Help us Help You - READ THIS Before Posting!



Pro Tools 11 Information


Avid at AES Los Angeles 2014





Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-25-2010, 03:28 PM
epu epu is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 917
Default Okay, who's using an SSD for RECORDING?

Just ordered 3 new SLC SSDs to use with my new upcoming system build. All of them were from MTRON (32GB). Couple this with one extra HDD for storing samples. I would load in the samples for the VIs I need, and then save the respective MULTIS and KITS to the SSD for loading/recording a particular session. One of the SSDs will have the OS (System).

On my laptop, for which I am using a 16GB Express Card SSD (SLC, also from MTRON), a session with Heavy VI Usage (i.e. thousands of samples) and lots of AUDIO tracks and plug-ins, never takes more than 10-15 seconds to load. I never get error messages (ever!) and sessions seem to be more fluid, smooth and motivating (reminding me of working on a 90s ROM Keyboard Workstation where everything just loads instantly).

I'm wondering if the HDD is the typical cause of 90% of Pro-Tools problems on the Native Side of things. Seems like PT can never get the audio fast enough on some systems, sans my current Laptop system and older Digi 001 system (which did by coincidentally have a lot of error problems).
__________________
Desktop

Digi 003R
Asus P5k Wifi
Intel Quad 6600 2.4GHz
XP SP3, 4 GB RAM
500G System, 500G Pro-Tools, 500G Samples/VIs
External - 500G Backup eSata, 500G Masters eSata
Asus DVDR, Asus DVDRW

Laptop

IBM/Lenovo X200 Tablet (Multitouch Screen)
Dual Core 1.86 Ghz
4GB Ram, XPSP3
Digi MBox2 Micro (Occasionally using MBox2)
320G Mechanical Hard Drive
16GB MTron Express Card/34 SSD
100MB/s Read-Write

Harold Everton, MBA

Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-26-2010, 08:41 AM
rqstudio rqstudio is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 1,325
Default Re: Okay, who's using an SSD for RECORDING?

Over the past few months a few people have discussed it but they are still rather small and not very cost effective. When they get up to 500 gigs for $100 they will probably fly off the shelves.
__________________
www.rickqueststudio.com
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-26-2010, 09:37 AM
mhuang mhuang is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Pasadena, California
Posts: 64
Default Re: Okay, who's using an SSD for RECORDING?

It's my understanding that SSD's write rate is actually not as fast as traditional HDs, where it excels is its blazing read speed. i would proably use SSD only as sample playback drive and keep using normal HD for recording.
__________________
Michael Huang - Post Audio
http://www.imdb.me/michael
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-26-2010, 03:18 PM
epu epu is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 917
Default Re: Okay, who's using an SSD for RECORDING?

Well, my Express Card SSD posts read/write times of 100 MB/Read and 100 MB/Write respectively. Some of the PHOTOFAST cards out of Japan claim 270MB R/W speeds. I am using my Express Card SSD for sample playback/MIDI AND Audio without a hiccup. The size of the drive doesn't matter much to me, since you can move audio back and forth off of the drive.
__________________
Desktop

Digi 003R
Asus P5k Wifi
Intel Quad 6600 2.4GHz
XP SP3, 4 GB RAM
500G System, 500G Pro-Tools, 500G Samples/VIs
External - 500G Backup eSata, 500G Masters eSata
Asus DVDR, Asus DVDRW

Laptop

IBM/Lenovo X200 Tablet (Multitouch Screen)
Dual Core 1.86 Ghz
4GB Ram, XPSP3
Digi MBox2 Micro (Occasionally using MBox2)
320G Mechanical Hard Drive
16GB MTron Express Card/34 SSD
100MB/s Read-Write

Harold Everton, MBA

Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Recording timing / late recording issue resolved DAWgEAR Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Win) 0 07-17-2013 08:10 AM
low latency recording vs low hardware buffer size recording chrisdee 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 13 01-27-2009 06:49 AM
Distortion of Recording When Playing Back Recording acs Pro Tools M-Powered (Win) 2 03-18-2008 03:29 PM
PT 5.1 - Recording very lengthy narrative project.. ran out of recording disk space? Rockman-Songwriter Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 6 04-15-2003 11:32 PM
Recording automation AT THE SAME TIME as recording tracks mikeb37 Tips & Tricks 3 03-13-2000 09:43 PM


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 08:18 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com