Avid Pro Audio Community




Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post | Community Terms of Use | Avid.com Home Page

Google the Forum | Search Knowledge Base | Search Avid.com

Find Support | Support FAQ | Avid Support How To Video Series

Software Updates, Drivers, Manuals, Compatibility, Optimize, Troubleshoot, etc. (Links)

Please post your message once only to the correct forum
Help us Help You - READ THIS Before Posting!



Pro Tools 11 Information


Avid at AES Los Angeles 2014





Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Live Sound > VENUE Live Sound Systems

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-04-2010, 07:58 PM
Live Sound Audio Live Sound Audio is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Sacramento
Posts: 42
Default iPad

Anyone tried it for VNC control? I got one but haven't had the chance yet. Can't get it away from my kids!

www.livesoundaudio.com
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-04-2010, 11:57 PM
Mystere1 Mystere1 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 57
Default Re: iPad

Please let us know how it works. I'd like to get one for our Profile at FOH to use for VNC and also as a manual reader.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-07-2010, 11:08 AM
digidesigner digidesigner is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: World
Posts: 2,191
Default Re: iPad

this sure looks interesting:

http://www.studiosixdigital.com/ipad-compatibility.html

and this:

http://www.studiosixdigital.com/smaa...udiotools.html
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-07-2010, 11:07 PM
Live Sound Audio Live Sound Audio is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Sacramento
Posts: 42
Default Re: iPad

I think my iPhone will be gone in the next year. Unless you're doing much typing the iPad will be the next deal....

Still, I'm hoping the VNC control functions are better than other touch screens I've tried. I could never get used to the way they worked although I know other people like them.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-09-2010, 06:52 AM
emluper emluper is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 421
Default Re: iPad

One of our sound guys fired up the VNC connection last night with his iPad and it worked immediately. The interface was a little slow, the touch screen wasn't the fastest, but it made half of the band want an iPad.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-09-2010, 01:16 PM
Jason Stygar Jason Stygar is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 104
Default Re: iPad

Quote:
Originally Posted by emluper View Post
One of our sound guys fired up the VNC connection last night with his iPad and it worked immediately. The interface was a little slow, the touch screen wasn't the fastest, but it made half of the band want an iPad.
This is why I'd love to see a native app for VENUE... I think this could be a killer controller, but I don't see that VNC really capitalizes on it's capabilities...
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 04-09-2010, 03:27 PM
Live Sound Audio Live Sound Audio is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Sacramento
Posts: 42
Default Re: iPad

They're different operating systems so that would be a trick. I'm also not sure it would be much faster than a VNC. If you monitor the bandwidth it is minimal. Still, it is amazing that the nature of the universal VNC platform allows us to buy the newest gadget and immediately use it with the Venue...
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 04-21-2010, 11:43 PM
ionStorm ionStorm is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 26
Default Re: iPad

Quote:
Originally Posted by Live Sound Audio View Post
Still, it is amazing that the nature of the universal VNC platform allows us to buy the newest gadget and immediately use it with the Venue...
Hmm...good point. Never thought of that.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 04-22-2010, 09:50 AM
Live Sound Audio Live Sound Audio is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Sacramento
Posts: 42
Default OT

Taking myself off topic - it allows remote (offsite) viewing of the console too through any computer /iPad device. So I can troubleshoot a session wherever I'm at.... Now I'm not so sure that's a good thing..
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 05-02-2010, 10:11 AM
JW3 JW3 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Orange County, CA
Posts: 35
Default Re: OT

Those of you who are running your Venues on an iPad what VNC program are you guys using? Mocha VNC works but doesn't show the entire screen for me, & VNC viewer looks great but disconnects as soon as I try to do anything. Don't really wanna spend any more money until I know if it's an actual issue or operator error. Thanks...
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
come on - where is the ipad app??? muesli VENUE Live Sound Systems 12 09-09-2014 06:53 AM
iPad app armytanker 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 7 08-29-2012 01:08 AM
pd and iPad automatized Avid Scorch (iOS) Forum 0 03-14-2012 10:03 AM
Ipad 2 is here! nst7 Pro Tools 9 Discussion 17 03-03-2011 03:40 PM
Ipad 2 is here! nst7 Pro Tools Post & Surround 3 03-02-2011 09:48 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:45 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com