Avid Pro Audio Community




Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post | Community Terms of Use | Avid.com Home Page

Google the Forum | Search Knowledge Base | Search Avid.com

Find Support | Support FAQ | Avid Support How To Video Series

Software Updates, Drivers, Manuals, Compatibility, Optimize, Troubleshoot, etc. (Links)

Please post your message once only to the correct forum
Help us Help You - READ THIS Before Posting!



Pro Tools 11 Information


Avid at AES Los Angeles 2014





Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-03-2010, 10:31 PM
ruper ruper is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 3
Default I can't hear my voice while recording vocals with MBox 2 Pro

Hi all:

I was using an old MBox and I didn't have any problem to adjust the volume in the headphones higher than that of the mix, so that I could hear my voice while I was recording a vocal.

I recently bought an MBox 2 Pro, and I have not been able to figure out how to hear my voice louder that the mix in the headphones. If I turn the volume of the headphone louder then the mix also goes louder and I can't still hear my voice.The result is that I go out of tune since I can't hear my self.

I was thinking to buy a small mixer to blend the two headphone outputs (A & B) into a single one, but sending the output of the track where I an recording the vocals to, through the Output 3-4 at Headphone B.

How do you go about this with the MBox 2 Pro without having to buy extra gear?

There must be a simpler way to do this! It was so simple in the old MBox!

Thanks in advance for your feedback
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-03-2010, 11:30 PM
stonehenge stonehenge is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: earth
Posts: 229
Default Re: I can't hear my voice while recording vocals with MBox 2 Pro

can't you just raise the fader of the track you are recording on?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-04-2010, 02:34 AM
huzzam huzzam is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: İstanbul / Crete / Oakland
Posts: 183
Default Re: I can't hear my voice while recording vocals with MBox 2 Pro

What Stonehenge said: just raise the fader for the track you're recording in the mixer.

The difference between the old Mbox & the Mbox 2 Pro is that the Pro doesn't have direct monitoring (for some reason), which is what the old Mix knob controlled. Now everything you hear via the headphones goes through Pro Tools first. This means you have to mix it all in the Pro Tools mixer.

This is also why you may want to either 1) select "low latency monitoring" from the options menu and/or 2) select a low playback buffer size, perhaps 128 samples, in the playback engine window. Since things have to go through PT, there's delay before it gets back out. This can throw you off when tracking. Both of these options can help minimize that delay.

~peter in oakland
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-04-2010, 06:01 AM
ruper ruper is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 3
Default Re: I can't hear my voice while recording vocals with MBox 2 Pro

Thanks a lot guys. This very useful. I will give it try and may get back for more help!

Thanks again
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-04-2010, 07:58 AM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: nashville
Posts: 27,294
Default Re: I can't hear my voice while recording vocals with MBox 2 Pro

And also, make sure you don't accidentally select Input Only monitoring. Raising the fader should do the trick as it has no affect on the recording level. I find pushing it to +9 is about right.
__________________
Gigabyte GA-EX58A-UD3R, Intel i7 950, 12 gig Corsair DDR3, PNY GeForce 210, HD/Native, HD IO, 192 IO, PT10HD, preamps from Vintech, Five Fish Audio, Focusrite and Midas..............................
http://www.myspace.com/cswstudio
www.capricornsoundworks.com

The cool thing about digital is; there's 4 ways to do everything. The bad thing about digital is; there's 4 ways to...........

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-04-2010, 08:15 AM
audiogeekzine audiogeekzine is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 1,526
Default Re: I can't hear my voice while recording vocals with MBox 2 Pro

Quote:
Originally Posted by albee1952 View Post
And also, make sure you don't accidentally select Input Only monitoring. Raising the fader should do the trick as it has no affect on the recording level. I find pushing it to +9 is about right.
do you use the option for separate recording and playback fader levels?

+9 while tracking will be good for the performer, but if you want to play back the take in context with the mix bringing it back to 0 each time and back up to +9 for the next take is annoying, no?

Also pushing the fader to +9 will probably show clipping on the meters so you can't rely on them.
__________________
@theaudiogeek
| www.EPICSounds.ca | www.AudioGeekZine.com | www.HomeRecordingShow.com |
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 04-04-2010, 04:58 PM
ruper ruper is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 3
Default Re: I can't hear my voice while recording vocals with MBox 2 Pro

Hi:

Thanks for your input. Where is the option for separate recording and playback faders?
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 04-04-2010, 05:13 PM
irishharry irishharry is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 161
Default Re: I can't hear my voice while recording vocals with MBox 2 Pro

There are no recording faders. The fader always controls the sound that is playing back to you. It wont effect the recorded level whatsoever. Your recording level is only set by the input knob on your Mbox

Last edited by irishharry; 04-04-2010 at 05:14 PM. Reason: Horrendous spelling and using 'you're' instead of 'your'. Oh the shame!
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 04-04-2010, 06:34 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: nashville
Posts: 27,294
Default Re: I can't hear my voice while recording vocals with MBox 2 Pro

irishharry spelled it out nice and clear. As long as the meters are in Pre-fader(they are by default) then the meter will show accurate recording level, regardless of the fader setting. I simply leave the fader at +9 until the track is fully recorded and drag it back to -0 when I am ready to start editing. mixing and adding plugins. In 5 years, this has never been an issue with any client.
__________________
Gigabyte GA-EX58A-UD3R, Intel i7 950, 12 gig Corsair DDR3, PNY GeForce 210, HD/Native, HD IO, 192 IO, PT10HD, preamps from Vintech, Five Fish Audio, Focusrite and Midas..............................
http://www.myspace.com/cswstudio
www.capricornsoundworks.com

The cool thing about digital is; there's 4 ways to do everything. The bad thing about digital is; there's 4 ways to...........

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Can't hear own voice while recording it speilegg Pro Tools Software (Mac) 4 08-17-2011 07:09 AM
Cannot hear voice recording during playback tearywh Pro Tools M-Powered (Win) 1 03-06-2011 02:55 PM
Why do I hear an echo when I'm recording vocals danielontiveros Pro Tools M-Powered (Win) 5 02-04-2010 09:21 PM
Can't hear vocals during recording mikecamp1978 Pro Tools M-Powered (Mac) 5 04-25-2009 01:45 PM
hear vocals during playback w/o actually recording them? Esteban 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 9 03-08-2002 01:59 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:06 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com