Avid Pro Audio Community




Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post | Community Terms of Use | Avid.com Home Page

Google the Forum | Search Knowledge Base | Search Avid.com

Find Support | Support FAQ | Avid Support How To Video Series

Software Updates, Drivers, Manuals, Compatibility, Optimize, Troubleshoot, etc. (Links)

Please post your message once only to the correct forum
Help us Help You - READ THIS Before Posting!



Pro Tools 11 Information


Avid at AES Los Angeles 2014





Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools M-Powered (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-17-2010, 09:19 PM
oldboy88 oldboy88 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 1
Default MBox 1 and Windows 7

I've been using my Mbox 1 as my soundcard for forever now, but I just got a new laptop running Windows 7 and they seem to be incompatible. I'm not even trying to run it with protools or anything either. (Ableton Live)

Is Digidesign going to release a driver to fix this at all? Or am I screwed and need to get a new audio interface?

Thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-17-2010, 10:39 PM
caruso7r caruso7r is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 839
Default Re: MBox 1 and Windows 7

As of PT 8.0.3 the original Mbox is at its end. Running Windows 7 you can try downloading and installing the 7.4 "asio" driver but it may not work and they have ended "stand alone" drivers at the moment. There is one possible solution that I have heard on this forum. Click Here to check out "asio for all". It may be your solution.
__________________
John
Pro Tools 10
Macbook Pro & Windows 7 Ultimate 64 Bit
"Swap a dollar with one and you get one"
"Swap an answer with one and you get two"

Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-05-2012, 11:23 PM
PsychoNavigator PsychoNavigator is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: AU
Posts: 1
Default Re: MBox 1 and Windows 7

Just thought that I would commit a bit of thread necromancy as this is the top search result for "mbox 1 windows 7" and hopefully it makes some poor sap's (like myself) day a little easier.

I bought an mbox on eBay to replace my E-Mu 1212m in a pinch when I thought it was crapping out (turns out it's a studio monitor gone bad) and learned the hard way after clicking the Buy button that it had been EOL'ed. Urgh.

Well after massive searching with the common response being to just buy a newer box (no, that was not the right answer people. For shame, some of us are kinda poor and don't like the idea of forced hardware obscurity.) but most kind of had vague answers that never really got anywhere.

Anyways. I can verify that the MBox works fine with Windows7x64 with no trickery, other than downloading the standalone 7.4 audio drivers first, restarting your computer, installing Pro Tools LE v8.0 and restarting again. Don't forget to make sure you have QT installed, otherwise it will scream at you for being the worst human on the planet (or a Windows user...).

Once that was all said and done, Pro Tools worked like a charm on Windows 7x64 for me.

I have not yet tried using Ableton or Reason with it, though. Not really interested in bothering with it personally as I've decided to throw the MBox back up on eBay.

I like my E-Mu 1212m card well enough to stick with it until I can justify the price for something new. In the meanwhile, it's off to figure out what sort of monitors I may be able to afford one of these days.

Cheers.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-11-2012, 03:22 PM
CougarCris CougarCris is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Portland, Or
Posts: 1
Default Re: MBox 1 and Windows 7

How did you install ProTools LE 8.0 without updating the drivers in the process?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Updating Pro Tools and Mbox from Windows XP to Windows 7 ryanjantz 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 05-29-2011 03:22 PM
Windows 7 and the MBox 2 Pro bms9nmh 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 11-23-2010 04:09 PM
Original MBox with Windows Vista or Windows 7 JoshuaD 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 12-16-2009 06:57 AM
Original MBox on Windows Vista or Windows 7 JoshuaD 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 12-16-2009 06:50 AM
MBox Windows XP - when ?????????? brownmusic 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 9 09-10-2002 11:27 PM


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 09:42 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com