Avid Pro Audio Community

Pro Tools 11 Information

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post | Community Terms of Use | Avid.com Home Page

Google the Forum | Search Knowledge Base | Search Avid.com

Find Support | Support FAQ | Avid Support How To Video Series

Software Updates, Drivers, Manuals, Compatibility, Troubleshooting, etc. (Links)

Please post your message once only to the correct forum
Help us Help You - READ THIS Before Posting!

Avid at NAB 2014








Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Tips & Tricks

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-10-2010, 07:05 PM
Nube Nube is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 2
Default How to find plug ins folder

When I installed pro tools 8.0 the iLok plugins were stored in an "unused" folder. Where may I access this unused folde and the regular plug in folder?
Also... what are the best texts which you have come across; for anything, instrument placement in the mix, track layering, compression, etc.
Thank you much.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-10-2010, 08:10 PM
SpinningDisk's Avatar
SpinningDisk SpinningDisk is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: USA
Posts: 1,055
Default Re: How to find plug ins folder

In the DigiDesign folder in Applications if you are on a Mac.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-10-2010, 08:27 PM
Craig F's Avatar
Craig F Craig F is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: LA, CA
Posts: 9,696
Default Re: How to find plug ins folder

Mac HD > Library > Application Support > Digidesign

I keep a short-cut to the Application Support folder in the Side Bar
__________________
!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

We are not mind readers: Help Us Help You


"Fly High Freeee click psst tic tic tic click Bird Yeah!" - dave911

PT11 System Requirements link http://avid.force.com/pkb/articles/C...m-Requirements


Thank you,

Craig
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-11-2010, 06:46 AM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: nashville
Posts: 26,392
Default Re: How to find plug ins folder

On a PC its C:>Program Files>Common Files>Digidesign>DAE
__________________
Gigabyte GA-EX58A-UD3R, Intel i7 950, 12 gig Corsair DDR3, PNY GeForce 210, Focusrite ISA428, Octopre Mk II Dynamic, Lucid GenX192, DIGI003 running PT10HD, Vintech and Five Fish preamps..............................
http://www.myspace.com/cswstudio
www.capricornsoundworks.com

The cool thing about digital is; there's 4 ways to do everything. The bad thing about digital is; there's 4 ways to...........

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-07-2014, 06:14 PM
DAPianist DAPianist is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Washington
Posts: 136
Default Re: How to find plug ins folder

Does anybody know what the "unused plugin" folder at that location is? Why are these plugins unused??
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-07-2014, 06:25 PM
Bruce Paine's Avatar
Bruce Paine Bruce Paine is offline
Community Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 1998
Location: Carmel, CA
Posts: 1,104
Default Re: How to find plug ins folder

Quote:
Originally Posted by DAPianist View Post
Does anybody know what the "unused plugin" folder at that location is? Why are these plugins unused??
Since you are on Pro Tools 10 on Mac OS X, that folder would be here:
/Library/Application Support/Digidesign/

Plug-ins that are not compatible or not authorized may be automatically moved to the Plug-Ins (Unused) folder from the Plug-Ins folder, and you can also manually move plug-ins you don't use to there to speed up Pro Tools load time. Or for troubleshooting purposes.
__________________
Bruce Paine
Community Administrator
Avid Pro Audio Community
apacforums@gmail.com
System Details
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 02-10-2014, 01:51 PM
DAPianist DAPianist is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Washington
Posts: 136
Default Re: How to find plug ins folder

Hmmm... could I drag some "unused" plugins to the "used" folder so I can try them out; or would that be dangerous...
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 02-10-2014, 02:55 PM
Craig F's Avatar
Craig F Craig F is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: LA, CA
Posts: 9,696
Default Re: How to find plug ins folder

you can drag between used and unused
just only do it when Pro Tools IS NOT running
__________________
!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

We are not mind readers: Help Us Help You


"Fly High Freeee click psst tic tic tic click Bird Yeah!" - dave911

PT11 System Requirements link http://avid.force.com/pkb/articles/C...m-Requirements


Thank you,

Craig
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 02-10-2014, 03:31 PM
SpinningDisk's Avatar
SpinningDisk SpinningDisk is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: USA
Posts: 1,055
Default Re: How to find plug ins folder

^+1
__________________
PT 11, PT LE 6.0, DIGI 001, DIGI 003, 27" Late 2012 Intel iMac, Blue and White G3, Reason 7, Celemony, Waves, A.I.R., Softube, XLN Audio, IKmultimedia, Massey
Alesis Masterlink, Alesis Adat LX20,
, Yamaha Motif ES8, Sure SM58, Sure KSM27, Byerdynamic MC 834 N, Event Project Studio 6, Pod Line 6, Focusrite Trakmaster Pro DI, Glyph Drives, Lexicon,
Fender Strats, Ibanez Acoustic, Ibanez Bass, Ibanez Electric.

http://www.johnackermusic.com/
protools@verizon.net

Live and Let Live
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 02-18-2014, 01:09 PM
DAPianist DAPianist is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Washington
Posts: 136
Default Re: How to find plug ins folder

Thanks!!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Can't Find Plug-In folder! kyluigi 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 5 09-06-2012 04:28 AM
Can't find my plugins folder now that I use LION jjboogie Pro Tools Software (Mac) 10 01-17-2012 04:14 AM
Plug-Ins Alias folder points to wrong folder??? nod25 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 3 05-26-2009 03:43 PM
Can't find save folder! AHGvs 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 03-05-2008 06:32 AM
Where do i find the plugins folder on PC LE crizdee 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 04-06-2005 04:55 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:15 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com