Avid Pro Audio Community




Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post | Community Terms of Use | Avid.com Home Page

Google the Forum | Search Knowledge Base | Search Avid.com

Find Support | Support FAQ | Avid Support How To Video Series

Software Updates, Drivers, Manuals, Compatibility, Troubleshooting, etc. (Links)

Please post your message once only to the correct forum
Help us Help You - READ THIS Before Posting!



Pro Tools 11 Information









Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Tips & Tricks

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-27-2010, 04:04 PM
tigerman tigerman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 26
Default Assigning a midi CC to a fader

Hi, i would like to assign a fader of my master keyboard to the mater aux fader in order to control volume of the entire project, so i do not have to use the mause all the times.

that "link" should be indipendent from the track i have selected in the edit window.

Is it possible? I'm coming from Logic so i'm still learning, i've browsed all pro-tools menu but i can't see anything related do midi cc, do i need a compatible control surface in order to do that ?
No way to have just the volume on a fader controlled by a midi cc?

thanks
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-29-2010, 03:58 PM
tonwurm's Avatar
tonwurm tonwurm is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: europe
Posts: 573
Default Re: Assing a midi CC to a fader

nope - so far I know
__________________
Mac Pro - PT10 HD, Logic X, DP 7, OSX 10.8.5
MacBook Pro Retina - PT11
www.perfectzeromusic.com
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-31-2010, 07:55 AM
lifer lifer is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Manchester U.K.
Posts: 302
Default Re: Assing a midi CC to a fader

This is a MAJOR flaw with Pro Tools.
You have to have a HUI compatable control surface or purchase one of the controllers from Digidesign.
I am dying to build a custom controller of my own since there is a huge gap between the functionality and cost of current surfaces.
Sadly unless Avid change their policy or you know a reverse engineer bod, you are stuck.
If you just want one fader i suggest you purchase either Frontier Designs Alphatrack or a Presonus Faderport and use their HUI mode.
__________________
Win XP Pro SP2
PT 8HD HD4 Accel
Asrock Conroe 865PE
Intel Q6600 Quad 2.4 ghz
2GB Crucial Ram

OSX 10.9.0
PT 10HD
8 Core Mac Pro
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-31-2010, 09:36 AM
jeremyroberts jeremyroberts is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 1999
Location: New York, NY, USA
Posts: 3,028
Default Re: Assing a midi CC to a fader

Quote:
Originally Posted by lifer View Post
This is a MAJOR flaw with Pro Tools.
You have to have a HUI compatable control surface or purchase one of the controllers from Digidesign.
I am dying to build a custom controller of my own since there is a huge gap between the functionality and cost of current surfaces.
Sadly unless Avid change their policy or you know a reverse engineer bod, you are stuck.
If you just want one fader i suggest you purchase either Frontier Designs Alphatrack or a Presonus Faderport and use their HUI mode.
It's not a major a flaw. The OP needs to RTFM. Read up on master faders, busses and auxes.
__________________
--Jeremy
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-31-2010, 10:33 AM
John_Toolbox's Avatar
John_Toolbox John_Toolbox is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Los Angeles, Minneapolis
Posts: 3,705
Default Re: Assing a midi CC to a fader

Quote:
Assing a midi CC to a fader
I don't normally pick on people for their grammar, but this is one instance where spell check is your friend. I'm trying to visualize in my head just what the action of "assing" something would look like, and so far all I have come up is a scene from Ace Ventura: Pet Detective.

But I will ASSume that you meant to say "assigning." Assuming your controller is programable, all you need to do is program your controller to have the same parameters of a midi controller that is compatible with pro tools, such as the JL cooper CS10 or the mackie HUI. Then set up pro tools to have that peripheral connected. This will take a little research on your part, read the manual for your controller and then figure out how to make it emulate one that pro tools is compatible with. I have done this before, and I know I was able to find data for a CS-10 on the internet relatively easily.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-31-2010, 11:01 AM
BaileyBass BaileyBass is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 1,094
Default Re: Assing a midi CC to a fader

The faderport is only about 120 US.. and much smaller. I think that facilitates the OP's rather explicit request.
The JL cooper could leave a mark..just guessing.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 02-10-2010, 07:17 AM
Matthew Steel Matthew Steel is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Greenville, SC
Posts: 87
Default Re: Assing a midi CC to a fader

ProTools does not support arbitrary MIDI control of parameters. It only supports its own (undocumented) control surface protocols, and two documented legacy control protocols. The documented protocols are for the JL-Cooper CS-10 and the Mackie HUI. This limitation is on purpose so that Digidesign can sell control surfaces. So perhaps it is not a "flaw" but certainly is a major LIMITATION in ProTools. But it is on purpose so Digidesign can sell control surfaces.

Do some searching and reading on the CS-10 protocol. It may do what you want. IIRC it uses a predefined mapping between CC numbers and faders. It does not support motorized faders so if a fader changes from ProTools then you will have to move the fader through the current point before ProTools will respond again. In your case your keyboard isn't likely to have motorized faders so this is probably the desired behavior.

The Mackie HUI has the limitation that there are periodic status checks. ProTools will periodically send a message to the HUI and expect the proper reply. If it does not get the proper response back then ProTools assumes the HUI has gone away and disables it. So to use the HUI protocol you need to be able to program your keyboard to spit back the response every time it receives the keepalive message from ProTools.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 02-10-2010, 06:08 PM
tigas tigas is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 149
Default Re: Assing a midi CC to a fader

Does anyone have good experiences with the Behringer faderboard and its BabyHUI emulation? It's pretty cheap.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 02-10-2010, 06:27 PM
John_Toolbox's Avatar
John_Toolbox John_Toolbox is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Los Angeles, Minneapolis
Posts: 3,705
Default Re: Assing a midi CC to a fader

Quote:
Originally Posted by tigas View Post
Does anyone have good experiences with the Behringer faderboard and its BabyHUI emulation? It's pretty cheap.
I would avoid Behringer gear like the plague. It's cheap for a reason. Your money would be much better spent buying something used from a more reputable brand.

Have you looked at the presonus faderport and frontier alphatrack? They each only have one fader, but it's motorized and they both have several other cool tricks up their sleeves. Really nice to have next to your keyboard. You should be able to pick one up used for around $100.

I think the newer versions of the JL cooper fadermaster have motorized faders, though I'm not sure what they go for these days. I have been very happy with every piece of JL cooper gear I've owned, very well built stuff.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 02-10-2010, 06:48 PM
jeremyroberts jeremyroberts is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 1999
Location: New York, NY, USA
Posts: 3,028
Default Re: Assing a midi CC to a fader

I own and use a BabyHUI. It's everything that I need. Well, I need a D-Control, but the BabyHui is so integrated into my workflow and physical layout, I would not be a happy camper if I had to replace it.

If you can find a babyHUI in good condition, I'd buy it.
__________________
--Jeremy
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Assigning focus fader in dual operator mode - d control bergj00 ICON & C|24 7 12-12-2012 10:51 AM
[FR] - fader re-assigning and eucontrol improvements Joris de Man Artist Series 0 01-03-2011 12:24 PM
Assigning MIDI CC on D-command fader kidindoor ICON & C|24 0 08-08-2010 05:35 AM
Assigning solo to a Fader Jeff W. Avid Live Sound Systems 1 08-07-2008 10:48 AM
Master fader question, assigning groups TheLP 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 7 06-05-2004 08:36 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:34 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com