Avid Pro Audio Community




Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post | Community Terms of Use | Avid.com Home Page

Google the Forum | Search Knowledge Base | Search Avid.com

Find Support | Support FAQ | Avid Customer Care How To Videos

Software Updates, Drivers, Manuals, Compatibility, Optimize, Troubleshoot, etc. (Links)

Please post your message once only to the correct forum
Help us Help You - READ THIS Before Posting!



Pro Tools 11 Information


Avid at AES Los Angeles 2014





Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-13-2010, 05:19 AM
M2E M2E is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Kakalaka
Posts: 908
Default Delay compensation engine!!!!

I'm trying to get my head around this. I have my Pro Tools set for Long (4095 PER CHANNEL) but, when it hit's over 2000 it shows in the red.
Also, when it hits in the 1000's it shows in the orange.
Can some one from Digi please tell me if we really do have 4095 per channel?
This gets so annoying when mixing ITB and you have to stop ur work flow to try to figure out a work around which takes you off ur main objective.

Anybody else with the same issue?

Thanx

Marc
__________________
Mac Pro 2.66ghz/PTHD3-8.1.1/OS 10.6.8/192 & 96i/12 Gigs Of RAM
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-13-2010, 08:05 AM
Sean Russell Sean Russell is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: DC Metro
Posts: 1,281
Default Re: Delay compensation engine!!!!

Yes, you do have 4095 - orange means it's the most compensated channel in the session. Red means you've exceeded that comp. Is this track an Aux? Are there TDM plugs and RTAS plugs together on the track - maybe RTAS before the TDM? Swap them.
__________________
... but does it help the chorus?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-13-2010, 08:25 AM
KingFish's Avatar
KingFish KingFish is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Nashville TN
Posts: 2,654
Default Re: Delay compensation engine!!!!

You mixer will incur greater delays, at higher buffer sizes as well.

if you're hovering around the Delay compensation limit at 1024, and you lower your playback Buffer to 512, all of the delays in the Mixer, will be 1/2 (I don't know if it's exactly 50% off hand, not in front of my HD system.... but it's less)

I try to run, mostly at 128 these days, so I get the least delay out of my Mixer / Plugin's and stay below delay compensation Range - occasionally I'll hit the limit, and back the playback buffer off to 64, and it'll lower the delays, within range, but not too often.
__________________
David
- Trident TSM 52 Input Console
- HDX / OMNI / HD i/o's
- MacPro 8 Core 2.4 Westmere 28Gb RAM
- PT HD 10.3.3 + H.E.A.T. OS X 10.8.2
- SSL Nucleus Controller
- Dynaudio Acoustics BM6A's / Genelec 8040a / NS10's w/ Sub
- 1176's, LA2A's, ADL CL1500, Neve 1073's, 16 x Wunder Audio Pre's, Ward Beck's, API's, Misc Vintage outboard.
- 2x - HD3 Accel PCIe - 192 i/o's - 96 i/o's
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-13-2010, 09:33 AM
crizdee's Avatar
crizdee crizdee is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Brighton, UK
Posts: 9,900
Default Re: Delay compensation engine!!!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sean Russell View Post
Yes, you do have 4095 - orange means it's the most compensated channel in the session. Red means you've exceeded that comp. Is this track an Aux? Are there TDM plugs and RTAS plugs together on the track - maybe RTAS before the TDM? Swap them.
Yes and if its an aux! any tracks feeding the aux are added the delay reading.

snare track creating 2000 fed to an an with 2000 = 4000

Chris
__________________
PT MAC Troubleshooting... http://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=54888

Producer, Engineer,
UKmastering E-Mixing & Mastering facility
www.ukmastering.com


PT10.3.7 Lion HD6 accel Magma PE6R4 Control 24 Harpertown 8-core UAD-2 Quad / SSL Duende Native. Manley Vari-Mu, Manley Massive Passive, Solid State Logic VHD, Anthony De Mario ADL600, Grove Tubes ViPre, Tube-Tech CL-1B. Hafler TRM active monitoring.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Delay Compensation in "Playback Engine"? izzi63 Pro Tools 11 Discussion 8 09-11-2013 10:38 AM
Delay compensation engine crash urfavoriteblbsie Pro Tools 9 Discussion 4 02-25-2012 06:30 PM
Delay compensation engine mafiacondon Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 2 10-11-2010 03:45 AM
Delay Compensation Engine Fails to Warn Nathan W. Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 2 09-17-2010 03:13 PM
8.0.3 - More samples in Delay Compensation engine? cburgett Pro Tools TDM Systems (Win) 4 12-19-2009 05:27 PM


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 06:12 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com