Avid Pro Audio Community




Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post | Community Terms of Use | Avid.com Home Page

Google the Forum | Search Knowledge Base | Search Avid.com

Find Support | Support FAQ | Avid Support How To Video Series

Software Updates, Drivers, Manuals, Compatibility, Optimize, Troubleshoot, etc. (Links)

Please post your message once only to the correct forum
Help us Help You - READ THIS Before Posting!



Pro Tools 11 Information


Avid at AES Los Angeles 2014





Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools M-Powered (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-01-2010, 11:55 AM
kafka kafka is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 131
Default PTMP 8.0.3, PT Crash When Dragging Groove from BFD2 into PT Region Editor

I'm running XP SP3 32-bit, with BFD2 v2.1.0.47. I recently upgraded to PTMP 8.0.3, and found an interesting bug this week. This was not an issue on previous versions.

When my BFD2 window overlaps the PT window, I can drag grooves from the groove editor directly into the PT region editor just fine.

If the BFD2 window does not overlap the PT window, then dragging the groove from BFD2 into the PT editor causes PT to hang, and gives the following error message:

Access violation occurred, unable to read location: 0x00000000 at address: 0x00993EE3 in module: DFW.dll

I also get the same issue if for some reason I drag the BFD2 groove in any place not over the PT region edit window; i.e. over PT that is not part of the Region Editor, such as over the Mix window, over the desktop (as in if the BFD2 window doesn't overlap the PT window).

So far, I've found the issue to be 100% reproducible. The workaround is to make sure that BFD2 always overlaps the PT editor when moving grooves into PT. However, as this is an important part of my workflow, I'd like to see it corrected. I'm not sure whose issue this is, so I've cross-posted it over at FXPansion's web site. My suspicion is that since DFW.dll belongs to ProTools, that it would be Didigdesign's issue.

Thanks.

SiSoftware Sandra

System
Host Name : PROTOOLS
User : ProTools-User
Workgroup : HOME

Processor
Model : 2x Intel(R) Xeon(R) CPU X5350 @ 2.66GHz
Speed : 2.66GHz
Cores per Processor : 4 Unit(s)
Threads per Core : 1 Unit(s)
Type : Quad-Core
Internal Data Cache : 4x 32kB, Synchronous, Write-Thru, 8-way, 64 byte line size
L2 On-board Cache : 2x 4MB, ECC, Synchronous, ATC, 16-way, 64 byte line size, 2 threads sharing

System
System : Dell Inc. Precision WorkStation 690
Mainboard : Dell Inc. 0MY171
Bus(es) : X-Bus PCI PCIe IMB USB FireWire/1394 i2c/SMBus
Multi-Processor (MP) Support : 2 Processor(s)
Multi-Processor Advanced PIC (APIC) : Yes
System BIOS : Dell Inc. A04
Total Memory : 2.5GB DDR2 FB-DIMM

Chipset
Model : Intel 5000X Chipset Memory Controller Hub
Front Side Bus Speed : 4x 266MHz (1.06GHz)
Total Memory : 4GB DDR2 FB-DIMM
Memory Bus Speed : 2x 266MHz (532MHz)

Memory Module(s)
Memory Module : Quimoda 72T128020HFN37A 1GB ECC DDR2 FB-DIMM PC2-4300F DDR2-534 (4-4-4-12 2-16-4-2)
Memory Module : Quimoda 72T128020HFN37A 1GB ECC DDR2 FB-DIMM PC2-4300F DDR2-534 (4-4-4-12 2-16-4-2)

Video System
Adapter : NVIDIA Quadro NVS 285 (128MB DDR3, 275MHz/2x598MHz, PCIe 1.00 x16, PS3.0, VS3.0, 2 Heads)
Adapter : NVIDIA Quadro NVS 285 (128MB DDR3, 275MHz/2x598MHz, PCIe 1.00 x16, PS3.0, VS3.0)

Storage Devices
WDC WD5000AAKS-00YGA 500GB (SATA300, 3.5", 7200rpm, NCQ, 16MB Cache) : 466GB
ST31500341AS 2TB (SATA300, 3.5", NCQ) : 1TB (D:)
ST31000333AS 1TB (SATA300, 3.5", NCQ) : 932GB (E:)
ATA MAXTOR STM350063 500GB (SCSI, SCSI-5, 3.5", 20000rpm, NCQ) : 466GB (C:) (J:)
TEAC USB HS-CF Card (USB) : N/A (G:)
TEAC USB HS-xD/SM (USB) : N/A (H:)
TEAC USB HS-MS Card (USB) : N/A (I:)
TEAC USB HS-SD Card (USB) : N/A (K:)
Seagate FreeAgent 2TB (USB) : 1TB (O:)
TSSTcorp CDDVDW SH-S202N (ATA66, DVD+-RW, CD-RW, 2MB Cache) : N/A (F:)
PHILIPS DVD+-RW DVD8801 (ATA33, DVD+-RW, CD-RW, 2MB Cache) : N/A (L:)

Logical Storage Devices
System (C:) : 234GB (NTFS) @ ATA MAXTOR STM350063 500GB (SCSI, SCSI-5, 3.5", 20000rpm, NCQ)
System (J:) : 231GB (NTFS) @ ATA MAXTOR STM350063 500GB (SCSI, SCSI-5, 3.5", 20000rpm, NCQ)
Hard Disk (N:) : N/A
Hard Disk (M:) : N/A
MainStorage (D:) : 1TB (NTFS) @ ST31500341AS 2TB (SATA300, 3.5", NCQ)
Samples (E:) : 932GB (NTFS) @ ST31000333AS 1TB (SATA300, 3.5", NCQ)
CD-ROM/DVD (F:) : N/A @ TSSTcorp CDDVDW SH-S202N (ATA66, DVD+-RW, CD-RW, 2MB Cache)
CD-ROM/DVD (L:) : N/A @ PHILIPS DVD+-RW DVD8801 (ATA33, DVD+-RW, CD-RW, 2MB Cache)
Removable Drive (G:) : N/A @ TEAC USB HS-CF Card (USB)
Removable Drive (H:) : N/A @ TEAC USB HS-xD/SM (USB)
Removable Drive (I:) : N/A @ TEAC USB HS-MS Card (USB)
Removable Drive (K:) : N/A @ TEAC USB HS-SD Card (USB)
Backup (O:) : 1TB (NTFS) @ Seagate FreeAgent 2TB (USB)

Peripherals
LPC Hub Controller 1 : Dell 631xESB/6321ESB/3100 LPC Interface Controller
LPC Legacy Controller 1 : SMSC LPC v1
Disk Controller : Dell 631xESB/6321ESB/3100 Ultra ATA Storage Controller
Disk Controller : Dell Enterprise Southbridge SATA cc=AHCI
Disk Controller : Dell SAS 5/iR Integrated Emb
USB Controller 1 : Dell 631xESB/6321ESB/3100 Chipset USB Universal Host Controller #1
USB Controller 2 : Dell 631xESB/6321ESB/3100 Chipset USB Universal Host Controller #2
USB Controller 3 : Dell 631xESB/6321ESB/3100 Chipset USB Universal Host Controller #3
USB Controller 4 : Dell 631xESB/6321ESB/3100 Chipset USB Universal Host Controller #4
USB Controller 5 : Dell 631xESB/6321ESB/3100 Chipset USB2 Enhanced Host Controller
FireWire/1394 Controller 1 : Avlab Technology XIO2200(A) IEEE-1394a-2000 Controller (PHY/Link)
FireWire/1394 Controller 2 : ADS Technologies TSB43AB23 1394a-2000 OHCI PHY/link-layer Controller
System SMBus Controller 1 : Intel 5X00/7X00 XMB Ch 21-0 SMBus
System SMBus Controller 2 : Intel 5X00/7X00 XMB Ch 21-1 SMBus
System SMBus Controller 3 : Intel 5X00/7X00 XMB Ch 22-0 SMBus
System SMBus Controller 4 : Intel 5X00/7X00 XMB Ch 22-1 SMBus
System SMBus Controller 5 : Intel 801xx/63xx SMBus

Printers and Faxes
Printer : HP DeskJet 1220C (1200x1200, USB, Colour)

Network Services
Network Adapter : Broadcom NetXtreme 57xx Gigabit Controller - Packet Scheduler Miniport (Ethernet, 100Mbps)

Power Management
Mains (AC) Line Status : On-Line

Operating System(s)
Windows System : Microsoft Windows XP Professional 5.01.2600 (Service Pack 3)
Platform Compliance : x86
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-04-2010, 11:08 AM
Bob Brown Bob Brown is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 1998
Location: Sunnyvale, CA
Posts: 245
Default Re: PTMP 8.0.3, PT Crash When Dragging Groove from BFD2 into PT Region Editor

Hi,

I would like to help figure out what is going on with your system/sessions.

In Pro Tools 8.0.3, we added better and more robust logging to help track down problems like the one you are seeing. When Pro Tools crashes, some information about the crash is written out to a log file. The log files are kept in the "LogFiles" folder that is next to the Pro Tools application.

Here's what you need to do...

1) Reproduce the crash you are seeing.
2) Look in the LogFiles folder and find the latest log file. The file name ends with .dlog
3) Email this "dlog" file to vi -at- digidesign -dot- com. Please include your DUC user name and the hyper-link to this DUC thread (http://duc.digidesign.com/showthread.php?t=262158) so we can track which post this came from.

Please put my name in the subject line of the email.

Thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-08-2010, 07:31 AM
kafka kafka is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 131
Default Re: PTMP 8.0.3, PT Crash When Dragging Groove from BFD2 into PT Region Editor

Hey, Bob. Thanks for getting back to me. I'll recreate and send you the log right away.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-18-2010, 09:10 AM
kafka kafka is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 131
Default Re: PTMP 8.0.3, PT Crash When Dragging Groove from BFD2 into PT Region Editor

Any word on this yet? It looks like someone is having the same issue, but with Superior drummer. http://duc.digidesign.com/showthread.php?t=264290

Also, I've confirmed that the same issues exists when using XP SP3 or W7-64.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-31-2010, 05:40 PM
cparks100 cparks100 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Tampa, FL USA
Posts: 11
Default Re: PTMP 8.0.3, PT Crash When Dragging Groove from BFD2 into PT Region Editor

Having same problem with EZ-Drummer/Player... and 8.0.3 going back to 8.0.1
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-02-2010, 07:14 AM
kafka kafka is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 131
Default Re: PTMP 8.0.3, PT Crash When Dragging Groove from BFD2 into PT Region Editor

Looks like it's fixed in 8.0.3cs2 for BFD2. Thanks!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
BFD2-Initial Groove start is noisy. Broadsneakers Pro Tools M-Powered (Win) 1 05-29-2012 08:31 AM
Using Pro Tools Midi Editor for BFD2 drum mapping Qrackaduck Virtual Instruments 4 10-15-2009 07:53 AM
Groove Agent (SE) in PTMP GovrCheeze Pro Tools M-Powered (Win) 0 02-21-2007 11:22 AM
Dragging from region bin FDurrett Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 4 08-22-2004 12:22 PM
Dragging sounds on the SCell editor The golfer Digidesign Hardware & Software 1 10-21-2002 08:10 AM


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 09:23 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com