Avid Pro Audio Community




Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post | Community Terms of Use | Avid.com Home Page

Google the Forum | Search Knowledge Base | Search Avid.com

Find Support | Support FAQ | Avid Support How To Video Series

Software Updates, Drivers, Manuals, Compatibility, Optimize, Troubleshoot, etc. (Links)

Please post your message once only to the correct forum
Help us Help You - READ THIS Before Posting!



Pro Tools 11 Information


Avid at AES Los Angeles 2014





Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-20-2009, 10:35 AM
AdenP AdenP is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 4
Default Mbox 2 as Primary Sound Card?

Hi,

I've done a bit of looking around, and some people's similar problems have been solved, but they don't help me.

I'm running Vista 32bit, and I want to know if its possible to have the Mbox work as my primary soundcard.

In other words, it all works fine with Pro Tools, but any other general computer sounds and audio that is not played through Pro Tools (i.e. Windows Media Player, Youtube, Myspace etc.) just try to play through the normal (crappy) soundcard in my computer.

I've tried
Control panel > Hardware and Sound > Manage Audio Devices but no option appears for my Mbox.

Any help would be really great, thanks a lot.
Aden
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-20-2009, 11:10 AM
The Weed's Avatar
The Weed The Weed is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 4,159
Default Re: Mbox 2 as Primary Sound Card?

In one word: No.

There is no WaveDriver "yet" for Vista. It's supposed to be in the pipeline, but I fear it is very far up that pipeline, in fact, so far it may not be visible. An ASIO compliant program, IIRC WinAmp has an ASIO plug-in, will use the Mbox as a soundcard.

Even if there was a WaveDriver for Vista, at the moment, Digidesign hardware is single client, so you could not have more than one program using the Mbox at the same time.

Cheers,
__________________
Bruce Hayward
info@brucehayward.com
www.brucehayward.com
Health IS Wealth
Every day's a new adventure
I had a handle on life...but it broke
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-20-2009, 11:21 AM
AdenP AdenP is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 4
Default Re: Mbox 2 as Primary Sound Card?

Ah ok. Thanks for that, at least I won't waste my time trying to sort something out that is un-sortable.

Shame. Nevermind...
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-14-2009, 10:09 PM
markyrokz markyrokz is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 1
Default Re: Mbox 2 as Primary Sound Card?

what about on a mac?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-15-2009, 07:17 AM
sw rec sw rec is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Colo Spgs Colo
Posts: 4,245
Default Re: Mbox 2 as Primary Sound Card?

Best bet is use your on-board sound for all other audio. There's a whole lot of us on here doing just that and it works like a charm.
Can't help ya with the MAC option, though. Maybe post it on the MAC forum and see how that's working out. But I SUSPECT the answer will be the same.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Mbox 2 Pro As Primary Sound Card?!? thetoy 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 4 08-10-2009 02:17 PM
002r as primary sound card barznbeats1 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 0 05-02-2008 09:40 PM
using 002r as a primary sound card? revolver 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 11-26-2004 08:49 PM
how can i set the mbox as primary sound card? starrackerman1 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 5 04-25-2003 12:37 AM
how can i set mbox as primary sound card? starrackerman1 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 5 04-24-2003 12:39 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:51 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com