Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-25-2009, 12:27 PM
stefunktrumpet stefunktrumpet is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 69
Default CPU usage is holding off USB audio

hi,

i don't think that this behaviour is normal and in fact it is very annoying that's why i want to explain it to you. i hope you can help me:

my system:

Pro Tools LE 8
MBox 2
Mac Book Pro
2,4 Ghz Intel Core 2 Duo
4GB RAM
Mac OSX 10.5.7

I open a new session and create 3 instrument tracks:

1. RealGuitar 2L (VST wrapped) [latest driver]
2. BFD 2 [latest driver]
3. TL Metro

My Playback Engine Settings:
H/W Buffer Size: 2048 Samples
RTAS Processors: 2
CPU Usage Limit: 90%
DAE Playback Buffer Size: Level 4, Cache Size: Large

After I hit the play button it plays for about 10 seconds then it stops and i get this message:

"CPU usage is holding off USB audio. Remove some plug-ins, delete some tracks, or increase the H/W Buffer Size in the Playback Engine dialog (-6105)"

On one USB Connector there is only my MBox 2
On the other there is a Hub with my wireless mouse, my m-audio oxygen 49, my Keyboard, my VSL-Dongle and my Waves-Dongle.
On the Firewire-Connector there is my External WD "My Book".

I can't believe that this can't work.
Please help me.
Thank you very much
stefunktrumpet
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-25-2009, 12:58 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: nashville
Posts: 34,805
Default Re: CPU usage is holding off USB audio

Couple of questions for you. Did it work on an earlier version of Leopard? Which USB port is the Mbox patched to? I think it should be the port farthest away from the screen. Have you tried it with the plugins not inserted?(I would at least see what happens starting with no plugins, then each one by itself, followed by each pair and see if you can blame any of the plugins(but try the USB port first if you are not on the one I talked about).
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, DIGI003 Rack
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-25-2009, 01:30 PM
DigiTechSupt's Avatar
DigiTechSupt DigiTechSupt is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Worldwide
Posts: 33,623
Default Re: CPU usage is holding off USB audio

Also try reducing the number of processors dedicated to RTAS in the playback engine, as it's likely to help.

There are a lot more suggestions in the General Troubleshooting thread...
__________________
Avid Audio Tech Support
Help us help you - read this before posting
Support FAQ
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-25-2009, 04:18 PM
stefunktrumpet stefunktrumpet is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 69
Default Re: CPU usage is holding off USB audio

thanx very much for your help.
in fact i just had to selct 1 processor instead of 2 and now it works just nice.

could you please explain to me why that is such a big difference
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07-05-2009, 04:59 PM
joematzzie joematzzie is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 10
Default Re: CPU usage is holding off USB audio

Yay, I had the same problem. I moved the USB from the monitor jack to the back of the tower, and changed CPU number from 4 to 1, and now it plays fine.

Thank you,

Joe


Original MBox
ProTools LE 7.4.2
Leopard 10.5.7
Mac Pro
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08-23-2009, 05:42 PM
DonM DonM is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Western Pennsylvania USA
Posts: 223
Default Re: CPU usage is holding off USB audio

Gordon:

Interesting thought .... but can anyone actually explain why 1 is better than 2? It does seem counter intuitive. Thanks in advance.

-D
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 08-24-2009, 05:08 AM
DonM DonM is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Western Pennsylvania USA
Posts: 223
Default Re: CPU usage is holding off USB audio

Gordon:

I appreciate your 'colorful' assessment of the issue here. I'd equally appreciate a technical response.

-D
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 08-24-2009, 10:07 AM
The Dougfather The Dougfather is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: UK
Posts: 3,200
Default Re: CPU usage is holding off USB audio

Ok, so in the playback engine you deditcate processors to RTAS, thats the RTAS plugins. So if you have both cores dedicated to RTAS there isn't much left for non real time code and everything else. By reducing to one dedicated RTAS core your opening up the CPU to do everything else it needs to do as well as keep RTAS processing running smoothly.

Pretty logical but not ideal, especially if you only have a dual core machine.
__________________
iMac i5 2.8GHz, Macbook Pro 2.4GHz, Pro Tools 10/11, MOTU 828mk2, Presonus Digimax FS, Presonus Firestudio Project, TC Konnekt 24D
---
iCON Photography
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 08-24-2009, 06:26 PM
DonM DonM is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Western Pennsylvania USA
Posts: 223
Default Re: CPU usage is holding off USB audio

Doug:
Thanks for the response. I was doing some math in my head that pretty much assumed what you have said here.

I began wondering if this 'may' flip as the RTAS usage increases?

For example the load that I was seeing on my system never exceeded 12% but the engine halted. Might returning to 2 cores be suitable if the average load is 45% to 65%?

Thanks in advance for your insight.

-D
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 09-20-2010, 05:30 PM
XsuspendedX XsuspendedX is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 11
Default Re: CPU usage is holding off USB audio

Hi, I've encountered a very similar error. It seems to me that I should normally not receive these because I had not prior to my 8.0.4 upgrade.

Im using a Digidesign Mbox Mini connected to an early 2009 MBP running 4g of ram and a core 2 duo @ 2.9

I've run through the multiple Hardware buffer sizes and switched between one or two cores with no resolve.

The issues seems to happen regardless of how many plugins or tracks I have in my session. I am using a few Waves plugins along side Reason and one or two of the DIGI eq's and comps.

I never had this issue with 8.0.3 any direction would be much appreciated, thanks!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
CPU usage is holding off USB audio.... Dan Freeman 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 05-23-2011 01:35 PM
CPU Usage Holding off USB audio help Nathan W. Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 3 07-08-2010 03:21 PM
"CPU usage is holding off USB audio ... " MrBrown 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 11 11-12-2005 02:54 PM
cpu usage is holding off usb audio J-Mac 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 08-29-2005 09:36 PM
CPU usage is holding off USB audio Whitecastle 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 7 01-26-2003 09:34 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:20 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com