Avid Pro Audio Community




Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post | Community Terms of Use | Avid.com Home Page

Google the Forum | Search Knowledge Base | Search Avid.com

Find Support | Support FAQ | Avid Support How To Video Series

Software Updates, Drivers, Manuals, Compatibility, Optimize, Troubleshoot, etc. (Links)

Please post your message once only to the correct forum
Help us Help You - READ THIS Before Posting!



Pro Tools 11 Information


Avid at AES Los Angeles 2014





Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Other Products > Storage Subsystems

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-11-2009, 04:50 AM
metascanner metascanner is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 104
Default what kind of external hard drive for protools ?

what external hard drive you advice for protools please ? to work on and back up too ....
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-13-2009, 05:13 AM
metascanner metascanner is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 104
Default Re: what kind of external hard drive for protools ?

anybody ?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-13-2009, 05:53 AM
Nick Camaron Nick Camaron is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Somewhere in the vicinity of Alpha Centauri, MW
Posts: 81
Default Re: what kind of external hard drive for protools ?

You probably wouldn't want anything less than 7200rpm..
On Brands there are as many opinions as users exist.
I can tell you that I like "Avastor", "Western Digital My Book Studio". As well I never had bad experiences with the small pocket drives by Lacie.
Others will tell you all of them suck..
So it´s up to you..
There is no guarantee that the best rated harddrive will go bust..
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-14-2009, 05:40 AM
metascanner metascanner is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 104
Default Re: what kind of external hard drive for protools ?

ok ty for your answer m8te ...
i was only wondering if i had any interest to use 15000 rpm hard drive ...
would be curious to have feedback on those stuff ....
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-14-2009, 06:55 AM
Shifted Music's Avatar
Shifted Music Shifted Music is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: San Francisco
Posts: 849
Default Re: what kind of external hard drive for protools ?

well I use glyph externals... but I don't use externals for my audio drive. I have an internal raptor drive 10K... the newer velociraptor drive would be great with Pro tools... it would put it in a good case to get the full benefit... which external case is the best??? I an not sure. I also have a few Granite Digital cases. Old school digital audio company, known to be robust, powerful, run cool, but not cheap... like a hundred bucks per case vs the 30 deals you can find... Maybe there are other good cases. . . but after 3 Lacies went bad on me 2 in the same month I am still not over the shock and stick with the best i can afford...

Roctstor seems very good for the price point. I think if running audio was my goal, off an external i would choose glyph. They are very well aware of pro tools and qualify and test the drives with it. I think thats rare.

I would personally use and internal Velociraptor for audio... expensive drive. . but no case so if you were gonna a get a good reliable case then internal is about a hundred bucks cheaper... Glyph external vs Velociraptor internal... Still Velociraptor internal for me...
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-14-2009, 12:59 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: nashville
Posts: 27,416
Default Re: what kind of external hard drive for protools ?

I have seen plenty of reports that ultra-fast drives(10K and up) offer no performance increase with Protools. I agree that the Glyph drives are among the best available but they are pretty pricey. My next recommended choice are the OWC Mercury Elite series and they are available with either FW400 AND FW800, or 2x FW400 ports. 7200 RPM is recommended(and any slower is absolutely NOT recommended). There are also some Bytec cases with the Oxford chipset for loading in your own drives(OWC has empty cases too).
__________________
Gigabyte GA-EX58A-UD3R, Intel i7 950, 12 gig Corsair DDR3, PNY GeForce 210, HD/Native, HD IO, 192 IO, PT10HD, preamps from Vintech, Five Fish Audio, Focusrite and Midas..............................
http://www.myspace.com/cswstudio
www.capricornsoundworks.com

The cool thing about digital is; there's 4 ways to do everything. The bad thing about digital is; there's 4 ways to...........

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 03-16-2009, 09:21 AM
metascanner metascanner is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 104
Default Re: what kind of external hard drive for protools ?

wow
guys your infos are great !
i didn't know glyph and the other one ...
it looks very pro ...
i was about to buy this ; Western Digital My Book Studio Edition II 2 To
do you think , glyph will be faster and manage more audio tracks at the same time ?
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 03-16-2009, 09:17 PM
Shifted Music's Avatar
Shifted Music Shifted Music is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: San Francisco
Posts: 849
Default Re: what kind of external hard drive for protools ?

if the oxford bridge chips are the same and drive seek/read/write times are the same then the only difference is the case. .

I don't think the glyph would necessarily be faster. . .but the one thing about them is they test the glyphs with protools and the cases are real reliable and although I have not needed to deal with them. . the customer service I have heard is excellent.

they are more expensive.

I switched from a lacie 500 big disk extreme i think it was a couple years ago. and imediately noticed a speed difference. it was my syatem drive so it was easy to notice (I startup from a external glyph at the studio I work out of)

but for an audio drive I doubt you would notice the speed...

I just really like the solidness of the case, firewire controller, powersupply, no external power supply that is. . just a regular power cable like most other pro gear.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 04-15-2009, 01:38 PM
srslab srslab is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Aurora, Colorado
Posts: 117
Default Re: what kind of external hard drive for protools ?

I use a WD Mybook studio edition which works really well.
__________________
James Shelby
SRS Labs
Aurora, Colorado
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 04-23-2009, 12:15 AM
chrisdee's Avatar
chrisdee chrisdee is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Trondheim, Norway
Posts: 2,610
Default Re: what kind of external hard drive for protools ?

I also have a WD MyBook Studio edition FW400 (cost about $140). I don't like the crackle sound it sometime is making when using PT8. Sounds like it's getting overloaded, but other than that it works ok.

But I would imagin either using a eSATA or an second internal SATA/SSD drive would be the best/faster alternative. Maby FW is becoming outdated, or what do you think Digidesign ?
__________________
Christian D Hagen Pro Tools Reference Guide | PT11 system requirements| I7 Builds
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
External Hard Drive problems with Protools shameusf Pro Tools Software (Mac) 4 02-19-2013 05:58 PM
Installing protools to external hard drive Lonald 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 04-16-2007 11:03 AM
I need a external hard drive for my protools le 7 dubground 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 07-22-2006 12:59 PM
external hard drive with protools 6.8.1 hboy 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 4 03-12-2006 05:47 AM
protools and external hard drive punker 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 01-15-2005 09:11 AM


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 12:55 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com