Avid Pro Audio Community




Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post | Community Terms of Use | Avid.com Home Page

Google the Forum | Search Knowledge Base | Search Avid.com

Find Support | Support FAQ | Avid Support How To Video Series

Software Updates, Drivers, Manuals, Compatibility, Optimize, Troubleshoot, etc. (Links)

Please post your message once only to the correct forum
Help us Help You - READ THIS Before Posting!



Pro Tools 11 Information


Avid at AES Los Angeles 2014





Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-03-2009, 09:50 AM
a100man a100man is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Livonia, MI
Posts: 86
Default Pace Register Error 3 PT 8

Hello,

I have a system I've been using with no issues since 6.4, 6.9, 7.0, 7.3. However when I installed PT 8, after rebooted I got the following message
"Pace Resister returned and error. Error #3". Then Protools will not launch and reports a runtime error.

I've tried updating the ilok drivers, and even did a total re-install of windows, but I continue to get this error.

I can post a sandra report if that would be helpful, but what I'd really like to know is what the Pace Register Error #3 means so that I can troubleshoot what's going on. Anyone know?

Thanks,
Greg
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-03-2009, 10:39 AM
Premo Premo is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 585
Default Re: Pace Register Error 3 PT 8

Are you on an AMD Processor?
Alot of people have been having that error and not sure what the solution is other than reformat your drive and start fresh with just the OS and PT is the only thing I've seen 2 people get past that error. Or some people were using unsupported chipset/processor combos and some of them have stopped working apparently in PT 8. Digi doesn't test any AMDs anymore btw

Sandra report would probably help everyone help you. They are still trying to collect info on this error.
__________________

Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-03-2009, 01:44 PM
a100man a100man is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Livonia, MI
Posts: 86
Default Re: Pace Register Error 3 PT 8

I do indeed have an AMD Athlon XP processor. Here's the full report:


SiSoftware Sandra

System
Host Name : DIGI002
User : Gregory Dreslinski
Workgroup : WORKGROUP

Processor
Model : AMD Athlon(tm) XP 3000+
Speed : 2.17GHz
Model Number : 3000 (estimated)
Cores per Processor : 1 Unit(s)
Threads per Core : 1 Unit(s)
Internal Data Cache : 64kB, Synchronous, Write-Back, 2-way set, 64 byte line size
L2 On-board Cache : 512kB, ECC, Synchronous, Write-Back, 16-way set, 64 byte line size

System
System : eMachines Product Name
Mainboard : First International Computer, Inc. AU31
Bus(es) : ISA AGP PCI USB FireWire/1394 i2c/SMBus
Multi-Processor (MP) Support : No
Multi-Processor Advanced PIC (APIC) : No
System BIOS : Phoenix Technologies, LTD TCB427G
Total Memory : 2GB DDR-SDRAM

Chipset 1
Model : Nvidia Corp nForce2 AGP Controller
Front Side Bus Speed : 2x 167MHz (334MHz data rate)
Total Memory : 2GB DDR-SDRAM
Memory Bus Speed : 2x 167MHz (334MHz data rate)

Video System
Desktop Monitors/Panels : 2
Monitor/Panel : Dell D1028L
Monitor/Panel : SyncMaster 793DF/793MB
Adapter : RADEON 7000 / RADEON VE Family (Microsoft Corporation)

Physical Storage Devices
WDC WD1600BB-22FTA0 (ATA) : 149GB (C:) (G:)
ST3300622A (ATA) : 279GB (F:)
eM Bay Reader (USB) : N/A (H:)
eM Bay Reader (USB) : N/A (I:)
eM Bay Reader (USB) : N/A (J:)
eM Bay Reader (USB) : N/A (K:)
_NEC DVD_RW ND-2500A (ATAPI) : N/A (D:)
LITE-ON CD-ROM LTN-487T (ATAPI) : N/A (E:)

Logical Storage Devices
DIGI002 (C:) : 80GB (48GB, 60% Free Space) (NTFS) @ WDC WD1600BB-22FTA0 (ATA)
Audio (F:) : 279GB (154GB, 55% Free Space) (NTFS) @ ST3300622A (ATA)
CD-ROM/DVD (D:) : N/A @ _NEC DVD_RW ND-2500A (ATAPI)
CD-ROM/DVD (E:) : N/A @ LITE-ON CD-ROM LTN-487T (ATAPI)
Removable Drive (H:) : N/A @ eM Bay Reader (USB)
Removable Drive (I:) : N/A @ eM Bay Reader (USB)
Removable Drive (J:) : N/A @ eM Bay Reader (USB)
Removable Drive (K:) : N/A @ eM Bay Reader (USB)
PTREF (G:) : 69GB (69GB, 100% Free Space) (NTFS) @ WDC WD1600BB-22FTA0 (ATA)

Peripherals
Serial/Parallel Port(s) : 3 COM / 1 LPT
USB Controller/Hub : Standard OpenHCD USB Host Controller
USB Controller/Hub : Standard OpenHCD USB Host Controller
USB Controller/Hub : Standard Enhanced PCI to USB Host Controller
USB Controller/Hub : USB Root Hub
USB Controller/Hub : USB Root Hub
USB Controller/Hub : USB Root Hub
USB Controller/Hub : USB Mass Storage Device
USB Controller/Hub : Generic USB Hub
USB Controller/Hub : USB Mass Storage Device
FireWire/1394 Controller/Hub : Texas Instruments OHCI Compliant IEEE 1394 Host Controller
Bluetooth Device : Microsoft Bluetooth Enumerator
Bluetooth Device : Microsoft Wireless Transceiver for Bluetooth 2.0
Keyboard : Standard 101/102-Key or Microsoft Natural PS/2 Keyboard
Keyboard : HID Keyboard Device
Keyboard : Microsoft Keyboard Elite for Bluetooth (IntelliType Pro)
Mouse : Microsoft USB IntelliMouse Optical (IntelliPoint)
Mouse : HID-compliant mouse
Mouse : Microsoft IntelliMouse Explorer for Bluetooth (IntelliPoint)
Human Interface : Bluetooth HID Device
Human Interface : Bluetooth HID Device
Human Interface : HID-compliant consumer control device
Human Interface : HID-compliant consumer control device
Human Interface : HID-compliant consumer control device
Human Interface : HID-compliant device
Human Interface : HID-compliant consumer control device
Human Interface : HID-compliant consumer control device
Human Interface : HID-compliant consumer control device
Human Interface : HID-compliant consumer control device
Human Interface : Microsoft USB IntelliMouse Optical
Human Interface : USB Human Interface Device
Human Interface : USB Human Interface Device

MultiMedia Device(s)
Device : NVIDIA(R) nForce(TM) Audio Codec Interface
Device : NVIDIA(R) nForce(TM) MCP Audio Processing Unit (Dolby(R) Digital)

Communication Device(s)
Device : Standard Modem over Bluetooth link
Device : PCI SoftV92 Data Fax Modem with SmartCP

Network Printers
Model : \\BIOSTAR\Samsung ML-1740 Series

Power Management
Mains (AC) Line Status : On-Line

Operating System(s)
Windows System : Microsoft Windows XP (2002) Home 5.01.2600 (Service Pack 2)
Platform Compliance : Win32 x86

Network Services
Adapter : NVIDIA nForce MCP Networking Controller
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-04-2009, 05:10 AM
Your2Eyeballs Your2Eyeballs is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 13
Default Re: Pace Register Error 3 PT 8

Hello,
did you downloaded the application, or upgraded via DVD?
Take a look into this thread: http://duc.digidesign.com/showthread.php?t=234832
For me the DVD- installer solved all the problems.
Cheers
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-04-2009, 06:42 AM
kdarbyshirebryant kdarbyshirebryant is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Hampshire, UK
Posts: 748
Default Re: Pace Register Error 3 PT 8

Quote:
Originally Posted by Premo View Post
Are you on an AMD Processor?
Alot of people have been having that error and not sure what the solution is other than reformat your drive and start fresh with just the OS and PT is the only thing I've seen 2 people get past that error. Or some people were using unsupported chipset/processor combos and some of them have stopped working apparently in PT 8. Digi doesn't test any AMDs anymore btw

Sandra report would probably help everyone help you. They are still trying to collect info on this error.
Well you can add another person to that list. Downloaded PT8 upgrade - worked a charm on the laptop, failed on the AMD based desktop in exactly the way a100man describes.

I'll post a sandra report ASAP. I'd really like to know if a DVD based install really does work. And presumably I'd have to purchase said DVD too, which is frustrating after being entitled to the free download upgrade.

Kevin
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-04-2009, 08:41 AM
a100man a100man is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Livonia, MI
Posts: 86
Default Re: Pace Register Error 3 PT 8

Yes I downloaded my copy of PT. I will look into acquiring a DVD unless someone says it didn't work for them...
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-04-2009, 09:32 AM
sunburst79's Avatar
sunburst79 sunburst79 is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Cleveland, Ohio USA
Posts: 12,787
Default Re: Pace Register Error 3 PT 8

I have a Athlon64 3200+ machine with a VIA chipset I will check this on.
__________________
Scott

Formerly Hobo Wan Kenobi

Core 2 Specs Page

ASUS P6T6 Revolution | i7 930 | 12GB OCZ DDR3 1600 7-7-7-20 | PTLE 10 | CPTK | 003 | Presonus D8 | 11Rack | Alesis AI3 | Presonus HP60 | Mercury + Studio Classics | Sound Toys | MasseyPack | Axiom61 | MAudio Keystation Pro 88
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 01-04-2009, 10:03 AM
AndyJCP AndyJCP is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 313
Default Re: Pace Register Error 3 PT 8

This is probably related to the Athlon XP processors.

See this thread:
http://duc.digidesign.com/showthread.php?t=234575
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 01-05-2009, 05:39 AM
Your2Eyeballs Your2Eyeballs is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 13
Default Re: Pace Register Error 3 PT 8

Well, I´m on an Intel Pentium M, but as I said it: the errors were gone as I used the InstallerDVD.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 01-06-2009, 11:57 AM
a100man a100man is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Livonia, MI
Posts: 86
Default Re: Pace Register Error 3 PT 8

Digi, any progress on this?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
PT 9: Won't Launch + Pace Error yeluhz_strongs Pro Tools 9 Discussion 37 04-12-2011 05:04 PM
Pace Register Error during reboot after fresh install of PT 8 DeyBwah 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 03-14-2010 05:23 PM
TPkd error & pace error trying to install that too rost 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 8 05-04-2008 05:13 PM
Pace error PTLE6.1.1 gonzolagonda 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 09-30-2003 06:12 AM
PACE System files error Plinio 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 6 01-06-2003 11:47 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:18 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com