Avid Pro Audio Community




Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post | Community Terms of Use | Avid.com Home Page

Google the Forum | Search Knowledge Base | Search Avid.com

Find Support | Support FAQ | Avid Support How To Video Series

Software Updates, Drivers, Manuals, Compatibility, Optimize, Troubleshoot, etc. (Links)

Please post your message once only to the correct forum
Help us Help You - READ THIS Before Posting!



Pro Tools 11 Information









Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-30-2008, 10:08 PM
jonw jonw is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: PNW
Posts: 7
Default 003 LE hangs says 003 offline

SiSoftware Sandra
System
Host Name : FRODIUS
User : bert
Workgroup : WORKGROUP
Processor
Model : Intel(R) Core(TM)2 CPU 6600 @ 2.40GHz
Speed : 2.40GHz
Cores per Processor : 2 Unit(s)
Threads per Core : 1 Unit(s)
Type : Dual-Core
Internal Data Cache : 2x 32kB, Synchronous, Write-Thru, 8-way, 64 byte line size
L2 On-board Cache : 4MB, ECC, Synchronous, ATC, 16-way, 64 byte line size, 2 threads sharing
System
System : System manufacturer System Product Name
Mainboard : ASUSTeK Computer INC. P5B
Bus(es) : ISA PCI PCIe IMB USB FireWire/1394 i2c/SMBus
Multi-Processor (MP) Support : No
Multi-Processor Advanced PIC (APIC) : Yes
System BIOS : American Megatrends Inc. 1803
Total Memory : 2.94GB DIMM DDR2
Chipset
Model : ASUS P5B
Front Side Bus Speed : 4x 267MHz (1.07GHz)
Total Memory : 4GB DIMM DDR2
Memory Bus Speed : 2x 267MHz (534MHz)
Video System
Adapter : NVIDIA GeForce 6600 (256MB DDR, 351MHz/2x501MHz, PCIe 1.00 x16, PS3.0, VS3.0)
Storage Devices
ST3808110AS 80GB (SATA150, 3.5", NCQ, 8MB Cache) : 75GB (D:)
ST3250620AS 250GB (SATA150, 3.5", NCQ, 16MB Cache) : 233GB (E:)
ST3320620NS 320GB (SATA150, 3.5", NCQ, 16MB Cache) : 298GB (C:)
PLEXTOR DVDR PX-760A (ATA66, DVD+-RW, CD-RW, 2MB Cache) : N/A (F:)
Logical Storage Devices
Hard Disk (D:) : 75GB (NTFS) @ ST3808110AS 80GB (SATA150, 3.5", NCQ, 8MB Cache)
music (E:) : 233GB (NTFS) @ ST3250620AS 250GB (SATA150, 3.5", NCQ, 16MB Cache)
Hard Disk (C:) : 96GB (NTFS) @ ST3320620NS 320GB (SATA150, 3.5", NCQ, 16MB Cache)
CD-ROM/DVD (F:) : N/A @ PLEXTOR DVDR PX-760A (ATA66, DVD+-RW, CD-RW, 2MB Cache)
3.5" 1.44MB (A:) : N/A
Peripherals
LPC Hub Controller 1 : ASUS P5B
Audio Device : ASUS P5B
Audio Codec : Analog Devices 1988h
Serial Port(s) : 1
Parallel Port(s) : 1
Disk Controller : ASUS 82801H (ICH8 Family) 4 port SATA Controller
Disk Controller : ASUS 82801H (ICH8 Family) 2 port SATA Controller
Disk Controller : ASUS JMB36X PCIE-to-SATAII/IDE RAID Controller
USB Controller 1 : ASUS P5B
USB Controller 2 : ASUS P5B
USB Controller 3 : ASUS P5B
USB Controller 4 : ASUS P5B
USB Controller 5 : ASUS P5B
USB Controller 6 : ASUS P5B
USB Controller 7 : ASUS P5B
FireWire/1394 Controller 1 : ADS Technologies TSB43AB23 1394a-2000 OHCI PHY/link-layer Controller
System SMBus Controller 1 : Intel 801xx/63xx SMBus
Network Services
Network Adapter : Linksys Wireless-G PCI Adapter - Packet Scheduler Miniport (Ethernet, 54Mbps)
Power Management
Mains (AC) Line Status : On-Line
Operating System(s)
Windows System : Microsoft Windows XP (2002) Professional 5.01.2600 (Service Pack 3)
Platform Compliance : x86


thank you for any help :)
__________________
003 factory
MOTU midi express XT
midi Guitar (Godin, gi-20, VG-99)
roland fantom, V-synth & 700sx
PC XP
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-30-2008, 10:09 PM
jonw jonw is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: PNW
Posts: 7
Default Re: 003 LE hangs says 003 offline

here is my trouble shooting effort:

Hi Folks,

I have
003 Factory on XP SP2 (and tried sp3) and current on MS updates.

getting frustrated with PT 7.3cs (7.4 too). After 8 months of everything working fine....

...PT quit working one day. when i restarted PT it said "unable to locate digidesign hardware". rebooted, same thing. (obviously the 003 was powered on).

Unistall PT completely (option 3 with drivers etc). reinstall being very carefull to follow directions (wait till new HDWE found etc msg).

same result.

Bought an MBOX pro. same result.

Bought new hard drive so i could freshly and minimally install XP SP2, no AV, no video drivers (Microsoft 800x600 VGA only). FRESH install of 003 factory from the original CD.

same result.
Complete unstall again of PT 7.3
Remove my SIIG PCIe card (note this card was being detected by the OS fine), and installed brand new ADS PYRO PCI 62R2 card with new Firewire cable.

Install fresh 7.3 from original cd per instructions.

with 003 powered up, start PT and it makes it far enough to ask for the cd code.

enter code and I'M IN!!!

Not quite. create a new PT session with one audio track, click on the play transport control and get immediate message about a probelm with the clock. Click File to save the session and PT hangs. I look at the 003 and the HOST 1394 light is lit. XP end task out

Try again (reboot, power up 003, start PT) now i get DAE -1115 error. Power off 003.

completely uninstall PT 7.3 again using option 3, reboot, power up 003, reinstall PT7.3 and for grins install 7.3.1cs (i believe) which is what i was originally on. reboot.

turn on 003, start PT, - works (not quite). this time i notice that the oo3 still says "003 Offline" even though i have PT running. create new session, add audio file, try to save - it hangs.

so i am completely stumped. by the way i spent 2 hours with pro acess line last week working thru the original issue on the original hard drive. we got to the point where i suggested a new XP build, stripped (no AV etc) and retry.

one other oddity, sometimes it had prompted me with "the 003 fader has firmware 7.3.0.118 which does not match the current fader firmware v 7.4.0.309" this happened on one attempt where i installed 7.4 PT UG. i decided to eliminate that from the troubleshooting effort and went back to the original 7.3 cd which had worked fine before.

do i have a bad 003?
__________________
003 factory
MOTU midi express XT
midi Guitar (Godin, gi-20, VG-99)
roland fantom, V-synth & 700sx
PC XP
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-30-2008, 10:51 PM
sunburst79's Avatar
sunburst79 sunburst79 is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Cleveland, Ohio USA
Posts: 12,787
Default Re: 003 LE hangs says 003 offline

Both your FW cards should have approved chips unless the manufacturers have changed the specs (which has happened before) you might want to eyeball the actual boards and determine tha actual FW chips.

I take it your running a base model P5B without any on board FW?

You might look at the IRQ assignments for your board and make sure the slot you have the PCI FW board is not sharing a IRQ or that its not sharing a IRQ with another device thats likely to have a conflict with 003. This info is in your motherboard guide. Basically if its not working in one PCI slot you might want to try a different one.

Have you substituted a known good FW cable between the 003 and the computer? Cables go bad-even new ones.

Last but not least FW is treated by XP as a networking protocol you might want to make sure that any Anti virus or Firewall programs are turned off and that the port is not firewalled.


I think I would be running the very latest version of PT and the the latest firmware on the 003 if I was trying to trouble shoot things
__________________
Scott

Formerly Hobo Wan Kenobi

Core 2 Specs Page

ASUS P6T6 Revolution | i7 930 | 12GB OCZ DDR3 1600 7-7-7-20 | PTLE 10 | CPTK | 003 | Presonus D8 | 11Rack | Alesis AI3 | Presonus HP60 | Mercury + Studio Classics | Sound Toys | MasseyPack | Axiom61 | MAudio Keystation Pro 88
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-31-2008, 03:50 PM
jonw jonw is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: PNW
Posts: 7
Default Re: 003 LE hangs says 003 offline

Thanks sunburst. I realzed that i made a mistake in my original description of the issue.

The mbox pro did work which indicated to me that my IRQ's etc were fine (and probably the SIIG firewire card too)
__________________
003 factory
MOTU midi express XT
midi Guitar (Godin, gi-20, VG-99)
roland fantom, V-synth & 700sx
PC XP
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-31-2008, 03:52 PM
jonw jonw is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: PNW
Posts: 7
Default Re: 003 LE hangs says 003 offline

another call today with Pro Access Line. They feel the 003 is defective so i have boxed it up for a repair.
__________________
003 factory
MOTU midi express XT
midi Guitar (Godin, gi-20, VG-99)
roland fantom, V-synth & 700sx
PC XP
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11-08-2008, 11:33 AM
jonw jonw is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: PNW
Posts: 7
Default Re: 003 LE hangs says 003 offline

UPdate:

003 was bad. sent back (under warranty) to Digi. VERY quick turnaround. Had defective Firewire components ("diode shorted 3.3V D4, D5)

was shipped back to me within 48 hours. works fine now. Very good service.

wish they had some self diagnostic on the 003 unit that would just tell the user there is a hardware problem on the 003. would have saved my hours and hours of effort ruling out the computer etc.
__________________
003 factory
MOTU midi express XT
midi Guitar (Godin, gi-20, VG-99)
roland fantom, V-synth & 700sx
PC XP
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
C24 offline... help! Jamalar ICON & C|24 3 01-15-2012 11:56 AM
C24 is offline Molchoon ICON & C|24 5 07-28-2010 05:10 AM
C8 OFFLINE in LE7 on XP, but OK in LE6.4 CHD ProControl, Control|24, Command|8 0 03-28-2007 05:53 PM
New in 5.2.1 -> Offline.tmp ?? dkrausz 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 08-26-2002 03:55 AM
HUI goes offline w/USB Alfanan Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 9 01-30-2001 10:35 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:39 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com