Avid Pro Audio Community




Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post | Community Terms of Use | Avid.com Home Page

Google the Forum | Search Knowledge Base | Search Avid.com

Find Support | Support FAQ | Avid Support How To Video Series

Software Updates, Drivers, Manuals, Compatibility, Optimize, Troubleshoot, etc. (Links)

Please post your message once only to the correct forum
Help us Help You - READ THIS Before Posting!



Pro Tools 11 Information









Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-12-2008, 10:44 AM
JonesH JonesH is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Sweden
Posts: 147
Default Compacting sessions

Hi!
I hope this hasn't been asked too many times before.
I want to compact my session; I've done all edits and such so now I want to select all my regions and compact them into sound files so that I can throw away all the leftover parts from the audio files.

This should be simple, I expected and selected all (active regions); trying the compact command on all selected regions with a padding setting of 1 s. This produced remarkably little results. The regions are still only part-regions of larger sound file regions wich I can't delete for obvious reasons.

What am I doing wrong? Thank you.
__________________
I just wanna do engineering...

(as opposed to make music :/ )
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-12-2008, 11:13 AM
Slim Shady Slim Shady is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 7,528
Default Re: Compacting sessions

You're using the wrong command. You want to consolidate the audio, not do the compacting thing. Once all tracks are consolidated, you can then remove/delete the old/unused smaller regions from the region bin.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-12-2008, 11:39 AM
JonesH JonesH is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Sweden
Posts: 147
Default Re: Compacting sessions

Yes, that would have been the obvious solution, but I want to be able to adjust my fades afterwards, not print automation and fades to audio and so on. Surely there is a way to do this?
Or do I have to manually consolidate every region and then delete the other regions?
__________________
I just wanna do engineering...

(as opposed to make music :/ )
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Compacting .wav files Reckless Erik Pro Tools Post & Surround 0 02-10-2006 05:11 AM
Mess after compacting jofromabove 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 4 10-06-2005 05:27 PM
compacting error Ale Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 4 09-13-2002 08:10 AM
Compacting Files rfreeman 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 4 08-21-2002 10:49 AM
Compacting and cleaning up sessions? Skwaidu Tips & Tricks 16 08-05-2001 08:47 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:09 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com