Avid Pro Audio Community




Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post | Community Terms of Use | Avid.com Home Page

Google the Forum | Search Knowledge Base | Search Avid.com

Find Support | Support FAQ | Avid Support How To Video Series

Software Updates, Drivers, Manuals, Compatibility, Optimize, Troubleshoot, etc. (Links)

Please post your message once only to the correct forum
Help us Help You - READ THIS Before Posting!



Pro Tools 11 Information


Avid at AES Los Angeles 2014





Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-18-2008, 06:00 AM
Irenaus Irenaus is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 2
Default 1394 led light blinks on 002

Protools LE 7.0 can not establish a connection with the digi 002 because the green 1394 led light on the 002 is blinking. In the past when I had a Mac G4, I fixed this problem by resetting open firmware using the following procedure.

[Quote]
Restart the computer, and at the boot chime, press and hold Command (Apple Key) + Option + O (the letter, not a zero) + F.
When you see a kind of gray screen with the words "Welcome to Open Firmware" in the upper left corner, release the keys.
At the prompt, type in the following - lowercase with no spaces, and no quotes: "reset-all" then hit Return.
The machine will automatically reboot. (from DUC 09/12/2003)

Currently I am using a Macbook Pro 2 gig with Tiger 10.4.11. The above procedure for resetting firmware does not work on macbook pro. (Several posts on DUC inform me that macbook pro will work with protools if it runs with tiger.) I think the problem here is there is not a consistent connection between the 002 and the FW 400 port on macbk pro.

I have

1. called Apple Care to ask how to reset open firmware. They told me to call digidesign.
2. Searched the DUC for "connection with 002" "1394 led light blinks" and "reset open firmware" and did not find anything
related.

I there a way to reset firmware on Macbk pro?

Is there another way to stop the blinking 1394 on the 002 to establish a sound connection?

Thanks,

Irenaus
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-18-2008, 07:03 AM
sunburst79's Avatar
sunburst79 sunburst79 is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Cleveland, Ohio USA
Posts: 12,787
Default Re: 1394 led light blinks on 002

Can you try it on another computer? It may very well be a bad power harness in the 002 or a bad FW cable.
__________________
Scott

Formerly Hobo Wan Kenobi

Core 2 Specs Page

ASUS P6T6 Revolution | i7 930 | 12GB OCZ DDR3 1600 7-7-7-20 | PTLE 10 | CPTK | 003 | Presonus D8 | 11Rack | Alesis AI3 | Presonus HP60 | Mercury + Studio Classics | Sound Toys | MasseyPack | Axiom61 | MAudio Keystation Pro 88
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-18-2008, 08:08 AM
Irenaus Irenaus is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 2
Default Re: 1394 led light blinks on 002

Yeah...Your comments reminded me that I replaced the power harness about two years ago. I had one of the 002s that came with a defective power harness, and Digi sent me a new one. The replacment solved the problem for awhile, but the 1394 light eventually started blinking again. I dealt with the problem by resetting firmware.
Before I call Digi again about the power harness, I'll try a different computer and FW cable.

Thanks for the suggestions,

Irenaus
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
003 rack is not connecting. Blinking green light. no HOST 1394 light. ccgascity1 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 6 01-14-2011 12:41 PM
1394 Light Blinks In Win7/64, But Not XP? epu 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 6 11-27-2010 02:49 AM
xp32 bit 1394 Light Blinks goes away freeze at DAE SamuelAdams 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 16 04-16-2010 10:40 AM
1394 Light not WORKING!!! light not coming on at all HELLLPP Shizzle408 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 4 03-24-2009 02:42 PM
1394 light on my Digi 002 Rack blinks and locks up mseans 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 8 10-12-2006 02:20 PM


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 04:23 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com