Avid Pro Audio Community




Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post | Community Terms of Use | Avid.com Home Page

Google the Forum | Search Knowledge Base | Search Avid.com

Find Support | Support FAQ | Avid Support How To Video Series

Software Updates, Drivers, Manuals, Compatibility, Optimize, Troubleshoot, etc. (Links)

Please post your message once only to the correct forum
Help us Help You - READ THIS Before Posting!



Pro Tools 11 Information


Avid at AES Los Angeles 2014





Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Live Sound > VENUE Live Sound Systems

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-19-2007, 03:50 AM
steph.plisson steph.plisson is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 15
Default Triger sound....

Hi,

I'd like to trig kick sound drum from the kick ch....
How could I'll do?
Thanks

Steph.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-20-2007, 12:10 PM
eddiemapp eddiemapp is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 16
Default Re: Triger sound....

Steph,

You want use an external sampler or drum module to trigger from your original acoustic kick drum, correct?

If so you can send a direct out from the original drum channel out of the FOH rack to your sampler (Make sure your pick off is set to top of channel), then return the triggered signal back to the FOH rack on another channel. The only problem here would be that you're going through two stages of conversion which will introduce latency. If you really wanted you could delay the rest of your drums (using the multi select function) to the triggered samples till they line up.

Another thing to consider is you may want to set your pick off for the direct out to "post insert" this would allow you to gate the signal going to your sampler if necessary.

Otherwise i would look into getting a sampler on stage and triggering directly off of the drum. I think the fastest drum sampling system out ther is still the Ddrum3 which triggers at 1.5ms. This will be faster then going through the console plus you can the split the original trigger signal to another set of inputs and use those to open your acoustic drum gates.

Hope this helps.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-21-2007, 06:28 AM
steph.plisson steph.plisson is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 15
Default Re: Triger sound....

Thanks for your post.
I knew all of this ways, but I'd like to have in the next time of the Venue' Life, the possibility of Insert a kind of sampled plug on the kick ch, and then choose different sound in live situation.... then In this way, you won't have the Latency, and it'll be so great.... But Digi has to work....
See you!!
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-13-2007, 11:40 AM
mixFarm mixFarm is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 38
Default Re: Triger sound....

hi stphen,

the turnaround is this:

1. www.drumagog.com download the MAC OSX installer, valid for 14 days.
2. Put the FireWire extension card in your venue
3. Connect your Labtop with Protools LE 7 to the port and create an in/out Scenario (Direct out to protools and back to the console)
4. put the playback engine to 128 Sample Buffer (Latency!!)
5. ENJOY

that works! the better way would be for us to form a group to get Drumagog put that plug into TDM!! i use it in the studio and it is brilliant!! i already wrote them an e-mail.

have fun

B.O.D.O.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Mbox Pro 3 master volume knob initial adjust jumps from no sound to sound : | Focuret 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 11-17-2012 05:45 PM
Audacity Sound, Reaper Sound, Pro Tools NO SOUND RoganX Pro Tools 10 Discussion 3 03-18-2012 09:06 PM
MIDI seq in PE 8,to triger Roland module? vlakanas MIDI 10 02-22-2010 02:07 PM
MBox2Pro - Boot:No Sound; Disconnect/Reconnect Firewire: Get Sound; Why? mav9999 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 06-23-2009 08:48 PM
Skywalker Sound (Lucasfilm) Supervising Sound Editor Interview HDFilmtools Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 0 10-02-2008 03:12 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:51 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com