Avid Pro Audio Community




Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post | Community Terms of Use | Avid.com Home Page

Google the Forum | Search Knowledge Base | Search Avid.com

Find Support | Support FAQ | Avid Support How To Video Series

Software Updates, Drivers, Manuals, Compatibility, Optimize, Troubleshoot, etc. (Links)

Please post your message once only to the correct forum
Help us Help You - READ THIS Before Posting!



Pro Tools 11 Information


Avid at AES Los Angeles 2014





Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-05-2007, 11:38 AM
donrey donrey is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 103
Default AES to Mbox 2 Pro Spdif

Does anyone know the easiest/best way to bring in an AES signal to an Mbox 2 pro. I've been researching and it seems like I should be able to connect a Digital XLR to RCA cable. However, I have been reluctant to test it out in fear that it will damage the Mbox 2 Pro. Any ideas? suggestions? anyone got this working? would it be best just to buy one of those HOSA AES to Spidif signal converters?

I am attempting to bring in the AES signal from a Liquid channel to an Mbox 2 Pro. We currently use the liquid channel via AES on an HD system through the 192 and we are more than happy with the LC's converters. I believe I should be able to get the same quality from the Mbox 2 pro if I'm able to bring in the signal digitally bypassing the Mbox 2 pro's A/D converters.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-05-2007, 12:28 PM
letrev's Avatar
letrev letrev is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Staten Island, NY US
Posts: 558
Default Re: AES to Mbox 2 Pro Spdif

You can use AES to S/PDIF adapters. I purchased one a while back in order to connect my Mbox to a Benchmark DAC. Works fine.
__________________
************
Steven Vertel
Mixing / Mastering Engineer
High Rock Records & Studio
NYC

http://highrockrecords.com
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-05-2007, 01:04 PM
donrey donrey is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 103
Default Re: AES to Mbox 2 Pro Spdif

can you tell me which adapter you purchased and where it was purchased? I have seen that HOSA makes a box but I'm looking at other options.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-06-2007, 06:04 AM
Bugly Bugly is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 215
Default Re: AES to Mbox 2 Pro Spdif

just make up a lead
XLR to spdif
done it a million times
go for it
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Mbox 2 Pro Spdif davidlestudios 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 02-19-2009 06:39 PM
mbox spdif nivelle2000 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 11-21-2006 11:53 AM
spdif out on audigy to spdif in on mbox? CrAkD 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 6 01-06-2006 08:48 AM
Mbox and Spdif I/O Thresholdproductions 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 02-20-2004 06:01 PM
using spdif with mbox wrangler 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 3 01-06-2004 01:29 PM


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 12:55 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com