Avid Pro Audio Community




Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post | Community Terms of Use | Avid.com Home Page

Google the Forum | Search Knowledge Base | Search Avid.com

Find Support | Support FAQ | Avid Support How To Video Series

Software Updates, Drivers, Manuals, Compatibility, Optimize, Troubleshoot, etc. (Links)

Please post your message once only to the correct forum
Help us Help You - READ THIS Before Posting!



Pro Tools 11 Information









Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-22-2006, 07:13 AM
Greene Greene is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 217
Default Avalon 737 and Vocals

Anyone using the 737 sp for lead oor background vocals? What are some of your settings? Mics used?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-22-2006, 08:09 AM
Lee Blaske Lee Blaske is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 1970
Location: Minneapolis, MN U.S.A.
Posts: 3,645
Default Re: Avalon 737 and Vocals

I've had good luck with this. I usually use a Neumann TLM170, M149 or AKG 414. Normally, I won't do any compression. EQ wise, I don't do anything radical, maybe a little boost up around 10k and possibly cutting out some of the low mids. For female vocalists, I'll switch in the low cut. Settings are really going to depend on the mic and the voice, so there can be no hard and fast rules.

Lee Blaske
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-22-2006, 09:14 AM
PTUser NYC PTUser NYC is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: New York, NY USA
Posts: 996
Default Re: Avalon 737 and Vocals

Hey Lee,

I notice that you're using some bright mics there. You and I have disagreed (very civily I might add) about the 737. My main gripe is that its too dark or mushy. Maybe this pairs well with the brighter mics you use.

I like a U87 into a 1073 for example. Is this an example of a darker mic and an edgier pre, while you may favor a brighter mic, and a more rounded pre?

Hmm.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-22-2006, 09:55 AM
mixer mixer is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: ft.lauderdale fl. usa
Posts: 705
Default Re: Avalon 737 and Vocals

use it all the time over the neve with u87s or a brauner...don't find it to dark. but i think these units vary and of coarse so do mics..i love mine for vocals.. very little compression usually set to 3 or 4 fast attack ( which is slow on these anyway) and slow release. no eq do use the high pass filter. gary vandy audio production
__________________
www.garyvandy.com
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-22-2006, 11:16 AM
LeGato LeGato is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 307
Default Re: Avalon 737 and Vocals

I've had good results with the M149. A lot of people use FET mics (like U87 fet) with Tube pre's but the 149 seems to pair pretty well for a tube mic. Plus 2-4 db @10k roll off -2 @ 100-150hz, some other variances but it also depends on the voice. The compression depends on how the singer sings but usually kept light. I've used the M149 with my Neve but prefer the Avalon for vocals, acoustic guitars is a different story though. I'd go with the U87 FET if you are going to rent the mic, you'll save a few bucks and get decent results.

RS
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08-22-2006, 11:18 AM
ProTooler ProTooler is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: East Coast
Posts: 355
Default Re: Avalon 737 and Vocals

I've had some success with a U-87 into the 737, light compression (no more than 3/1 (fairly slow attact, letting many of the initial peaks through, with very little gain reduction, and a slow release), and very light eq, w/ no more than a 2-3db boost of the highs. I've found my 737 to be a little bit brittle in the mids, so i'll lightly cut anywhere from 1.6-3k 1-2 db. The freq. cut depends on the voice of course. I use a very narrow bandwidth for this cut after determining the culprit freq.
BTW - I much prefer going into the Neve or Vintech into either the tubetech cl-b or the distressor for most vocals; but, the question is about the 737, which does have it's place in my studio, and is a good value piece of gear in my opinion. I suggest replacing the tubes on a regular basis.
Hope this helps.
__________________
Have a great day.....
Bill
----------------------
Apple Mac Pro
2.8 ghz Quad Core Intel Xeon
10.7.5 with 10 GB RAM
192 i/o w/ Two 888/24's in Legacy Port
Magma PE6R4 Chassis
C/24 Control Surface
HD 4 Accel, PT 10.3.2
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 08-22-2006, 04:16 PM
mixx mixx is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 87
Default Re: Avalon 737 and Vocals

i find it less than stellar..mushy..il defined
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Settings for Avalon 737sp for vocals runner2 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 09-25-2007 09:17 AM
Anyone about Avalon M5 puremusic 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 07-05-2007 02:36 PM
Breathy vocals and vocals in general rckandorroll Tips & Tricks 3 01-30-2007 11:13 PM
Breathy vocals and vocals in general rckandorroll Tips & Tricks 5 01-30-2007 11:10 PM
Any tips on blending old vocals with new vocals? Somebody Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 5 06-07-2000 08:38 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:44 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com