Avid Pro Audio Community




Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post | Community Terms of Use | Avid.com Home Page

Google the Forum | Search Knowledge Base | Search Avid.com

Find Support | Support FAQ | Avid Support How To Video Series

Software Updates, Drivers, Manuals, Compatibility, Optimize, Troubleshoot, etc. (Links)

Please post your message once only to the correct forum
Help us Help You - READ THIS Before Posting!



Pro Tools 11 Information


Avid at AES Los Angeles 2014





Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-02-2005, 09:48 PM
mBoxLuvr mBoxLuvr is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Canada
Posts: 337
Default Guitar amp line out

Anyone here have any issues with using a guitar amps line out or speaker emulation into Mbox?
Ive only tried one amp so far (Marshall TSL60 head) and so far its been tweak hell.
Im not getting any answers from Marshall or music store with my probs.
Im hoping its not my Mbox, but Ive tested a different Mbox (newer) and it seemed fine. But I didnt spend that much time testing that one.
Some issues I have is whether the Mbox pres can handle distortion from the Marshalls Speaker Emulation. Im getting intermitent audio during recording and playback.
Any experiences will do so please reply with some results. It dont matter what amp you have, I just wanna know if its worth wasting my time over this option.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-02-2005, 10:29 PM
Matt Whritenour Matt Whritenour is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Oak Ridge, New Jersey
Posts: 2,031
Default Re: Guitar amp line out

do u have the amp pluged into a cab at the same time? because as far as i know if there is not a cab hooked up you can screw up ur amp because ur head need's to be able to release the load that it is putting out

you would probalby need something like this
http://www.groovetubes.com/product.cfm?Product_ID=1604
__________________
www.klarityrecordingstudios.com
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-02-2005, 11:04 PM
wolfskin wolfskin is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Chicago, IL, USA
Posts: 447
Default Re: Guitar amp line out

Also note, the line out comes after the preamp section, but before the power tubes of the amplifier... This is going to sound very different than the speaker cabinet. Especially on Marshall amps, the power tubes are what adds the color / flavor to the tone. You would be better suited micing the cabinet. If loud volume is the issue, use a powerbrake, or consider using plug-ins...

Hope this helps...
__________________
Windows XP Pro SP3 & Vista Ultimate SP1 / 002R v8.0 w/ MPT2
AMD X2 4800+ Dual Core / 1000 FSB / 4 GB RAM
www.wolfskinrecords.com
www.voodoopilot.com
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-03-2005, 06:09 AM
mBoxLuvr mBoxLuvr is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Canada
Posts: 337
Default Re: Guitar amp line out

Thanks for the tips folks:)
Yes I have the cab hooked up (I was warned before I left the store with this puppy:).
I do understand about the audio differences with this option, but my problem is that it sounds too way off from a decent guitar amp sound. Sometimes it sounds like an AM Radio losing signal:P
The heads fine on its own. The Mbox seems fine with mics and trs cables straight from instrument.
Also, I live in an apartment and no I cant turn it up as loud as I should
I guess Ill venture into adding Guitar Rig to my mini-studio:)
Thanks again guys for the help:)
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-03-2005, 07:09 AM
cruisemates cruisemates is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 747
Default Re: Guitar amp line out

I've posted this about 4 times lately - it's the complete guide to recording electric guitar in about 200 seperate articles. Lots of good stuff here. I don't know who or why is behind the web site, but it makes great reading . . .

http://www.amptone.com/index.html
__________________
- but the second mouse gets the cheese
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-03-2005, 12:35 PM
rgorka09 rgorka09 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 79
Default Re: Guitar amp line out

Quote:
Thanks for the tips folks:)
Yes I have the cab hooked up (I was warned before I left the store with this puppy:).
I do understand about the audio differences with this option, but my problem is that it sounds too way off from a decent guitar amp sound. Sometimes it sounds like an AM Radio losing signal:P
The heads fine on its own. The Mbox seems fine with mics and trs cables straight from instrument.
Also, I live in an apartment and no I cant turn it up as loud as I should
I guess Ill venture into adding Guitar Rig to my mini-studio:)
Thanks again guys for the help:)
I have used all sorts of amp simulators. Pod Pro, Bass Pod Pro, Pod xt, Bass Pod xt, Sans Amp hardware and software, Amplitube....

You will LOVE Guitar Rig...IMO nothing beats it! Sounds frickin amazing!!

-Gorka
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 03-29-2005, 06:18 AM
mBoxLuvr mBoxLuvr is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Canada
Posts: 337
Default Re: Guitar amp line out <<

Following up on this situation.
We have found the culprit!
It turns out that the original cabinet I purchased (Marshall 1960 greenbacks 25wt each) was faulty somewhere in the ohms/circuitry. This was anoying live cause I had to put the Marshall TSL60 to about 8 just to compete with the other guitarist little 40wt single speaker combo:P
The mbox didnt not like the combo and I discovered that when I took home a rental Marshall 1960A vintage 30s cabinet for some live gigs. The line-out is awesome on PTLE! I really like tones Im getting and its clear as day now:) I still would like to add Guitar Rig, but at the moment Im booked solid every week-end (live gigs) till end of summer:)
Thanks to all who contributed on this matter. luving my mbox again

PTLE 6.7cs8
Dell Precision Workstation 670
Xeon 3GHz/2GG RAM/Nvidia FX3400
PRS SwampAsh
Marshall TSL60/<cabinet pending>
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 03-29-2005, 09:07 AM
cruisemates cruisemates is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 747
Default Re: Guitar amp line out <<

Glad to hear since I just got my Marshall DSL 401 last night (Happy Happy Happy) and it also has a line-out option. I do plan on miking it, to be sure, but if the direct is good I'll try it, too.
__________________
- but the second mouse gets the cheese
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Line In Guitar TOO LOUD toxiccity Pro Tools Software (Win) 2 02-25-2013 10:53 PM
Guitarists: Line 6 POD XT vs. Guitar Rig vs. ? SHC 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 39 09-18-2007 01:54 PM
guitar on which line level? Tombolino 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 04-01-2007 01:14 PM
LINE 6 GUITAR PORT Sweetz 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 03-02-2004 02:32 PM
Line 6 Has A New Guitar To Go With Your POD The Weed 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 24 09-13-2002 12:03 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:31 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com