Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > macOS

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-04-2019, 06:03 PM
NoiseRoom NoiseRoom is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: San Mateo, CA
Posts: 131
Default Maximizing a Mid 2010 Cheese Grater

Hello all,

I still have my mid 2010 Mac Pro and would like to keep using it with Pro Tools. I know many of you are still using these machines and was wondering what your configurations are, what upgrades are reasonably priced and what you'd recommend.

I have an HD Omni with a PCIE card.

Any tips would be helpful.

Thanks in advance.
__________________
the noise room

twitter: @thenoiseroom
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-04-2019, 06:35 PM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 13,427
Default Re: Maximizing a Mid 2010 Cheese Grater

What actual problems are you trying to solve? Otherwise this is just all a likely pointless exercise. What exact errors do you get? What limitations do you run into? What can't you do at all that you want to be able to? What new software do you want to use? etc.

You could help more here by saying what exact configuration, CPU, memory and disk/SSD (make/model/specs and how connected) and what OS and Pro Tools version you are running now now so folks have another way to triangular on what to suggest.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-04-2019, 08:02 PM
Ben Jenssen's Avatar
Ben Jenssen Ben Jenssen is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Oslo
Posts: 3,017
Default Re: Maximizing a Mid 2010 Cheese Grater

Get a PCIe adapter card to hold SSDs, one for boot disk and one for sessions, and have enough RAM, that's a start.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-04-2019, 10:51 PM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 13,427
Default Re: Maximizing a Mid 2010 Cheese Grater

... but which adapter card, PCIe bridge based or not? NVMe or AHCI SSDs... all depends on the OS you want to run.... and what is more justified or needed... memory, storage, CPU or graphics cards upgrades..... nobody here knows.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-05-2019, 04:37 AM
musicman691 musicman691 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Soprano State (NJ)
Posts: 16,555
Default Re: Maximizing a Mid 2010 Cheese Grater

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ben Jenssen View Post
Get a PCIe adapter card to hold SSDs, one for boot disk and one for sessions, and have enough RAM, that's a start.
For the sake of economy this is a good route to go. A good budget solution would be a couple of Samsung 860 EVO's or Pro's on pcie adapter cards and max out the ram. For all but the biggest of uses it'll work and then some. And you won't have the heat load issues you'd have with an NVME setup especially given there's already the pcie card for the Omni.
__________________
Jack
See profile for system details
iMac dead & retired as of 11/4/17

QAPLA!
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 09-05-2019, 06:01 AM
NoiseRoom NoiseRoom is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: San Mateo, CA
Posts: 131
Default Re: Maximizing a Mid 2010 Cheese Grater

Thanks everyone.

I'd like to be running 10.13.6 with the latest version of Pro Tools Ultimate. Right now the only upgrades I've done is adding memory (64 GB).

I understand these machines aren't supported but I also understand that a lot of people are still using them. My goal is to hopefully get a few more years out of the Mac Pro.

And as I re-setup my Mac Pro, I'm just curious if there are any no-brainer upgrades or configurations to achieve this. It sounds like SSDs are one.
__________________
the noise room

twitter: @thenoiseroom
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 09-05-2019, 06:53 AM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is online now
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 16,916
Default Re: Maximizing a Mid 2010 Cheese Grater

Metal compatible GPU is the key if you aim for Mojave
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 09-05-2019, 09:26 AM
musicman691 musicman691 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Soprano State (NJ)
Posts: 16,555
Default Re: Maximizing a Mid 2010 Cheese Grater

Quote:
Originally Posted by OnlineRock View Post
Thanks everyone.

I'd like to be running 10.13.6 with the latest version of Pro Tools Ultimate. Right now the only upgrades I've done is adding memory (64 GB).

I understand these machines aren't supported but I also understand that a lot of people are still using them. My goal is to hopefully get a few more years out of the Mac Pro.

And as I re-setup my Mac Pro, I'm just curious if there are any no-brainer upgrades or configurations to achieve this. It sounds like SSDs are one.
From that 64 gig ram I'm guessing you have a dual cpu model. It would greatly help us if you gave us a full run down on exactly what you have in your computer. Model, cpus, etc. Also what kind of budget are you looking to spend.

While waiting for the above like I said if you want a budget upgrade get a pair of pcie ssd host cards - I use the ones from OWC. I have a Samsung 850 EVO 1 TB ssd on one which is my system drive. That's split into two partitions - one with OSX 10.10.5 and the second with OSX 10.12.6. The first partition is so I can still have PT 11.3.2 on my machine and PT 2019.6 as well on separate boot partitions. Now that 4 TB ssd's have become affordable I plan on moving my samples to one on a pcie card and another 4 TB ssd to host my PT sessions. Right now my sessions & samples are on two WD Black 4 TB 7200 rpm spinners in the drive bays. My system is outlined in my profile.

PM me if you want a little deeper dive and don't want to deal with the forum. I may not get back to you for a couple of days until Hurricane Dorian gets well past NJ. For as strange as that monster has been so far I don't trust what I'm seeing of the computer models on the hurricane tracking sites.
__________________
Jack
See profile for system details
iMac dead & retired as of 11/4/17

QAPLA!
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 09-05-2019, 05:51 PM
NoiseRoom NoiseRoom is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: San Mateo, CA
Posts: 131
Default Re: Maximizing a Mid 2010 Cheese Grater

Quote:
Originally Posted by musicman691 View Post
PM me if you want a little deeper dive
Thanks! I just sent you a message.

Be carful out there :)
__________________
the noise room

twitter: @thenoiseroom
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Upgrading 2010 Mac Pro Cheese-grater video card to RX 580 to enable Mojave update... Justin1524 Pro Tools 2019 6 05-17-2019 10:19 AM
How is Protools 2018 behaving on the 2010 cheese grater Mac? fourthtunz macOS 12 08-21-2018 08:30 AM
macOS 10.14 Mojave and “cheese grater” Mac Pros jsbach Pro Tools 2018 37 06-17-2018 01:50 AM
Best video card for cheese grater Mac and HDX? johnnyv Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) 16 05-09-2017 02:42 PM
BEST CDRW to put in new Cheese Grater? Lee Blaske Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 5 09-13-2002 09:05 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:36 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com