Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Mixing > Pro Tools | S3

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-23-2019, 05:43 AM
supercharge supercharge is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Location: New Milton
Posts: 6
Default S3 crashes when keyboard/mouse plugged in

Hi all
I've just purchased an S3 and Dock combo and they work perfect with my Windows 10 / Cubase 10 setup. Even the Pro Control app on the dock iPad works great with Cubase (which i was told it might not), but when i plug in my keyboard or mouse (or both) into the dedicated USB sockets on the S3 the S3 crashes and reboots itself. Following the reboot, if i move the mouse or touch the keyboard it crashes and reboots again. If i remove them then everything works fine again.
Is there perhaps a setting i'm missing or a special way to boot up in order for this to work correctly? Or maybe these sockets don't work in a windows environment.
Any assistance would be very welcome.
Cheers
__________________
Windows 10 64bit i7 | 64gb ram | Cubase 10 pro
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-23-2019, 01:25 PM
reichman's Avatar
reichman reichman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: New York
Posts: 2,108
Default Re: S3 crashes when keyboard/mouse plugged in

Those ports on the S3 aren’t meant for keyboard and mouse on any platform. Go direct to your CPU.
__________________
Nathaniel Reichman
Supervising Producer – Re-recording Mixer
Dubway Studios
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-23-2019, 01:56 PM
supercharge supercharge is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Location: New Milton
Posts: 6
Default Re: S3 crashes when keyboard/mouse plugged in

Quote:
Originally Posted by reichman View Post
Those ports on the S3 aren’t meant for keyboard and mouse on any platform. Go direct to your CPU.
Thanks for the reply reichman. It's strange because next to the usb sockets it has a picture of a keyboard and mouse with the word 'Only' next to it and on various Youtube reviews they said you can plug your keyboard and mouse into these ports.
I am of course using my standard pc usb ports but figured if that's what they're supposed to be for then they should work.

Do you know what they are meant to be used for?

Cheers
__________________
Windows 10 64bit i7 | 64gb ram | Cubase 10 pro
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-24-2019, 07:53 AM
EddieJones's Avatar
EddieJones EddieJones is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Santa Cruz
Posts: 2,122
Default Re: S3 crashes when keyboard/mouse plugged in

I think these may be for the live version.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-24-2019, 08:09 AM
supercharge supercharge is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Location: New Milton
Posts: 6
Default Re: S3 crashes when keyboard/mouse plugged in

Quote:
Originally Posted by EddieJones View Post
I think these may be for the live version.
Thanks Eddie for your thoughts. I'm sure though, even in a live scenario, the mouse and keyboard must be controlling a computer so it's the same scenario as in the studio.

Also, EuCon has a setting that allows you to transfer your mouse and keyboard to control another workstation and I can't see how that would be possible unless the mouse and keyboard were working through the S3.

I am grateful for your help.
Cheers
__________________
Windows 10 64bit i7 | 64gb ram | Cubase 10 pro
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-26-2019, 12:29 PM
EddieJones's Avatar
EddieJones EddieJones is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Santa Cruz
Posts: 2,122
Default Re: S3 crashes when keyboard/mouse plugged in

EUCON sends the mouse and Keyboard to the second WS via EuControl and Ethernet.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 08-02-2019, 11:49 PM
AHSF AHSF is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Brazil
Posts: 15
Default Re: S3 crashes when keyboard/mouse plugged in

Quote:
Originally Posted by supercharge View Post
Hi all
I've just purchased an S3 and Dock combo and they work perfect with my Windows 10 / Cubase 10 setup. Even the Pro Control app on the dock iPad works great with Cubase (which i was told it might not)
Hi there supercharge.

I'm sorry to go a little off-topic, but could you tell more about your experience using S3 and Cubase?

Not only the basic volume control of the faders, but I would like to know especially about controlling third-party plugins like virtual instruments and such...

How parameters are shown up? Can you flip to faders? Are they mappable?

Any input will be welcome.
Thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 08-04-2019, 09:57 AM
EddieJones's Avatar
EddieJones EddieJones is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Santa Cruz
Posts: 2,122
Default Re: S3 crashes when keyboard/mouse plugged in

FYI Nuendo/Cubase were the first EUCON partners and how EUCON was originally designed. Apart from Waveforms and Spill almost everything should work.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 08-05-2019, 07:12 PM
AHSF AHSF is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Brazil
Posts: 15
Default Re: S3 crashes when keyboard/mouse plugged in

Quote:
Originally Posted by EddieJones View Post
FYI Nuendo/Cubase were the first EUCON partners and how EUCON was originally designed. Apart from Waveforms and Spill almost everything should work.
Thank you, Eddie.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Why does my mouse bog down and freeze when my midi controller is plugged in? Pres.Comacho 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 11-20-2012 08:04 AM
Mouse not working when MBox 2 Mini plugged in? kabsavvy 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 08-31-2011 12:24 AM
Static Sound When Keyboard Plugged In??? Ransom macOS 2 12-27-2010 08:26 PM
pro tools crashes when keystudio is plugged in sterance Pro Tools SE and Essential (Win) 0 07-18-2010 07:42 AM
Pro Tools crashes when my Mackie MCU Pro isn't plugged in elankf1 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 4 07-04-2010 05:31 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:58 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com