Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Other Products > The Drum Room

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-14-2016, 06:07 AM
secutanudu secutanudu is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Albany, NY
Posts: 245
Default Preamp for drum recording?

Hey guys,

I am currently using an focusrite saffire pro 26 recording interface. I want to make a serious upgrade. I am thinking of a Lynx Aurora 16 AD-DA converter and dedicated preamps.

Since i"ll need upwards of 14 inputs, I am looking for recommendations on the most cost effective preamps I can buy for tracking drums, guitars and vox. What are your thoughts?

Thanks.
__________________
  • Pro Tools 2018
  • Windows 10 | Intel 6-Core i7 5930k | 16 GB DDR4 RAM
  • Lynx Aurora 16-TB Thunderbolt A/D Converter
  • Preamps: Focusrite ISA428 MK2 | Midas XL48 | PreSonus MP20
  • System Drive: Internal SATA Crucial 256GB SSD
  • Recording Drive: Internal SATA Crucial 2TB SSD
  • PreSonus CentralStation Plus Monitor Controller
  • Kemper PowerHead Profiling Guitar Amp
  • M-Audio BX8 Studio Monitor
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-14-2016, 07:06 AM
YYR123's Avatar
YYR123 YYR123 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Austin TX
Posts: 13,666
Default Re: Preamp for drum recording?

Nothing wrong with the Saffire 40 range of pre's imo

It's not a neve or API but it don't sound bad, and I believe it sounds better than the Behringer ADA8000's

Since cost was mentioned this would be my recommendation

Audient would be a step up from them but not huge amounts of money to move up in audio quality
__________________
Daniel
HDX - PT12.5.1 - HD I/O 16x8x8
Win10-Pro (v1709)- 6 Core i7-6850k - ASUS X99 Deluxe ii
D-Command Main Unit - 'Ole Blue


http://www.sknoteaudio.com/ plugins rock and are affordable.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-14-2016, 07:31 AM
secutanudu secutanudu is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Albany, NY
Posts: 245
Default Re: Preamp for drum recording?

Quote:
Originally Posted by YYR123 View Post
Nothing wrong with the Saffire 40 range of pre's imo

It's not a neve or API but it don't sound bad, and I believe it sounds better than the Behringer ADA8000's

Since cost was mentioned this would be my recommendation

Audient would be a step up from them but not huge amounts of money to move up in audio quality
So while I'm looking for the best bang for the buck, I don't mind spending more for a better sound. I can't afford 16 Neve pre's, but I dont mind getting one or for key things like vox, kick, snare, etc.
__________________
  • Pro Tools 2018
  • Windows 10 | Intel 6-Core i7 5930k | 16 GB DDR4 RAM
  • Lynx Aurora 16-TB Thunderbolt A/D Converter
  • Preamps: Focusrite ISA428 MK2 | Midas XL48 | PreSonus MP20
  • System Drive: Internal SATA Crucial 256GB SSD
  • Recording Drive: Internal SATA Crucial 2TB SSD
  • PreSonus CentralStation Plus Monitor Controller
  • Kemper PowerHead Profiling Guitar Amp
  • M-Audio BX8 Studio Monitor
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-14-2016, 07:07 AM
YYR123's Avatar
YYR123 YYR123 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Austin TX
Posts: 13,666
Default Re: Preamp for drum recording?

Midas has a XL48 or something that supposedly sounds good, but I've never tried it..
__________________
Daniel
HDX - PT12.5.1 - HD I/O 16x8x8
Win10-Pro (v1709)- 6 Core i7-6850k - ASUS X99 Deluxe ii
D-Command Main Unit - 'Ole Blue


http://www.sknoteaudio.com/ plugins rock and are affordable.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07-14-2016, 07:37 AM
secutanudu secutanudu is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Albany, NY
Posts: 245
Default Re: Preamp for drum recording?

Quote:
Originally Posted by YYR123 View Post
Midas has a XL48 or something that supposedly sounds good, but I've never tried it..
Interesting. Ideally I'm looking for all analog gear since i'll have the Lynx converter. I do see that the midas has analog out though, i assume it bypasses the built-in A/D converter?
__________________
  • Pro Tools 2018
  • Windows 10 | Intel 6-Core i7 5930k | 16 GB DDR4 RAM
  • Lynx Aurora 16-TB Thunderbolt A/D Converter
  • Preamps: Focusrite ISA428 MK2 | Midas XL48 | PreSonus MP20
  • System Drive: Internal SATA Crucial 256GB SSD
  • Recording Drive: Internal SATA Crucial 2TB SSD
  • PreSonus CentralStation Plus Monitor Controller
  • Kemper PowerHead Profiling Guitar Amp
  • M-Audio BX8 Studio Monitor
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 07-14-2016, 08:32 AM
YYR123's Avatar
YYR123 YYR123 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Austin TX
Posts: 13,666
Default Re: Preamp for drum recording?

Yep....looks like it would. But again I repeat I do not own one.

I've owned and used both the Saffire range of pre's along with the ADA8000.

For me AES outs are awesome- free's up some of my analog inputs....but everyone's setup is different
__________________
Daniel
HDX - PT12.5.1 - HD I/O 16x8x8
Win10-Pro (v1709)- 6 Core i7-6850k - ASUS X99 Deluxe ii
D-Command Main Unit - 'Ole Blue


http://www.sknoteaudio.com/ plugins rock and are affordable.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 07-14-2016, 04:00 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: nashville
Posts: 34,801
Default Re: Preamp for drum recording?

As an owner of the Midas XL48, I highly recommend it for at least 2 reasons.
#1-it has lightpipe out so its a great match for your setup.
#2-it sounds head and shoulders better than the focusrite on drums(I also have an OctoPre Mk II Dynamic in my rack). I tested against the Neve and API clones I have(and love on certain things) and the XL48 won handily

http://savetheworldband.com/watch-th...deo-for-bleed/
This is my house Mothertone kit with all the shells thru the Midas. Overheads, hat and ride are thru an ISA-428. Mics are also important and this recording was:
Kick in-Audix D6
Kick out-custom sub-kick
Snare top-Shure Beta56
Snare bottom-EV n/d408
Hat-AT3031
Rack-Audix D6
Floor-Miktek PM11
Ride-Shure SM81 under
Overheads-Miktek C1 pair
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, DIGI003 Rack
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 07-26-2016, 08:08 PM
secutanudu secutanudu is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Albany, NY
Posts: 245
Default Re: Preamp for drum recording?

Quote:
Originally Posted by albee1952 View Post
As an owner of the Midas XL48, I highly recommend it for at least 2 reasons.
#1-it has lightpipe out so its a great match for your setup.
#2-it sounds head and shoulders better than the focusrite on drums(I also have an OctoPre Mk II Dynamic in my rack). I tested against the Neve and API clones I have(and love on certain things) and the XL48 won handily

http://savetheworldband.com/watch-th...deo-for-bleed/
This is my house Mothertone kit with all the shells thru the Midas. Overheads, hat and ride are thru an ISA-428. Mics are also important and this recording was:
Kick in-Audix D6
Kick out-custom sub-kick
Snare top-Shure Beta56
Snare bottom-EV n/d408
Hat-AT3031
Rack-Audix D6
Floor-Miktek PM11
Ride-Shure SM81 under
Overheads-Miktek C1 pair

Is that your band, Albee? That song is great, love the drum sounds also!
__________________
  • Pro Tools 2018
  • Windows 10 | Intel 6-Core i7 5930k | 16 GB DDR4 RAM
  • Lynx Aurora 16-TB Thunderbolt A/D Converter
  • Preamps: Focusrite ISA428 MK2 | Midas XL48 | PreSonus MP20
  • System Drive: Internal SATA Crucial 256GB SSD
  • Recording Drive: Internal SATA Crucial 2TB SSD
  • PreSonus CentralStation Plus Monitor Controller
  • Kemper PowerHead Profiling Guitar Amp
  • M-Audio BX8 Studio Monitor
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 07-26-2016, 08:47 PM
amagras amagras is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Ottawa, ON
Posts: 3,260
Default Re: Preamp for drum recording?

Quote:
Originally Posted by secutanudu View Post
Is that your band, Albee? That song is great, love the drum sounds also!
Thanks for bringing this to attention, sounds beautiful and the band is awesome. Loved the "Tom Sawyer" part in the middle! Congrats albee, double if it's your band.
__________________
Dell XPS 8700. Intel Core i7-4770 CPU @ 3.40GHz. RAM: 16GB. Windows 10 Home x64. NVIDIA GeForce GTX 645. NI Komplete Audio 6. Pro Tools Software 2019
amagrasmusic.com
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 08-11-2017, 08:24 AM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: nashville
Posts: 34,801
Default Re: Preamp for drum recording?

Quote:
Originally Posted by secutanudu View Post
Is that your band, Albee? That song is great, love the drum sounds also!
I wish! On the final CD(due to be released any day now), I did net a playing credit for bass on one track(channeling my Paul McCartney). The drummer is Jon Wysocki from Staind. Bassist is Robert Wright and he's a musical freak(plays everything!). He got bored one day and recreated Bohemian Rhapsody by himself and its ridiculously good Guitarist is Dan Tracey and he tours in the Alan Parsons Live band. If you only think of country music when you think of Nashville, you're missing a boatload

Re the drum sounds, some is due to how killer the Mothertone drums are(aka Sleishman). They are made in Australia and all the shells are floating(not a single screw or bolt touches the shells). Some is also due to Robert Wright being an amazing mixer(Bleed was mixed by Michael Wagener, but Robert mixed the rest). IIRC, most of the songs used a Ludwig Black Beauty snare. Toms were 10, 12 and 14" with a 20" kick. Mics were Audix D6 and custom subkick(bass drum), Beta56(top) and EV nd408(bottom)(snare), AT3031(hat), Miktek PM10(racks), Miktek PM11(floor) and Miktek C1's(overheads). Preamps were Midas XL48(shell mics) and Focusrite ISA428(hat, ride and overheads). Drums actually were tracked in a fairly small room.
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, DIGI003 Rack
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave

Last edited by albee1952; 08-11-2017 at 08:37 AM.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
how to use a preamp on a snare drum rogee 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 01-16-2008 09:59 AM
What is your Favorite Preamp for Drum Overheads wolfman_rob Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 20 01-29-2007 06:12 AM
Best all around drum preamp Hank5 Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 3 09-22-2006 08:55 PM
preamp for drum noequipment Tips & Tricks 7 12-19-2002 12:35 AM
Drum Mic and PreAmp King Kong 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 0 11-30-2002 09:40 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:53 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com