Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-21-2009, 11:56 AM
DeadMeat DeadMeat is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 1
Default Delay about 3 sec before pro tools play

Hi all, i got this problem when i reinstall my protools 8. When i click the play it delay to about 3sec before its running.... Whats the problem? How can i fix it? Thx for U answer............
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-21-2009, 11:59 AM
audiogeekzine audiogeekzine is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 1,524
Default Re: Delay about 3 sec before pro tools play

set your default recording length to something other than Open Ended
between 6 and 15 minutes should be good.
__________________
@theaudiogeek
| www.EPICSounds.ca | www.AudioGeekZine.com | www.HomeRecordingShow.com |
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-21-2009, 01:11 PM
TOM@METRO's Avatar
TOM@METRO TOM@METRO is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 16,928
Default Re: Delay about 3 sec before pro tools play

See this thread.

http://duc.digidesign.com/showthread.php?t=229936
__________________
~ tom thomas

Formerly hobotom

Pro Tools Ultimate 2019.6 HDX
HD Omni and 192 I/Os
Windows 10
Intel Hexcore i7
All Samsung Pro SSDs
Ampex MM1200 2" 24 trk tape
Outboard: UREI, Eventide, Lexicon, Yamaha, TC Electronics, Orban, ART, EchoAudio, Dolby, Hughes, API, Neve, Audio Arts, BBE, Aphex, Berringer, MOTU, dbx, Allison, etc.
Plug-ins: Too many to talk about.

www.metrostudios.com
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-21-2009, 02:02 PM
Dave Lang Dave Lang is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Victoria, BC, Canada
Posts: 621
Default Re: Delay about 3 sec before pro tools play

I had this problem - it was related to the 'count off' setting of the midi control pane of the transport window. Somehow it got turned on so the thing would wait for two bars before starting to play or record. Of course, if you don't have a click on the session - you don't hear anything and unless you have the transport window up with the midi part included you can't find that setting - or at least I couldn't - try it - feel free to pm me if you get stuck.

Frustrating!!!
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-21-2009, 02:03 PM
Dave Lang Dave Lang is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Victoria, BC, Canada
Posts: 621
Default Re: Delay about 3 sec before pro tools play

You can see the setting I'm talking about on page 351 of the PT8 manual if I didn't describe it clearly here.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-21-2009, 02:16 PM
TOM@METRO's Avatar
TOM@METRO TOM@METRO is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 16,928
Default Re: Delay about 3 sec before pro tools play

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dave Lang View Post
I had this problem - it was related to the 'count off' setting of the midi control pane of the transport window. Somehow it got turned on so the thing would wait for two bars before starting to play or record. Of course, if you don't have a click on the session - you don't hear anything and unless you have the transport window up with the midi part included you can't find that setting - or at least I couldn't - try it - feel free to pm me if you get stuck.

Frustrating!!!

The transport window is the only place I’ve found it. If there is someplace else I would like to know.
__________________
~ tom thomas

Formerly hobotom

Pro Tools Ultimate 2019.6 HDX
HD Omni and 192 I/Os
Windows 10
Intel Hexcore i7
All Samsung Pro SSDs
Ampex MM1200 2" 24 trk tape
Outboard: UREI, Eventide, Lexicon, Yamaha, TC Electronics, Orban, ART, EchoAudio, Dolby, Hughes, API, Neve, Audio Arts, BBE, Aphex, Berringer, MOTU, dbx, Allison, etc.
Plug-ins: Too many to talk about.

www.metrostudios.com
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-21-2009, 02:27 PM
Dave Lang Dave Lang is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Victoria, BC, Canada
Posts: 621
Default Re: Delay about 3 sec before pro tools play

This is the thread that fixed my problem - apparently the 'count off' feature is toggled by the numeric keypad key '8'

http://duc.digidesign.com/showthread.php?t=226377
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
5 second delay when i hit record and play! idledude Pro Tools M-Powered (Mac) 6 07-01-2008 06:37 AM
Pro Tools 7.3.1 Delay before Play on Laptop JazzyJ 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 3 05-13-2007 01:11 PM
play delay when using mojo? CD Productions Post - Surround - Video 8 02-03-2006 02:10 PM
2-3 sec delay before play.. martian 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 8 11-01-2005 09:33 AM
Delay before play and record Obsidian Dragon 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 16 10-07-2005 12:56 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:45 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com