Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-19-2007, 10:34 AM
Judson Judson is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 54
Default Some things I\'d like to see in PT 8 HD (or 7.5!)

Hello,

First I want to say I really appreciate how digidesign has continued to make PT more composer friendly through each update. I've actually recently said goodbye to Logic for the most part (tired of the TDM incompatibilities) and started my scoring sessions in PT. PT finally feels more "musical" to me in the way that Logic has over the years. I guess if you like working in any kind of score editor you'll always stick with the other sequencers....but here are some additional features I would like to see in PT to make it a even more streamlined tool for composing on tight deadlines for the rest of us:

- track folders. Just a simple folder hierarchy system where tracks can be folded into or out of, where each folder can be solo'd or muted...this makes templates with massive amounts of predefined MIDI tracks much more managable. And would also make doing stripes for final mix downs simpler.

- mute of individual MIDI notes. right now I'm making a whole new playlist when I start mucking around with taking MIDI notes in or out but it would save me a lot of time if I could just simply mute a MIDI note like I can an audio region.

- bypass of hardware inserts. This must be possible as you can do it in Logic TDM.


These don't seem like massive feature requests but would help greatly in my day to day. Please add any other feature ideas you have that are composer centric and possibly the reason some choose the other apps over protools.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-19-2007, 01:44 PM
artguilljr artguilljr is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: San Antonio, TX
Posts: 185
Default Re: Some things I\'d like to see in PT 8 HD (or 7.5

While were at it. How about a option for real time or faster then realtime bounce? I mean i understand the reason for real time bounce.... But i work in a audio post house and rarely if ever go outside the box... i hate bouncing 20 - 30 second tv spots in real time or 5 - 60 second radios in real time. Even on My LE system at home, what percentage of LE users are using outboard comp's and eq's in insert mode? Just give us the option!!!!! One more little option box in the bounce dialog window that says real time or faster then real time. I mean we've been asking for this since version 5? wow maybe even 4? Freaking garageband has this feature, why cant TDM or LE.....
__________________
Art Guillermo Jr.
Owner
Trans-Plant A/V (San Antonio, Tx)
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-19-2007, 02:10 PM
Paul S-Tone Paul S-Tone is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: ITA
Posts: 126
Default Re: Some things I\'d like to see in PT 8 HD (or 7.5

quote

we need mute of individual MIDI notes

Grazie Digidesign !
__________________
MacPro PTHD 3 PCIe
Protools Lovers
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-19-2007, 02:12 PM
Mikey MTC Mikey MTC is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 1999
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 552
Default Re: Some things I\'d like to see in PT 8 HD (or 7.5

Quote:
While were at it. How about a option for real time or faster then realtime bounce? I mean i understand the reason for real time bounce.... But i work in a audio post house and rarely if ever go outside the box... i hate bouncing 20 - 30 second tv spots in real time or 5 - 60 second radios in real time. Even on My LE system at home, what percentage of LE users are using outboard comp's and eq's in insert mode? Just give us the option!!!!! One more little option box in the bounce dialog window that says real time or faster then real time. I mean we've been asking for this since version 5? wow maybe even 4? Freaking garageband has this feature, why cant TDM or LE.....
It won't happen in TDM as it stands now because TDM is a REAL TIME architecture by design. I suppose it's theretically possible in LE but then you'd be splitting the product features in a way that's not perceived as "better" for the superior product. Anyway - the point is, not for TDM anytime soon.

Every time this argument comes up many people seem to chime in that they like the real-time bounce because it gives them a final chance to listen to the product AS IS and make sure there's no problems.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-19-2007, 02:30 PM
artguilljr artguilljr is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: San Antonio, TX
Posts: 185
Default Re: Some things I\'d like to see in PT 8 HD (or 7.5

it is possible. Digi is lazy...LOL no kidding... ok correct me if im wrong but TDM refers to time domain/division multiplexing. Using each sample from each track in sequence to reach high speed throughput through an audio output device i.e. the i/o. as i understand it DSP processing is going on all the time via the dsp chips... if the audio was being processed in real time the chips would be inactive while the transport is stopped. but its not.. so this processing is happening all the time. why is it not feasible to process all the plug ins either via the on board DSP or the Host processor which already works effectively as shown by LE and audiosuite processing. Again i may be totally off but i'm just a curious party.... I know a little about TDM theory from when i worked as a fiber splicer but that was years ago so i could be smoking crack....LOL
__________________
Art Guillermo Jr.
Owner
Trans-Plant A/V (San Antonio, Tx)
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-19-2007, 02:37 PM
artguilljr artguilljr is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: San Antonio, TX
Posts: 185
Default Re: Some things I\'d like to see in PT 8 HD (or 7.5

if you process an audiosuite plug such as maxim you can see this process. it goes through the whole song in faster then real time and you see the meters moving simulating the audio processing taking place
__________________
Art Guillermo Jr.
Owner
Trans-Plant A/V (San Antonio, Tx)
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 02-19-2007, 03:12 PM
Mikey MTC Mikey MTC is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 1999
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 552
Default Re: Some things I\'d like to see in PT 8 HD (or 7.5

Quote:
if you process an audiosuite plug such as maxim you can see this process. it goes through the whole song in faster then real time and you see the meters moving simulating the audio processing taking place
But as you said, that's Audiosuite and not TDM.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 02-19-2007, 03:42 PM
Jeremy Mix3000 Jeremy Mix3000 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 147
Default Re: Some things I\'d like to see in PT 8 HD (or 7.5

I'll have to agree with artguiljr, I think it is possible to bounce in Faster than real time even with TDM. Even if it was just 2X speed I think people would be happy. I do think Digi is draggin' their feet on this one.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 02-19-2007, 05:39 PM
blackmacdaddy blackmacdaddy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: NW Ohio
Posts: 418
Default Re: Some things I\'d like to see in PT 8 HD (or 7.5

How about a "plug in 'well' window" (maybe Command 6 on Numeric Keypad?) that could hold your favorite 25 plugs or some such (5 x 5), that you could then drag plugs onto the channels you want and it would be mono it you "left click dragged" and stereo if you "right click dragged."

Or perhaps it would be a 'modifier drag' if this conflicts too much with contextual menus. The 'well' would hold aliases for fav plugs.

I currently do this by having 5 inactive channels with my favorite plugs, but as I run out of DSP, it is sometimes too much to make a track active to option drag the plugs.

Just a thought. No, I have NOT made a feature request. Should I?

Am I just lazy? Should I work harder on my templates and "import session data" resources. Thoughts?
__________________
It's only R'n'R but I like it.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 02-19-2007, 10:41 PM
Frank Kruse Frank Kruse is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: old europe
Posts: 5,392
Default Re: Some things I\'d like to see in PT 8 HD (or 7.5

Quote:
While were at it. How about a option for real time or faster then realtime bounce?
On most of the non-realtime bounces I´ve received from composers so far I had to spend hours pecil-tooling out digital clicks and glitches. I hope this is never going to become reality in PT. Last minute deliveries, through everything to the poor music-editor and have him edit all ther clicks away. No thanks. I now budget an extra day for click-removal of logic-bounces.
Great time-saver isn´t it?

frank.
__________________
PTHDn 2019.6 (OSX10.14.4), 8x8x8, MacPro 5,1 3.33Ghz 12-Core, BM DeckLink SDI, SYNC HD, all genlocked via AJA GEN10, 48GB RAM
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
The little things... Stig Eliassen Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 2 03-29-2011 07:40 AM
It's the little things. Drew Mazurek ICON & C|24 0 10-17-2007 10:05 AM
iMac G5 !!!good things and bad things!!! Jervy 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 5 04-28-2005 01:36 AM
OT: things to get used to in OSX pk_hat 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 12 10-13-2003 09:50 PM
3 things I can't do in OSX Richard Barrie Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 6 06-28-2003 08:42 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:26 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com