Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 10

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-13-2015, 10:42 AM
Tracy Lowery Tracy Lowery is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Hollywood, Florida
Posts: 179
Default Laptop with Focusrite 18i8 External HD

Setting up a small home studio for friend PT 10 with Focusrite 18i8 USB 2.0
What external USB is recommended for Audio Drive? Thanks
__________________
Asus Sabertooth x79/I7-3930k/32G GSKILL
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-13-2015, 11:42 AM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: nashville
Posts: 34,738
Default Re: Laptop with Focusrite 18i8 External HD

Does the laptop have USB3 ports? In any case, I would purchase an external drive case with USB2(or USB3 if the laptop has it) and install a WD Caviar BLACK drive in the case(this gives the best balance of performance, capacity and price). My next option would be an external case with a decent SSD drive. Having said that, if the laptop has an eSATA port, I would drop USB in favor of eSATA for the recording drive(but in all cases, either a good SSD or a good 7200 rpm spinner, WD BLACK being among the best).
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, DIGI003 Rack
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-13-2015, 01:01 PM
mesaone mesaone is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 5,257
Default Re: Laptop with Focusrite 18i8 External HD

yeah, it would be easier to make a specific recommendation if you listed the model of laptop you're referring to.
__________________
Pro Tools HD 12.4, Pro Tools "Vanilla" 12.4, Artist Transport, 2x Artist Mix
Studio Blue: RME UCX, Win7 Pro, i7 960, 16GB || Studio Green: RME Babyface, Win10, i7 7700HQ, 16GB
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-13-2015, 02:38 PM
Tracy Lowery Tracy Lowery is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Hollywood, Florida
Posts: 179
Default Re: Laptop with Focusrite 18i8 External HD

Quote:
Originally Posted by mesaone View Post
yeah, it would be easier to make a specific recommendation if you listed the model of laptop you're referring to.
http://support.hp.com/us-en/document/c03754267#AbT0

HP ENVY 17-j020us Notebook
__________________
Asus Sabertooth x79/I7-3930k/32G GSKILL
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-13-2015, 02:39 PM
Tracy Lowery Tracy Lowery is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Hollywood, Florida
Posts: 179
Default Re: Laptop with Focusrite 18i8 External HD

Quote:
Originally Posted by mesaone View Post
yeah, it would be easier to make a specific recommendation if you listed the model of laptop you're referring to.
Thanks so much
__________________
Asus Sabertooth x79/I7-3930k/32G GSKILL
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 05-13-2015, 02:39 PM
Tracy Lowery Tracy Lowery is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Hollywood, Florida
Posts: 179
Default Re: Laptop with Focusrite 18i8 External HD

Quote:
Originally Posted by albee1952 View Post
Does the laptop have USB3 ports? In any case, I would purchase an external drive case with USB2(or USB3 if the laptop has it) and install a WD Caviar BLACK drive in the case(this gives the best balance of performance, capacity and price). My next option would be an external case with a decent SSD drive. Having said that, if the laptop has an eSATA port, I would drop USB in favor of eSATA for the recording drive(but in all cases, either a good SSD or a good 7200 rpm spinner, WD BLACK being among the best).

Thanks So much
__________________
Asus Sabertooth x79/I7-3930k/32G GSKILL
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 05-13-2015, 02:46 PM
Tracy Lowery Tracy Lowery is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Hollywood, Florida
Posts: 179
Default Re: Laptop with Focusrite 18i8 External HD

Quote:
Originally Posted by albee1952 View Post
Does the laptop have USB3 ports? In any case, I would purchase an external drive case with USB2(or USB3 if the laptop has it) and install a WD Caviar BLACK drive in the case(this gives the best balance of performance, capacity and price). My next option would be an external case with a decent SSD drive. Having said that, if the laptop has an eSATA port, I would drop USB in favor of eSATA for the recording drive(but in all cases, either a good SSD or a good 7200 rpm spinner, WD BLACK being among the best).
http://www.bestbuy.com/site/wd-my-pa...&skuId=9028431

What about this? She will only be recording 3 tracks at a time Small sessions
__________________
Asus Sabertooth x79/I7-3930k/32G GSKILL
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 05-13-2015, 03:45 PM
Obsidian Dragon Obsidian Dragon is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 3,797
Default Re: Laptop with Focusrite 18i8 External HD

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tracy Lowery View Post
http://www.bestbuy.com/site/wd-my-pa...&skuId=9028431

What about this? She will only be recording 3 tracks at a time Small sessions
I searched around 20 different references for the technical specification for this drive and could not find the drive's rotational speed. Normally if it is 7200RPM, it is clearly stated. The fact that it is not stated makes me believe this one is most likely the more common 5400RPM drive which is not suitable for an audio drive for Protools.
__________________
Obsidian Dragon
Model Name: MacBook Pro
Model Identifier: MacBookPro14,3
Processor Name: Intel Core i7
Processor Speed: 3.1 GHz
Number of Processors: 1
Total Number of Cores: 4
L2 Cache (per Core): 256 KB
L3 Cache: 8 MB
Memory: 16 GB
MacOS 10.13.6 running Protools 2018.7.0
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 05-13-2015, 04:04 PM
mesaone mesaone is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 5,257
Default Re: Laptop with Focusrite 18i8 External HD

After seeing the laptop specs, I second Dave's recommendation... WD Black 7200 RPM drive with an external USB 3.0 enclosure. Preferably an enclosure that comes with a Y-cable (2x USB for extra power)
__________________
Pro Tools HD 12.4, Pro Tools "Vanilla" 12.4, Artist Transport, 2x Artist Mix
Studio Blue: RME UCX, Win7 Pro, i7 960, 16GB || Studio Green: RME Babyface, Win10, i7 7700HQ, 16GB
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 05-13-2015, 04:11 PM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 13,174
Default Re: Laptop with Focusrite 18i8 External HD

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tracy Lowery View Post
http://www.bestbuy.com/site/wd-my-pa...&skuId=9028431

What about this? She will only be recording 3 tracks at a time Small sessions
Nope run away. Utter crap WDC Caviar Green drive. You get what you pay for.

It's 2015 not 1995. Go get a SSD, they are much better performance wise and don't mind begin dropped/abused as much as an old spinning hunk of rust.

http://www.amazon.com/Samsung-Portab.../dp/B00RWXV8FE
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Scarlett 18i8, PT11 6101 error thecaptainandme Pro Tools 11 2 02-06-2014 03:20 PM
PTMP 8 not seeing focus rite 18i8 thecaptainandme macOS 3 11-19-2013 12:12 PM
Focusrite Scarlett 18i8 kyluigi Third Party Interfaces 6 10-17-2013 08:14 AM
PT On Laptop - External HD ? Munir 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 10 12-11-2008 03:41 PM
External Drive and Laptop bugnut 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 4 07-07-2008 09:07 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:48 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com