Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 10

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-05-2013, 09:39 PM
flautista's Avatar
flautista flautista is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Chile
Posts: 1,609
Default Bios changes for improve

In my signature you can see my I7 system
Please can you tellme what changes do in my Bios to improve performamce
Think Mostly default
For example RAM settings
Really thanks
__________________
Jascha Koneffke flutist
www.prodmusica.cl
GA-X58A-UD3R[/
I7 950
RAM 24Gb corsair 1600 (3 sticks)
9-9-9-24
MAC
MacBookPro i7 2,3 15"
RAM 16gb
PT 11.3
003 Rack
MBox 3 Pro
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-06-2013, 07:11 AM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: nashville
Posts: 34,742
Default Re: Bios changes for improve

"GA-X58A-UD3R
16GB Mushkin 4GB DDR3 PC3-12800 1600Mhz 9-9-9-24 Blackline"

This makes no sense to me. Is it 16GB or 4GB? Either way, its wrong for this motherboard(I run the same one). It runs triple-channel RAM so it should have either 3 or 6 sticks. If 3 sticks, they should all be in the same colored slots(check the mobo booklet for the correct color). The timings look okay. You should also go thru and check the voltage settings to make sure they match that RAM(mine had to be changed to 1.65V on 2 different pages of BIOS)
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, DIGI003 Rack
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-06-2013, 12:08 PM
flautista's Avatar
flautista flautista is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Chile
Posts: 1,609
Default Re: Bios changes for improve

I'll Check think i have four stick each one 4 gig (1.5)= 16 gig they are triple channel
See and Back
__________________
Jascha Koneffke flutist
www.prodmusica.cl
GA-X58A-UD3R[/
I7 950
RAM 24Gb corsair 1600 (3 sticks)
9-9-9-24
MAC
MacBookPro i7 2,3 15"
RAM 16gb
PT 11.3
003 Rack
MBox 3 Pro
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-06-2013, 12:23 PM
flautista's Avatar
flautista flautista is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Chile
Posts: 1,609
Default Re: Bios changes for improve

Sorry i have four stick of 2 gig each one
And 2 stick 8 gig each one
All 9-9-9-24 1.5 v
Triple channel
__________________
Jascha Koneffke flutist
www.prodmusica.cl
GA-X58A-UD3R[/
I7 950
RAM 24Gb corsair 1600 (3 sticks)
9-9-9-24
MAC
MacBookPro i7 2,3 15"
RAM 16gb
PT 11.3
003 Rack
MBox 3 Pro
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-06-2013, 01:32 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: nashville
Posts: 34,742
Default Re: Bios changes for improve

Well, you are not running triple channel UNLESS you have either 3 or 6 sticks that all match. Since you have 2 sticks of 8GB, I would get a 3rd matching 8GB stick and remove the others. The Gigabyte motherboards USUALLY benefit by setting RAM timings manually(Expert mode). The way to find out if your rig is tuned well is to run the Dverb2 test(see the i7 Builds thread-first page). If your system will score 400 or better, I'd say you in good shape(mine scored 520)
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, DIGI003 Rack
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-06-2013, 02:24 PM
flautista's Avatar
flautista flautista is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Chile
Posts: 1,609
Default Re: Bios changes for improve

Oh man i must make
clear
I have a kit 4x2=8gig
If i remove the 2 gig stick
What I should do
Another 4x2=8gig
Or something diferent
Or 3 kit 4x2( 6 stick of 4gig Is this better)
Sorry i was confused😩
__________________
Jascha Koneffke flutist
www.prodmusica.cl
GA-X58A-UD3R[/
I7 950
RAM 24Gb corsair 1600 (3 sticks)
9-9-9-24
MAC
MacBookPro i7 2,3 15"
RAM 16gb
PT 11.3
003 Rack
MBox 3 Pro
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-06-2013, 03:02 PM
CME CME is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Ardmore OK
Posts: 3,205
Default

You want either 3 or 6 sticks of the exact same kind of ram. I'm assuming the 2gb sticks are identical to each other and the 4gb sticks also match. So you have some options.

The easiest and cheapest is to remove the 4gb sticks and one of the 2gb sticks. Then make sure the remaining sticks are in the right slots. This is free and gives you 6gb of ram.

The next option is to buy a pair of 2gb sticks that are identical to what you already have. Replace the 4gb sticks with these. You'll have 12gb of ram.

You could also buy a stick that matches your 4gb sticks. Pull out the 2gb sticks and make sure you have the 3 remaining 4gb sticks in the right slots. Would give you 12gb.

You could also buy 4 4gb sticks that match the 2 4gb sticks you already have. That will give you 24gb. The max for that mobo.

If the sticks you have now aren't matched you're better starting over. And just buying either 3 or 6 sticks that match.

Hope that helps.
__________________
2009 Mac Pro - Dual X5650 Xeon 6-core 2.66Ghz procs, 48GB of Ram, SATA 3 and USB 3.0 PCIe cards. R9 280X video card. macOS Sierra. Harrison Mixbus 32C, Studio One 3, Reaper, and pro tools 12 when I have to.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 01-06-2013, 03:27 PM
flautista's Avatar
flautista flautista is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Chile
Posts: 1,609
Default Re: Bios changes for improve

You could also buy 4 4gb sticks that match the 2 4gb sticks you already have. That will give you 24gb. The max for that mobo
This Is best I think
6 stick of 4 gig i go for It
Will be triple channel then....
__________________
Jascha Koneffke flutist
www.prodmusica.cl
GA-X58A-UD3R[/
I7 950
RAM 24Gb corsair 1600 (3 sticks)
9-9-9-24
MAC
MacBookPro i7 2,3 15"
RAM 16gb
PT 11.3
003 Rack
MBox 3 Pro
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 01-07-2013, 03:46 AM
flautista's Avatar
flautista flautista is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Chile
Posts: 1,609
Default Re: Bios changes for improve

What do you think about this RAM

Model
CMZ8GX3M1A1600C9
Corsair
9-9-9-24willbe 3 single sticks
8gig each one

Onother Corsair8gig single stick
Vengeance
Model
CMZ8GX3M1A1600C10
Type
240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM

10-10-10-27

MEMORIA DDR3 G.SKILL RIPJAWS X F3-1600C9S-8GXM 8GB 1600MHZ PC3-1
1,5 v

wait you comments thanks
__________________
Jascha Koneffke flutist
www.prodmusica.cl
GA-X58A-UD3R[/
I7 950
RAM 24Gb corsair 1600 (3 sticks)
9-9-9-24
MAC
MacBookPro i7 2,3 15"
RAM 16gb
PT 11.3
003 Rack
MBox 3 Pro
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 01-07-2013, 09:40 AM
CME CME is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Ardmore OK
Posts: 3,205
Default

I believe we're still talking about an x58a-ud3r board. If so 4gb sticks is as big as you can go. It can't use 8gb sticks.
__________________
2009 Mac Pro - Dual X5650 Xeon 6-core 2.66Ghz procs, 48GB of Ram, SATA 3 and USB 3.0 PCIe cards. R9 280X video card. macOS Sierra. Harrison Mixbus 32C, Studio One 3, Reaper, and pro tools 12 when I have to.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How to improve the system 5 MC The golfer System 5 24 03-14-2013 06:54 PM
A Mic Pre That Will Improve my 003 fooloof 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 5 07-21-2009 02:08 PM
how can i improve my system? wreckthisplace 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 11 01-08-2006 11:21 AM
what should i get to improve my set up??? richsorr 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 3 05-10-2004 08:33 AM
improve sound MG2 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 05-20-2002 02:37 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:10 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com