Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 10

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-21-2012, 03:16 PM
gavriil1 gavriil1 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Leesburg, VA
Posts: 209
Default sound-quality difference between using PT on a PC vs a Mac

Other than usability, stability, is there any sound-quality difference between using PT on a PC vs a Mac?

Last edited by Avid; 11-21-2012 at 03:56 PM. Reason: Moved from "How do I copy inserts to another track" thread.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-21-2012, 04:21 PM
guitardom guitardom is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: New Mexico
Posts: 6,777
Default Re: sound-quality difference between using PT on a PC vs a Mac

Of course not. Even more to the point as macs and most pc's are now both using the exact same intel architecture. But the converters and interfaces are doing the actual conversion, the computer just stores and plays back the binary data it was given. Also it's easily proven there is no difference between usability and stability assuming you have a properly spec'd computer.
__________________

pro-tools-pc.com


TRASHER Pro Tools Utility(updated 3-6-18)

HD Native, Avid 16x16, Eleven Rack, Focusrite Clarett 8preX, UA Quad Apollo TB.

Intel I7 6800k
Win 10
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-21-2012, 04:50 PM
gavriil1 gavriil1 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Leesburg, VA
Posts: 209
Default Re: sound-quality difference between using PT on a PC vs a Mac

Thank you. I just got the wife a Mac Air. Our first Mac ever. So because we now have both, I am wondering.

Then why do I almost exclusively see professionals use Macs with PT (and other DAWs)? Just a tradition?

Quote:
Originally Posted by guitardom View Post
Of course not. Even more to the point as macs and most pc's are now both using the exact same intel architecture. But the converters and interfaces are doing the actual conversion, the computer just stores and plays back the binary data it was given. Also it's easily proven there is no difference between usability and stability assuming you have a properly spec'd computer.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-21-2012, 05:15 PM
guitardom guitardom is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: New Mexico
Posts: 6,777
Default Re: sound-quality difference between using PT on a PC vs a Mac

Up until about 6-7 years ago macs were generally just faster and better built machines. Most engineers and studios used them for these obvious reasons. Until the the G5-IBM mess (2004 roughly) , intel and amd were exclusively (windows based) PC and they flew past IBM based macs in both speed and stability due to the fact there were no updates for well over a year. At this point mac dropped IBM and moved to intel. That really was a great day in the computer world as both mac and pc's now run on the same architecture. Now it's just an OS preference. Most people will prefer to stay a what they know and in most cases the best pc's need to be built instead of off the shelf like a Mac.
__________________

pro-tools-pc.com


TRASHER Pro Tools Utility(updated 3-6-18)

HD Native, Avid 16x16, Eleven Rack, Focusrite Clarett 8preX, UA Quad Apollo TB.

Intel I7 6800k
Win 10
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-21-2012, 05:42 PM
bacchus40 bacchus40 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: CANADA, west coast
Posts: 481
Default Re: sound-quality difference between using PT on a PC vs a Mac

pc = custom built daw
mac = just a mac
hackingtosh = best of both?
__________________
kickin' at the darkness 'till it bleeds daYlighT


Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11-21-2012, 06:25 PM
Weird Audio Weird Audio is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: usa
Posts: 99
Default Re: sound-quality difference between using PT on a PC vs a Mac

Back in the clear plastic G4 / G5 days , it was often said that because mac was mostly designed for the arts , it was easier and less distance to get the audio to the drives on a mac. Meaning it had a more direct line and less cpu junk to travel through.

I have absolute no idea if there is any fact in that , but thats what a lot of people used to say. Keep in mind that was forever ago, and even if there was a benefit then i doubt there is now that MAC does not design there own processors custom for audio and video. If they ever did at all .

I honestly do believe MAC is a lot more stable than most PCs . Im sure some company,s build great PC,s but MAC is the most individually accepted professional cpu and reliability must be the reason or pro,s would not use them.
Pro,s use what works or they wouldnt be pro,s. That is my opinion because I agree with it .
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 11-21-2012, 07:57 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: nashville
Posts: 34,742
Default Re: sound-quality difference between using PT on a PC vs a Mac

Quote:
Originally Posted by Weird Audio View Post
Back in the clear plastic G4 / G5 days , it was often said that because mac was mostly designed for the arts , it was easier and less distance to get the audio to the drives on a mac. Meaning it had a more direct line and less cpu junk to travel through.

I have absolute no idea if there is any fact in that , but thats what a lot of people used to say. Keep in mind that was forever ago, and even if there was a benefit then i doubt there is now that MAC does not design there own processors custom for audio and video. If they ever did at all .

I honestly do believe MAC is a lot more stable than most PCs . Im sure some company,s build great PC,s but MAC is the most individually accepted professional cpu and reliability must be the reason or pro,s would not use them.
Pro,s use what works or they wouldnt be pro,s. That is my opinion because I agree with it .
Opinions vary, but I honestly believe there is no difference in stability with a well-tweaked system. I work on my own self-built PC based rig(003 interface) and a friend's Mac-based rig(HD3, Mac Pro and all set up by a GC Pro specialist). The Mac rig crashes way more often. Having said that, I advise anyone to simply use the platform you/they are comfortable with. And, with the advances to the MacBook Air, its finally possible to use one for serious recording. I bet you have a great time with it
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, DIGI003 Rack
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 11-21-2012, 08:06 PM
guitardom guitardom is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: New Mexico
Posts: 6,777
Default Re: sound-quality difference between using PT on a PC vs a Mac

Quote:
Originally Posted by Weird Audio View Post
Back in the clear plastic G4 / G5 days , it was often said that because mac was mostly designed for the arts , it was easier and less distance to get the audio to the drives on a mac. Meaning it had a more direct line and less cpu junk to travel through.

I have absolute no idea if there is any fact in that , but thats what a lot of people used to say. Keep in mind that was forever ago, and even if there was a benefit then i doubt there is now that MAC does not design there own processors custom for audio and video. If they ever did at all .

I honestly do believe MAC is a lot more stable than most PCs . Im sure some company,s build great PC,s but MAC is the most individually accepted professional cpu and reliability must be the reason or pro,s would not use them.
Pro,s use what works or they wouldnt be pro,s. That is my opinion because I agree with it .
I started on g3's by '01 w PT 5 mix systems and LE systems at Home on PC. Went strictly to PC in 05 and bought my first new Mac last year (MacBook) since then. Had nothing to do with distance to get to the hard drive. The processors were built by IBM for macs thru the G5 where IBM dropped the ball for way over a year on Mac and rumored to be because they got the Microsoft contract to supply the processors for the Xbox in '03 or'04. This let intel and amd fly past any Mac configuration. until then IBM built a superior processor hands down and the OS was simpler and better built period until XP got got dialed in and was easily comparable.

They both now run the exact same architecture and now Mac OS can be installed on a PC (hackintosh) and windows can be ran on a Mac. There is no difference but the OS and Mac controls the parts they use in their builds, typically to there detriment as once again PC builds are far beyond any possible Mac configuration. This is where the hackintosh comes in!

Producers and engineers I worked with never much bothered w a
PC. They cut their teeth and learned on Mac systems and straight off the shelf are typically better quality. They know them and they stay there. Most of these same people are not the type to want to tweak and want to build their own computers. The ones that are willing are building hackintosh now and not bothering w the obscene Mac prices with current subpar CPU and ram speeds. I still own and use both platforms. There is nothing one can do that the other cant.
__________________

pro-tools-pc.com


TRASHER Pro Tools Utility(updated 3-6-18)

HD Native, Avid 16x16, Eleven Rack, Focusrite Clarett 8preX, UA Quad Apollo TB.

Intel I7 6800k
Win 10
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 11-21-2012, 08:28 PM
CME CME is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Ardmore OK
Posts: 3,205
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by guitardom View Post
I started on g3's by '01 w PT 5 mix systems and LE systems at Home on PC. Went strictly to PC in 05 and bought my first new Mac last year (MacBook) since then. Had nothing to do with distance to get to the hard drive. The processors were built by IBM for macs thru the G5 where IBM dropped the ball for way over a year on Mac and rumored to be because they got the Microsoft contract to supply the processors for the Xbox in '03 or'04. This let intel and amd fly past any Mac configuration. until then IBM built a superior processor hands down and the OS was simpler and better built period until XP got got dialed in and was easily comparable.

They both now run the exact same architecture and now Mac OS can be installed on a PC (hackintosh) and windows can be ran on a Mac. There is no difference but the OS and Mac controls the parts they use in their builds, typically to there detriment as once again PC builds are far beyond any possible Mac configuration. This is where the hackintosh comes in!

Producers and engineers I worked with never much bothered w a
PC. They cut their teeth and learned on Mac systems and straight off the shelf are typically better quality. They know them and they stay there. Most of these same people are not the type to want to tweak and want to build their own computers. The ones that are willing are building hackintosh now and not bothering w the obscene Mac prices with current subpar CPU and ram speeds. I still own and use both platforms. There is nothing one can do that the other cant.
Pretty much this. Like pro tools, macs became the defacto standard. There are competitors but apple and pro tools are entrenched in "pro" studios everywhere. However it seems hacks are making a run. Best if both worlds. Modern architecture (hardware like usb3 and sata 3), with a well known OS. I'm not saying a better OS, just one they're comfortable with. However with apple apparently bent on merging iOS and osx, windows "may" become a more viable option. Just some thoughts.
__________________
2009 Mac Pro - Dual X5650 Xeon 6-core 2.66Ghz procs, 48GB of Ram, SATA 3 and USB 3.0 PCIe cards. R9 280X video card. macOS Sierra. Harrison Mixbus 32C, Studio One 3, Reaper, and pro tools 12 when I have to.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 11-21-2012, 08:35 PM
jasonthurley's Avatar
jasonthurley jasonthurley is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: New York NY
Posts: 1,451
Default Re: sound-quality difference between using PT on a PC vs a Mac

For the thread.....


Lets just hold this flow for a minute... Now

If your talking about a PC laptop versus Mac its a different scenario, such as some manufactures audio output (motherboard) has processing noise while charging the battery... solution... unplug the laptop.... however not really a solution... macs on the laptop side no issues with processor noise in the motherboard output... Sometimes you can only hear it on big or professional systems...

Towers... welll PC has so many variables its up to what you want to do with it and can afford... with MAC, its a buy it and it works kinda thing, not that most PC's dont do the same or similar thing...

But when it comes to digital... its only 1's ans 0's and that can be replicated by anything, its the digital to analogue conversion that matters.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Sound quality difference 5.13OS 9 vs PT6.41 OSX? raregroove Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 0 09-14-2004 12:51 AM
no difference in sound quality rems 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 5 10-05-2002 11:59 AM
Do I really hear this much difference in CDR media sound quality?? el biciclista Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 20 05-01-2002 07:38 AM
sound quality difference PT Mix vs Digi001 Dag 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 5 01-01-2002 12:47 AM
sound quality difference btw. logic and ptle? yayogaak 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 10 09-23-2000 11:06 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:06 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com