Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 12

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-09-2015, 09:13 AM
spoons's Avatar
spoons spoons is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: UK
Posts: 268
Default Best OS For PT12

Just making a new partition for PT12. I'm on ML at the moment with PT10. Just wondering what everybody would recommend for PT12 at the moment?

Mountain Lion, Mavericks or Yosemite ?
__________________
Richard Spooner

www.spoonsound.com
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-09-2015, 09:20 AM
bashville bashville is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: New York
Posts: 1,150
Default Re: Best OS For PT12

I've been staying on ML for version 10 compatibility, but have been running 12 with no issues (excepting self-inflicted ones!). I'm still finishing a project with some songs that depend on non-updated plugs (URS Pro, older Autotune with a bunch of key automation I don't want to re-do). I'm going to try to hold out until I absolutely have to update the Mac OS.
__________________
HD Ultimate (HD Native), PT2019.12, OWC PCI-ext. TB2, Blue 192, 2018 MacBook Pro, 32 Gig, Mojave 10.14.6
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-09-2015, 09:22 AM
thanos4 thanos4 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 452
Default Re: Best OS For PT12

Quote:
Originally Posted by spoons View Post
Just making a new partition for PT12. I'm on ML at the moment with PT10. Just wondering what everybody would recommend for PT12 at the moment?

Mountain Lion, Mavericks or Yosemite ?
Hi Spoons
I had very little time checking Pro Tools 12 on my 10.8.5 which was fine..
I am now as we speak in 10.10.3 and everything seems smooth..
However,when i checked 11.3 and 11.3.1 in yosemite i found it that cpu performance was waaaaaay better...
I'd suggest you go 10.10.3 fresh install and fresh install of pro tools 12
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-09-2015, 07:57 PM
ShiftStudios ShiftStudios is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Toowoomba, QLD, Australia
Posts: 282
Default Re: Best OS For PT12

I'll chime in here and say I've been running PT12 on Windows 8.1 without any problems. I know it's not the norm, but it's working great for me. :)
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
co-install of PT 11 and PT12 steved5514 Pro Tools 12 24 11-11-2015 10:08 AM
PT12 and PT12 HD surround? theom Pro Tools 12 17 10-12-2015 09:27 AM
Pt12 hd Reckless Erik Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) 4 04-08-2015 04:21 PM
Installing PT12 MAC flautista Pro Tools 12 8 03-31-2015 02:41 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:43 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com