Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 9

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-29-2014, 05:55 AM
Terry Wetzel Terry Wetzel is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Douglasville, Georgia
Posts: 1,408
Default inserts vs. sends.

Good morning guys. I've been stumbling around the DUC for quite awhile and I've learned a lot of useful recording knowledge. I have noticed that I can't remember ever seeing posts that refer to sends. In the old school days implementing sends to hardware equipment like compressors, reverbs, etc. was a simple matter whereby the use of insert cables to and from a mixer channel delivered the goods. I am assuming that the deluge of plugins that are now available is the reason for this,(?). I have several well preserved pieces of hardware that I'd love to put back into action but I'm at a loss as to how I can use them with Pro Tools 9. I'm on Win 7, 32 bit and my I/O is the Focusrite 2i4 which has outputs 1 & 2 as well as 3 & 4 which I have never used the latter. I also have my Mackie 24/8 mixer. Can any of you well educated Pro Toolists guide me in the right direction ? I am searching the PT's 9 users guide but the info there is kind of geek to me. Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-29-2014, 10:53 AM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 35,500
Default Re: inserts vs. sends.

To really take advantage of hardware inserts, you really need a setup with more IO. This can work nicely with an HD system because of the available IO, AND because of the lower latency(the round trip will incur latency, which must be compensated for, so starting with lower latency, keeps things from getting "out of hand". Much as I love hardware and a real console, given the quality of modern plugins, and the simplicity, I happily stay "in the box".

I assume the 2i4 is 2 IN and 4 OUT? to use it with hardware inserts, you would only have 2 paths at any given time, and you would need to repatch the inputs for recording(your usual input signals) and mixing(with your hardware return). In the spirit of the KISS method(keep it simple....) it seems like a PITA to me Now if you have a really nice compressor, I would track THROUGH it(and I do this all the time), but you might also consider that selling a nice hardware piece(that is a PITA to use) might get you enough cash to buy some great plugins(which are simple to use, and you can use them dozens of times in any given session). Food for thought
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, DIGI003 Rack
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-30-2014, 05:40 AM
Terry Wetzel Terry Wetzel is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Douglasville, Georgia
Posts: 1,408
Default Re: inserts vs. sends.

Thanks albee and you have a good point about keeping things simple. I guess I'm having trouble shaking the old school ways. My hardware stuff is not big dollar so selling it, or trying to is a waste of time. All of it was purchased before I moved up to Pro Tools. A Dbx stereo compressor, a Dbx channel strip with compression and eq and a couple of Wharfdale effects boxes, (delays and reverbs). Coupled with my old Alesis hard disk recorder I produced some pretty good stuff, at least to my ear. That was pre stroke!
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-30-2014, 09:10 AM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 35,500
Default Re: inserts vs. sends.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Terry Wetzel View Post
Thanks albee and you have a good point about keeping things simple. I guess I'm having trouble shaking the old school ways. My hardware stuff is not big dollar so selling it, or trying to is a waste of time. All of it was purchased before I moved up to Pro Tools. A Dbx stereo compressor, a Dbx channel strip with compression and eq and a couple of Wharfdale effects boxes, (delays and reverbs). Coupled with my old Alesis hard disk recorder I produced some pretty good stuff, at least to my ear. That was pre stroke!
Hey Terry, I'm not trying to slag the old hardware. Just suggesting that you can match or beat the results with plugins, without the hassle. I can appreciate "the old ways" as I got started with a Tascam portastudio 4 track cassette and my first studio experience was with an APSI console and a NEW 16 track machine You can certainly make use of the channel strip for tracking The rest will look nice in the rack
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, DIGI003 Rack
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Inserts and Sends Connecticut macOS 1 08-17-2011 03:20 PM
sends inserts. what the f&)&)&k lionstudios 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 4 04-06-2007 03:34 PM
Inserts and Sends? pribb1 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 0 10-26-2003 10:50 PM
Inserts or Sends? MindDead 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 09-20-2003 11:21 PM
Sends before inserts... Why not? Corey Shay Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 4 07-31-2002 10:03 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:49 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com