Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support

Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)
Register FAQ Today's Posts Search

Old 12-08-2013, 08:31 AM

Default For what its worth

Hello all! i am new to both this forum and Pro Tools but i wanted to take a moment and thank all of you active users that have over the years posted such helpful information especially in-regards to system compatibility (Motherboard/Processor/Video cards that are stable).

A little back info here my son who just turned 13 has been showing ALOT of interest in the music production and recording side of pro audio. This is something that sort of runs in the family as my Uncle is a bluesman and had a "home" recording studio (first reel to reel then adat now tabletop digital portastudio) and i had a pc based (Emagic Logic and then Cubase) home studio up until about 5 years ago.

So my son and i agreed that i would start saving the money for a new home studio and he would improve his grades and that all has come to fruition this month. Now i initially started designing an AMD/Cubase rig as that is what i am most familiar with but quickly learned that Pro Tools what a must have on his wish list. So i still configured a blazing fast AMD rig and purchased a brand new in the box Digi 002 Console for a great price. Luckily i had not yet pulled the trigger on the AMD based system yet and ran across these very forums looking for Pro Tools tutorials as i am unfamiliar with it.