Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-04-2002, 10:49 PM
chucky b chucky b is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: venice, ca
Posts: 18
Default firewire drive mount / unmount

I recently bought my first firewire HD and the owners manual suggests that you umount the drive everytime you plan to unplug or power down. Is this a must do? What happens if you don't unmount? Whats the best/quickest way to unmount? (I'm using an imac dv+/m-box/80gb fw hd setup)

Thanks for any reply!
__________________
1book g4
mercury on the go firewire drive (smokin)
mbox
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-04-2002, 10:52 PM
DaWhole9 DaWhole9 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: California
Posts: 163
Default Re: firewire drive mount / unmount

Firewire drives automount....so don't worry about mounting it. Unmounting is pretty much a must. Drag the icon of the firewire disk to the trash. Once the icon disappears, then you can unplug it or turn it off. If you don't, the system will display a warning, and in OS 9, will pretty much freeze the system.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-04-2002, 11:01 PM
chucky b chucky b is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: venice, ca
Posts: 18
Default Re: firewire drive mount / unmount

Thanks, I'm new enough to digital recording that I wasn't sure if dragging the icon to the trash might trash data on the drive as well.
__________________
1book g4
mercury on the go firewire drive (smokin)
mbox
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-05-2002, 01:10 AM
Muzza Muzza is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Brisbane
Posts: 312
Default Re: firewire drive mount / unmount

Unmounting any drive before disconnecting it is a must. The action of dismounting sends a 'commit' to the drive and the final changes (desktop and any open files) are saved.
__________________
_ _ _ _________ _ _ _
Murray
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-05-2002, 03:09 AM
bigfrog bigfrog is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: UK
Posts: 263
Default Re: firewire drive mount / unmount

If you are nervous about dragging the HDD icon into the bin, highlight the HDD icon, and type Command+Y (put away).
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Mount and unmount drives under 6.9.2/Tiger houser Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 11 09-14-2005 08:40 AM
Firewire drive won't mount - help! spartacus 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 5 04-15-2004 11:04 AM
firewire drive partition doesn't mount plenky Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 1 07-03-2003 05:47 AM
MOUNT/UNMOUNT SCSI ON PT 6-OS X DigiTechSupt Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 12 03-07-2003 09:19 PM
How to mount a Firewire Glyph drive ashdot Storage Subsystems 0 08-10-2001 12:18 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:46 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com