Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-11-2010, 08:07 PM
rqstudio rqstudio is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 1,322
Default line out micro to line in of laptop?

Has anyone successfully run the line out of a micro to the input of a laptop in order to hear session on laptops speakers? Can you explain process? I can't seem to do without putting laptop in record.
__________________
www.rickqueststudio.com
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-12-2010, 11:19 AM
rqstudio rqstudio is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 1,322
Default Re: line out micro to line in of laptop?

We"ll just sneak you back to the top again
__________________
www.rickqueststudio.com
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-12-2010, 01:23 PM
daeron80 daeron80 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Orlando, Florida, USA
Posts: 3,672
Default Re: line out micro to line in of laptop?

Depends on your laptop, OS, and drivers. There should be a control panel for audio devices that will let you select the input and route it to the output. Can't vouch for how the impedance will match, though.
__________________
David J. Finnamore

Nyquist was right.

PT 2020.5 Ultimate | Omni | macOS Mojave
PT 2020.5 | Saffire Pro 40 | Win10
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-18-2010, 03:51 PM
rqstudio rqstudio is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 1,322
Default Re: line out micro to line in of laptop?

One more bump!
__________________
www.rickqueststudio.com
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-19-2010, 10:20 AM
daeron80 daeron80 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Orlando, Florida, USA
Posts: 3,672
Default Re: line out micro to line in of laptop?

The answer is different for different laptops. Which one are you using? Also, what does "putting laptop in record" mean?

Meanwhile, a workaround would be to bounce down and play it back with WMP or iTunes or something.
__________________
David J. Finnamore

Nyquist was right.

PT 2020.5 Ultimate | Omni | macOS Mojave
PT 2020.5 | Saffire Pro 40 | Win10
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08-19-2010, 10:31 AM
Hotcrazyfruit Hotcrazyfruit is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Toronto
Posts: 1,261
Default Re: line out micro to line in of laptop?

Well you could get a 1/8" headphone line in, plug it into the laptops microphone or line-in (line in has a better signal to noise ratio) and then under control panel / sound some where in there is an option to "listen to mic playback" and your good to go. in Windows xp i beleive you just go into the windows mixer and unmute the microphone and drag the fader up. Its not a good means of monitoring what so ever mind you, you would be better off getting a 20 dollar pair of logitech speakers from futureshop >_>

Nick
__________________
Core i7 920 OC'ed @ 4.0 GHz (200 X 20)
12 GB Patriot Viper Extreme
Asus P6T
OCZ Agility 64 GB SSD
Hitachi 1TB 32 MB HDD
WD Caviar Black 500GB
Saphhire HD 5850
3 x 20" monitors

Eleven Rack w/ ERXP
Fender Super Champ XD
Marshall JCM2000 DSL100 Silver Edition W/ Silver Jubilee Cabinet
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 08-19-2010, 11:23 AM
rqstudio rqstudio is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 1,322
Default Re: line out micro to line in of laptop?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hotcrazyfruit View Post
Well you could get a 1/8" headphone line in, plug it into the laptops microphone or line-in (line in has a better signal to noise ratio) and then under control panel / sound some where in there is an option to "listen to mic playback" and your good to go. in Windows xp i beleive you just go into the windows mixer and unmute the microphone and drag the fader up. Its not a good means of monitoring what so ever mind you, you would be better off getting a 20 dollar pair of logitech speakers from futureshop >_>

Nick
Thanks Nick, This was my 1st logical choice but it doesn't seem to wanna work. (from PT Micro) Have you actually tried this???
And not to worry,I've got lots of speakers, just talking about another form of convince on a laptop.
__________________
www.rickqueststudio.com
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 08-19-2010, 11:45 AM
Hotcrazyfruit Hotcrazyfruit is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Toronto
Posts: 1,261
Default Re: line out micro to line in of laptop?

Quote:
Originally Posted by rqstudio View Post
Thanks Nick, This was my 1st logical choice but it doesn't seem to wanna work. (from PT Micro) Have you actually tried this???
And not to worry,I've got lots of speakers, just talking about another form of convince on a laptop.
i havent done it in your situation exactly (from a micro to a laptop) but i HAVE gone from my mbox mini to my mic in on my sound card and playing through my z5500 speakers. then i saw the line in on my speakers them selves >_> lol i only use them as an alternate monitoring source mind you.

Here is a guide to get what you want going

http://www.ehow.com/how_5920524_hear...-speakers.html

Nick
__________________
Core i7 920 OC'ed @ 4.0 GHz (200 X 20)
12 GB Patriot Viper Extreme
Asus P6T
OCZ Agility 64 GB SSD
Hitachi 1TB 32 MB HDD
WD Caviar Black 500GB
Saphhire HD 5850
3 x 20" monitors

Eleven Rack w/ ERXP
Fender Super Champ XD
Marshall JCM2000 DSL100 Silver Edition W/ Silver Jubilee Cabinet
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 08-19-2010, 01:05 PM
rqstudio rqstudio is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 1,322
Default Re: line out micro to line in of laptop?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hotcrazyfruit View Post
i havent done it in your situation exactly (from a micro to a laptop) but i HAVE gone from my mbox mini to my mic in on my sound card and playing through my z5500 speakers. then i saw the line in on my speakers them selves >_> lol i only use them as an alternate monitoring source mind you.

Here is a guide to get what you want going

http://www.ehow.com/how_5920524_hear...-speakers.html

Nick
Wow, thanks Hotcrazyfruit! I thought something like that would be the process but I went a long-about-way of getting there and it didn't work. This looks like the way, only I can't find my mini to mini patch cord. I'll let you know after I pick one up.
__________________
www.rickqueststudio.com
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 08-19-2010, 01:21 PM
Hotcrazyfruit Hotcrazyfruit is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Toronto
Posts: 1,261
Default Re: line out micro to line in of laptop?

Quote:
Originally Posted by rqstudio View Post
Wow, thanks Hotcrazyfruit! I thought something like that would be the process but I went a long-about-way of getting there and it didn't work. This looks like the way, only I can't find my mini to mini patch cord. I'll let you know after I pick one up.
anytime

Nick
__________________
Core i7 920 OC'ed @ 4.0 GHz (200 X 20)
12 GB Patriot Viper Extreme
Asus P6T
OCZ Agility 64 GB SSD
Hitachi 1TB 32 MB HDD
WD Caviar Black 500GB
Saphhire HD 5850
3 x 20" monitors

Eleven Rack w/ ERXP
Fender Super Champ XD
Marshall JCM2000 DSL100 Silver Edition W/ Silver Jubilee Cabinet
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
protools 10 clip gain line /volume line alidav Pro Tools 10 3 03-09-2013 05:21 PM
need laptop for editing only, bottom line specs? clampire 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 05-29-2012 01:47 PM
Line In Line Out Monitor Problem Connecticut 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 3 03-02-2010 07:40 PM
Mic/Line and Line inputs on Mbox2 Pro DAT11 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 12-16-2007 08:06 PM
Bottom line on Dell Laptop Timmothee72 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 9 05-08-2003 04:12 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:19 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com