Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Mixing > Avid S1, S3, Dock and Control

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-04-2020, 09:54 AM
KeyplayerG's Avatar
KeyplayerG KeyplayerG is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: U.S.A.
Posts: 502
Default Is S3 in the S6 Category or the Artist Series Category of Eucon

I saw a video of an S3 User doing VCA Spills ON CUBASE 9!! When VCA Spill became available in Eucon 3.7, I was told it was for Pro Tools only. The video I saw was around the same time period.

Since a distinction has been made between the 2 classes (Artist Series/S1 v S4-6), I wondered if the S3 was in the "higher" category, thus explaining why it worked on Cubase/Nuendo.

I can't get VCA spill to work on Nuendo 10. So, I'm just looking for clarification on this point.

Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-04-2020, 10:14 AM
Southsidemusic's Avatar
Southsidemusic Southsidemusic is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Stockholm - Sweden
Posts: 13,163
Default Re: Is S3 in the S6 Category or the Artist Series Category of Eucon

Well I would say it is in the higher level regarding build quality and fader feel. The S1 is an Artist Series replacement IMHO and S4/S6 in the Premium category and in that same thought I would say the S3 is also in the highest echelon. Less features and no adding on to it with fader packs etc but none the less a very nice piece of kit if 16 faders is all you need.
__________________
Best Regards
Christopher

—————————————
South Side Music Group
WEBHOME
—————————————
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-04-2020, 11:18 AM
KeyplayerG's Avatar
KeyplayerG KeyplayerG is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: U.S.A.
Posts: 502
Default Re: Is S3 in the S6 Category or the Artist Series Category of Eucon

Quote:
Originally Posted by Southsidemusic View Post
Well I would say it is in the higher level regarding build quality and fader feel. The S1 is an Artist Series replacement IMHO and S4/S6 in the Premium category and in that same thought I would say the S3 is also in the highest echelon. Less features and no adding on to it with fader packs etc but none the less a very nice piece of kit if 16 faders is all you need.
Yes but is it based on the OTHER EUCON platform is my question.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-04-2020, 11:31 AM
Southsidemusic's Avatar
Southsidemusic Southsidemusic is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Stockholm - Sweden
Posts: 13,163
Default Re: Is S3 in the S6 Category or the Artist Series Category of Eucon

Quote:
Originally Posted by KeyplayerG View Post
Yes but is it based on the OTHER EUCON platform is my question.
That wasn’t your question and What is the ”other Eucon” platform?
__________________
Best Regards
Christopher

—————————————
South Side Music Group
WEBHOME
—————————————
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-04-2020, 12:23 PM
KeyplayerG's Avatar
KeyplayerG KeyplayerG is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: U.S.A.
Posts: 502
Default Re: Is S3 in the S6 Category or the Artist Series Category of Eucon

Quote:
Originally Posted by Southsidemusic View Post
That wasn’t your question and What is the ”other Eucon” platform?
Avid keeps saying that the reason you can't mix n match components between the top level gear and the entry level gear is that there are 2 versions of Eucon (if I'm understanding this correctly). So the Eucon that controls S6 is NOT the same Eucon that controls the S1/Artist Series.

Since the S3 allowed VCA Spill on Cubase and this feature doesn't work on Artist Series my question is whether the S3 is using that "upper platform Eucon?"
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-04-2020, 12:39 PM
Southsidemusic's Avatar
Southsidemusic Southsidemusic is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Stockholm - Sweden
Posts: 13,163
Default Re: Is S3 in the S6 Category or the Artist Series Category of Eucon

Only ONE Eucon version. The issues you have are Steinbergs implementation or lack there of and not a Eucon issue. And the same Eucon is used here for all Avid Eucon products, Our neighbour studio as both a S-6 48 channel and 3 Artist Mix and 2 S1’s and there is only 1 Eucon software. Dunno where you that info from that there are several Eucon levels.
__________________
Best Regards
Christopher

—————————————
South Side Music Group
WEBHOME
—————————————
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 10-04-2020, 01:56 PM
KeyplayerG's Avatar
KeyplayerG KeyplayerG is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: U.S.A.
Posts: 502
Default Re: Is S3 in the S6 Category or the Artist Series Category of Eucon

Quote:
Originally Posted by Southsidemusic View Post
Only ONE Eucon version. The issues you have are Steinbergs implementation or lack there of and not a Eucon issue. And the same Eucon is used here for all Avid Eucon products, Our neighbour studio as both a S-6 48 channel and 3 Artist Mix and 2 S1’s and there is only 1 Eucon software. Dunno where you that info from that there are several Eucon levels.
Of course, I can't find it now. But years ago, someone asked on the Sys 5 Forum if they could use Artist Mix units to increase the fader count with their MC Pro. They were told that you could not mix the components because it wasn't the same code.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 10-04-2020, 02:03 PM
Southsidemusic's Avatar
Southsidemusic Southsidemusic is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Stockholm - Sweden
Posts: 13,163
Default Re: Is S3 in the S6 Category or the Artist Series Category of Eucon

Hardware not software. It was the same with Artist Control units and Avid Control App in the beginning but thats fixed a long time ago. Nothing to do with different Eucon software though. Just updated feature sets and more versatility but only ONE eucon software.

There has been A few hardware conflicts but still the same Eucon software.
__________________
Best Regards
Christopher

—————————————
South Side Music Group
WEBHOME
—————————————
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 10-04-2020, 02:18 PM
Marsdy Marsdy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: England
Posts: 1,918
Default Re: Is S3 in the S6 Category or the Artist Series Category of Eucon

Quote:
Originally Posted by Southsidemusic View Post
Hardware not software. It was the same with Artist Control units and Avid Control App in the beginning but thats fixed a long time ago. Nothing to do with different Eucon software though. Just updated feature sets and more versatility but only ONE eucon software.

There has been A few hardware conflicts but still the same Eucon software.
There is a unified installer but the S6 version of Eucon is a separate version and installation to the S3/S1/Dock version.
__________________
Dave Marsden
UK
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 10-04-2020, 02:24 PM
Southsidemusic's Avatar
Southsidemusic Southsidemusic is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Stockholm - Sweden
Posts: 13,163
Default Re: Is S3 in the S6 Category or the Artist Series Category of Eucon

Quote:
Originally Posted by Marsdy View Post
There is a unified installer but the S6 version of Eucon is a separate version and installation to the S3/S1/Dock version.
Yep but still the same and has nothing to do with the S3/Artist Series/S1 etc and the eucon is still the same download as all Eucon products. So in this case it is on Steinberg to fix spill and other features to play nice with Eucon. Not The Eucon software. Lets not complicate this further.
__________________
Best Regards
Christopher

—————————————
South Side Music Group
WEBHOME
—————————————
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
S6 category on Ideascale? Marsdy Avid S6 5 01-21-2016 11:09 AM
Plug-in Category problem ... Barhab Pro Tools TDM Systems (Win) 1 01-07-2010 08:10 AM
Is there a suggestion category? lampmusic Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 0 07-02-2009 09:32 AM
change the category of plug ins in 6.4 neeel 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 12 09-03-2004 04:58 AM
A New Category Please! Pro Tools for OS X Digikid Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 13 04-28-2003 07:37 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:08 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com