Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-16-2008, 03:10 PM
idleave idleave is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Vegas, NV
Posts: 96
Default pro tools 8 boxed version

this may have been asked before, but i wanted to know if i can just buy the boxed version of pt8 if im only at 7.3.1cs7. Or do i have to update to 7.4 first then use the free upgrade to 8. im sure this has been asked before but as the release draws in closer i just want to make sure. thanks
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-16-2008, 03:12 PM
tommyj1112 tommyj1112 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Cuyahoga Falls, OH
Posts: 74
Default Re: pro tools 8 boxed version

You can update from any version of PT.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-16-2008, 03:13 PM
idleave idleave is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Vegas, NV
Posts: 96
Default Re: pro tools 8 boxed version

well sweetwater says yo have to go from 7.4 thats the only reason i ask.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-16-2008, 03:42 PM
ejwells's Avatar
ejwells ejwells is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Ohio, USA
Posts: 4,530
Default Re: pro tools 8 boxed version

PT 8 is a new version. No previous version is needed.
__________________
Pro Tools 10.3.3 | HD Native | HD I/O 8x8x8 | Mac Pro 8 Core Westmere | 24GB RAM | OSX Lion 10.7.4 | API 3124 | Chandler TG-2 | UA 4-710d | Empirical Labs Distressor EL8X | Kemper Rack |
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-16-2008, 08:27 PM
LSW LSW is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 342
Default Re: pro tools 8 boxed version

Every upgrade is a new version for that matter. Older versions always must first be uninstalled. (I'm not talking about CS releases of course).

I'm not sure if what sweetwater said is true, however there may not be an upgrade path from anything before 7.4 - anything earlier would require a full version. I have 7.4 so I'm not worried, but the upgrade paths are spelled out on the Digi site for anyone who needs to know.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-17-2008, 07:41 AM
tommyj1112 tommyj1112 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Cuyahoga Falls, OH
Posts: 74
Default Re: pro tools 8 boxed version

Quote:
well sweetwater says yo have to go from 7.4 thats the only reason i ask.
No, I think you misinterpreted what they were saying.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 12-17-2008, 09:25 AM
solidwalnut's Avatar
solidwalnut solidwalnut is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 347
Default Re: pro tools 8 boxed version

Quote:
Originally Posted by idleave View Post
well sweetwater says yo have to go from 7.4 thats the only reason i ask.
Well, I could be wrong but it makes sense that they were instructed to sell it that way. There may be no general reason why you couldn't upgrade from any earlier v, but one of the thorny issues involved is that FAT formatted drives for recording are no longer supported at v7.4 and higher. That alone is a big reason why the general message is that if you're aligned with v7.4 requirements, you'll be aligned for v8. I ordered my upgrade from them, and I remember my sales guy saying something about that, but I didn't pursue understanding it because I'm on 7.4 now.

Steve
__________________
Worship Leader * Producer * Guitar Man
Intel i7 3930k CPU, Gigabyte GA-X79-UD3 MB, G.Skill 16GB (DDR3 1600) RAM, WD Caviar Black 750GB HD x4
Neve 5043 Comp * Manley Dual Mic Pre * Apogee Rosetta 200
Eleven Rack (live rig and studio rig!!)
Win7 * 003R * PT 11
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Pro Tools 10 Boxed Version AWhiteSMG Buy & Sell 4 05-27-2012 07:47 PM
Pro Tools 10 Full Version Boxed Flavor4Daze Pro Tools 10 7 11-30-2011 09:30 PM
Anybody got the boxed version yet? Dolly Pro Tools 9 1 11-22-2010 08:33 AM
What version of PTLE comes in the boxed version? scour79 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 01-18-2010 08:32 AM
Trying to install pro tools LE 8 boxed version gz131 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 3 04-25-2009 03:50 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:58 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com