Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Mixing > ICON & C|24

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-19-2008, 04:40 AM
Stiwdio Bos Stiwdio Bos is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: North Wales
Posts: 9
Default aaarrrgh...! HISS!!

Hi,
Has anyone noticed a soft but all too audible hiss coming from the monitor output of the c|24?
Just to be sure, I switched everything in the control room off except the c|24 and my monitor system and to my horror, the hiss was still there!
Working with harp music as I do, this is a big no no. my old analogue desk was totally noiseless - I hope this is not an issue with all c|24s.

Any comments anyone??

Cheers,

Gwyn.
__________________
----------------

make good records not war...!

Gwyn
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-19-2008, 10:10 PM
fasttraxx fasttraxx is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Fresno, CA.
Posts: 657
Default Re: aaarrrgh...! HISS!!

My other engineer uses M-Audio EX66, he says he here's some hiss out of his speakers, I have'nt checked into it yet. I use NS-10's and I don't recall any issues, but I will look further into this with my system.
__________________
Thanks and God Bless!
Y.B.I.C.
Bill
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-19-2008, 11:53 PM
banana boy banana boy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Johannesburg, South Africa
Posts: 283
Default Re: aaarrrgh...! HISS!!

If I turn the level control full up (0SPL) I can hear hiss clearly, but if I back off 3 or 4dB it's no longer audible. 0SPL is very very loud, so I have no complaints with my C|24. IHTH.
__________________
Yebo!
Duncan
www.shillingfox.com
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-21-2008, 06:54 AM
Stiwdio Bos Stiwdio Bos is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: North Wales
Posts: 9
Default Re: aaarrrgh...! HISS!!

Thanks for your comments people! i'll have to speak to digidesign....
__________________
----------------

make good records not war...!

Gwyn
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-22-2008, 04:20 PM
fasttraxx fasttraxx is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Fresno, CA.
Posts: 657
Default Re: aaarrrgh...! HISS!!

I turned mine up to 0db and can clearly hear the hiss on both of my speaker systems. We are now finding the errors in the C24, of course after the purchase. Why doesn'y Digi fix this stuff before the sell it? This is a no brainer and should have been checked and caught before the release of the C24.
__________________
Thanks and God Bless!
Y.B.I.C.
Bill
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-06-2008, 01:53 AM
fasttraxx fasttraxx is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Fresno, CA.
Posts: 657
Default Re: aaarrrgh...! HISS!!

Any word from Digi about this. This needs to be fixed for all users. I was recording acoustic guitars today and had to have the control room up more then sessions with drums, etc... to catch the tail end fades. All you hear is hissssssssssssss and some computer random generated sounds. This is bad, really. Of course there was no mention of any of this before purchasing the C24.
Digi needs to jump on this and fix it, this is not fair for user to have this defect. After all, isn't listening what we do? How can we get a good clear picture with all this noise?
__________________
Thanks and God Bless!
Y.B.I.C.
Bill
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 03-06-2008, 04:08 PM
DigiTechSupt's Avatar
DigiTechSupt DigiTechSupt is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Worldwide
Posts: 33,642
Default Re: aaarrrgh...! HISS!!

At 0db, you're adding an awful lot of gain to the signal which could explain the hiss.

What is your monitor chain like? What about gain staging?

You say "and some computer random generated sounds."

That doesn't sound normal. Computer sounds coming through generally mean EMI/RFI is leaking into the signal chain somewhere. Does everything have a good ground? Is there possibly a ground loop? Are you using balanced cables?
__________________
Avid Audio Tech Support
Help us help you - read this before posting
Support FAQ
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 03-06-2008, 05:01 PM
mwnci mwnci is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 7
Default Re: aaarrrgh...! HISS!!

I have just received a replacement for my new C24 which i returned due to AMP NOISE (hiss) on the main outputs.
And..the hiss is still there. SAME FAULT ON A DIFFERENT UNIT!

Also the monitor selection switch puts a popping noise through the monitors (also a fault on the previous desk)

I have tried different input sources with the same results..

Digi support said to try it with a Digi interface?? I have done so with an I/O 96 and the hiss persists.

I reckon most people don't use the C24 monitor section and are yet to discover the fault.
Anybody out there not experiencing hiss?
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 03-06-2008, 05:40 PM
MASTERLINKSTUDIOS MASTERLINKSTUDIOS is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: http://www.masterlinkstudios.com/
Posts: 299
Default Re: aaarrrgh...! HISS!!

the hiss in my system is heard when nothing is playing,but during playback no hiss except when bouncing to disc and hiss is present-yes all balanced cables(using the cables digi sent with c/24 bundle-no ground loop because i have a dedicated 15 amp line run for electricity just for gear-and also you have to turn up the volume knob a whole bunch to increase volume.problem with hiss when transport is stopped is annoying while trying to speak to clients in booth---help digi please
__________________
Macpro 2.88-4 Gig Ram,HD2,Big Ben,Rosetta 200,Dangerous D Box,Mercury Bundle + Studio classics bundle ,C/24,2-UA 6176,U87ai,Genelec 8050 & 8020,Logic,Final Cut Studio 2,Canon hxa1(hd camera)-Macbook Pro,Mbox 2 Micro.http://www.masterlinkstudios.com/.http://www.myspace.com/masterlinkstudios
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 03-06-2008, 06:03 PM
DigiTechSupt's Avatar
DigiTechSupt DigiTechSupt is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Worldwide
Posts: 33,642
Default Re: aaarrrgh...! HISS!!

Do you possibly have auto-talkback on and turned up?

That could certainly explain hiss occurring when the transport is stopped.
__________________
Avid Audio Tech Support
Help us help you - read this before posting
Support FAQ
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
hiss while 11r is on oplatner Eleven Rack 12 06-20-2012 02:21 PM
STRIKE issues aaarrrgh! TREBLEBLEED 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 11 10-27-2007 09:09 PM
Hiss Khatru 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 03-18-2007 10:58 PM
EQ3 TDM hiss kptkarl Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 0 08-30-2006 01:27 PM
Hiss jacefu Digidesign Hardware & Software 8 01-08-2002 02:32 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:35 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com