Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Mixing > ICON & C|24

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-09-2006, 02:27 AM
Lizardpoint Lizardpoint is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Kent, UK
Posts: 266
Default C24 Schematic wanted - Monitor issue....

Hi Team,
Has anyone out these got a schematic for the Control 24 ?
A PDF would be easiest, however I will pay for copying charges and post if you have a paper manual.

I am so disappointed with the monitor section audio path that my play is to design an "Upgraded" board with a significantly quieter signal path.

I have Genele 8050's connected to my C24 and the hiss from them is plainly unacceptable. As soon as I disconnect them, they are silent.
The headphone output is perfectly quiet, so why aren't the monitor outputs.
I have changed the audio board, monitor board and the power suply and have only had a monor improvement.
And don't get me started on the monitor volume control. This is being used as a very low resolution encoder so that a 6 gang (For surround sound) volume control was not necessary.
This results in a stepping of the volume rather than a continuous variation as with a conventional control.
Trying to check mixes at low volume is a joke as I can only choose between step 1 and step 2.
And the volume doesn't go to zero when the control is at zero either..

I have an audio engineering background and would like to do this for me, although I would make the board available to all C24 users if it is financially viable.

For my needs, the C24 is perfect. I just want to be able to use all of it and not have to buy a monitor contorller too.

Not much to ask given the price...

Anyway, rant over.
Anyone help me out with a schematic so I can get started?

Cheers

Lizardpoint
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-12-2008, 09:05 AM
jeffredefer jeffredefer is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Athens, Ohio
Posts: 3
Default Re: C24 Schematic wanted - Monitor issue....

Did you ever find a schematic for the Control 24? I could sure use one too.

Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-15-2008, 10:22 AM
Lizardpoint Lizardpoint is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Kent, UK
Posts: 266
Default Re: C24 Schematic wanted - Monitor issue....

No luck I'm afraid.

I think when you become a Digi service agent you have to memorise the schematics of all the equipment.

I'll keep looking though...

Lizardpoint
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-21-2008, 07:14 AM
Stiwdio Bos Stiwdio Bos is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: North Wales
Posts: 9
Default Re: C24 Schematic wanted - Monitor issue....

Oh no... I'm really depressed to hear that digidesign went to all that trouble to dssign a new controller and faltered badly at the last hurdle. I've just got my c|24 up and running only to discover a completely unacceptable hiss in my mackie 824s.
what can i do other than get rid of the console?

HISSterically....!
__________________
----------------

make good records not war...!

Gwyn
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-21-2008, 06:09 PM
BradLyons BradLyons is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 2,985
Default Re: C24 Schematic wanted - Monitor issue....

Do you have the Control24, or the new C24? You made reference to both, so just wondering. As to these control surfaces, I currently have (2) Control24's---one in the HD studio at my church and the other in my personal HD studio at home, both rooms have ProTools HD3 Accel systems. Personally, I'm using a Presonus Central Station in both rooms directly out of my DAC. This gives me more routing capability, headphone cue inputs and more input to output references. And well I have to say, a better monitor bus. Plus, everything is available with standard TRS jacks in a single space rackmount.
__________________
Thank you, Brad Lyons
GC PRO- Pro Accounts Manager
(404)844-9758
blyons@gcpro.com
www.theaudioprofessional.com
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Schematic for Balanced Passive Monitor Control... Archmart 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 5 07-03-2005 11:52 AM
Wanted: Schematic for Aardvark Q10 mic pre/convert Jahz Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 0 05-07-2005 03:15 PM
monitor opions wanted russell jack 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 06-06-2004 03:43 AM
Advice Wanted for LCD Monitor Purchasing relaxo Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 6 06-05-2003 11:03 AM
Schematic for 001?? Doc 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 01-08-2001 09:30 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:22 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com