Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-20-2005, 01:01 AM
janzoulou janzoulou is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Berlin
Posts: 10
Default Core Audio/tiger

When does Digidesign fix the Core-Audio driver, so i can juse it simmilar to my Native Engine?All other Hardware Driver can be used as one in the new OS (tiger) instead of Digidesign... Sometimes i need to work Native and it is a mess i can not use my HD192 simmilar to others!
thanks!
__________________
G5 2,5 DP,10.5.7, PT HD1, Motu PCI 424, 2408 MK III,
RME ADI-8 QS (2X), Analog Summing
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-20-2005, 01:02 PM
Baba Omar Jun Baba Omar Jun is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Germany
Posts: 288
Default Re: Core Audio/tiger

it looks like there will be no separate Core-Audio installer... digi have invented the trick by providing a PT software for all there hardware individually... no global installer any more... trying to force all the mix hardware owners to upgrade to new hardware costing $$$$ without any much benefit... my hardware does everything i bought it for... why upgrading for $$$$ just to be able to use tiger...

for me? this is my last digi hardware...

M-Powered = Pro Tools M-Powered 6.8r2 for Mac OS 10.4 "Tiger"
HD / Digi 002 / 002R = Pro Tools TDM & LE 6.9.2cs2 Updates (includes fixes for Core-Audio) "Tiger"
Digi 002/002R = Pro Tools LE 6.9.2 for Mac OS 10.4 "Tiger"
HD = Pro Tools TDM 6.9.2 for Mac OS 10.4 "Tiger"
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-21-2005, 04:09 AM
janzoulou janzoulou is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Berlin
Posts: 10
Default Re: Core Audio/tiger

On th web page they say "currently there is no driver jet"....
So i can work with Logic and PT-HW, but it is not possible to use the new feature to group hardware to one advice in core audio manger....
I have to work in Tiger...(logic,s running much better)
but for me also, Digidesign is not any longer my favorite HW. Unless, since the Computers and the Audio drivers are working much more better, i think i can use Native Engines with modern good new Interfaces (RME, Moto (192) and so on)
Digidesign is like an Abonement; You have to Pay every 3-5 Jears a lot of Money to stay Up to Date...
__________________
G5 2,5 DP,10.5.7, PT HD1, Motu PCI 424, 2408 MK III,
RME ADI-8 QS (2X), Analog Summing
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-21-2005, 08:38 AM
Baba Omar Jun Baba Omar Jun is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Germany
Posts: 288
Default Re: Core Audio/tiger

Believe it or not, there would be no core audio updates... digi sometimes ago stated it in their digi website that the core audio manger would be available in july... now the statement have been altered in way that doesn't give any specific date...
there is actually no audio benefit for you under Tiger...

am using Mix|24 - 888|24 - Logic Pro 7.1 under Panther 10.3.9 on G4 1,25 DP (2GB Ram)... is pretty stable for me and rock solid!
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-22-2005, 01:43 AM
janzoulou janzoulou is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Berlin
Posts: 10
Default Re: Core Audio/tiger

Maybe youre right.... My opinion is that Digidesign has to change their politics. otherwise they are running out of buisiness. A lot of friends of mine (PT-user) are the same opinion: Its much more easier, cheaper and more flexible to work native and the power of actual systems are quiet the same like DSP-systems. The bigest change will come, when all aplications are runnig under 64bit structure...
And the next will be an audio driver, direct conected to the software, without interpolation....
greats!

My system: G5DP 2,0(old version), Logic pro 7.1 under Tiger, HD core, HD192, PCI424, Motu2408, RMEADI 8DS, UAD Studio-pack, A lot of Software, a lot of Outboard, Vintage and High-end...
__________________
G5 2,5 DP,10.5.7, PT HD1, Motu PCI 424, 2408 MK III,
RME ADI-8 QS (2X), Analog Summing
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08-26-2005, 01:26 AM
janzoulou janzoulou is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Berlin
Posts: 10
Default Re: Core Audio/tiger

I wonder if nobody from digidesign is answering? I feel a bit disapointed....
__________________
G5 2,5 DP,10.5.7, PT HD1, Motu PCI 424, 2408 MK III,
RME ADI-8 QS (2X), Analog Summing
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 08-27-2005, 04:12 PM
Mount Royal Mount Royal is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Pittsburgh, PA, USA
Posts: 995
Default Re: Core Audio/tiger

Does this sound like a familar problem with Tiger and Core Audio: Audio quits midstream with apps like Quicktime and iTunes. Also Jam play back yields frequent pops at about 0db which take your head clean off.

This is in the context of 6.9.2 version of Core Audio, 10.4.2, and Mbox. Thankfully core audio is still working really well on my Mix computer.

Thanks,

John Caldwell
__________________
Pro Tools 2018.4
HDX, 192 and Lucid I/O
5,1 MacPro 12 Core; OSX 10.12.6
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 08-29-2005, 05:57 AM
Baba Omar Jun Baba Omar Jun is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Germany
Posts: 288
Default Re: Core Audio/tiger

The most stable configuration I've come across so far is

--------------------
Logic Pro 7.1
Pro Tools 6.4.1
Pro Tools Mix|24
888/24
G4 Dual 1.25GHz MDD / 2GB Ram / OSX 10.3.9
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 09-03-2005, 05:31 PM
Baba Omar Jun Baba Omar Jun is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Germany
Posts: 288
Default Re: Core Audio/tiger

since the Standalone CoreAudio Driver for Tiger is now released... any of you out there tested with PT|24Mix?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Core Audio and OSX Tiger 10.4.11 noonaa 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 04-29-2008 09:40 AM
Pcie core + Core audio + Tiger, does it work? fantomaz Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 0 12-21-2005 02:04 PM
Tiger / Core Audio 6.9.2 acting different on G5-PB SuperReverb 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 4 08-16-2005 11:33 AM
Core audio under Tiger/ new feature janzoulou Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 2 08-01-2005 03:20 AM
Digidesign Core Audio and Tiger Loose Nutt Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 1 06-03-2005 05:38 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:02 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com