Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 12

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-30-2016, 08:57 PM
tonyreed tonyreed is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 37
Default Interface advice

Hoping for some advice here. Using pt 12.4 on an Imac. with a focusrite 56 interface. I dont use the focusrite pres as i have my own dedicated pres. I am wondering if it possible to ditch the focusrite and use a half decent AD converter connected to the pres? Dont need any more than 8 ins and outs. Just dont want all the crap that comes with the focusrite and its poor pre amps. basically would like some better converters. Hope this makes some sense and i am not oversimpifying things. Does the converter also act as the interface?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-30-2016, 09:23 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: nashville
Posts: 35,094
Default Re: Interface advice

A>D is only half the package. You also need D>A. If you have 1-2 external preamps, I would look for a great 2 channel A>D with SPDIF and feed that into the Saffire(which would still act as D>A for output and monitor control). If you have more than 2 external pre's, maybe shop for a high-end lightpipe converter(if 48K is high enough for you). For a complete replacement of the LS56, maybe look at the RME stuff Or, since you have a thunderbolt port, maybe the UA Apollo that is all line inputs?(that would also allow you to track with UAD plugins, which are very good).
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, DIGI003 Rack
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-30-2016, 11:33 PM
JuanPC JuanPC is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Miami FL
Posts: 600
Default Re: Interface advicee

Some AD converters have USB with CoreAudio&ASIO drivers, some don't.
Some AD converters have FireWire CoreAudio&ASIO drivers, some don't.
Some AD converters have S/PDIF output, some don't.
Some AD converters have AES/EBU Output, some don't.
Some AD converters have Toslink "optical s/PDIF.", some don't.
Some AD converters have ADAT "multi.channel Toslink.", some don't.
Some AD converters have MADI "8x times more channels than ADAT.", some don't.
Some AD converters have DA, but can only be used one at a time.
Some AD converters have 2-channels, some have 8-channels, some have 16-channels, some have 32-channels.


Ad converter--->soundcard with drivers--->Da converter.

Ignoring all the interconnecting possibilities...
And talking only about Sound Quality...

Crane Song HEDD192 latest board rev.5 built since year 2009 or later.
Lavry Gold mk2 or MK3 or MX
Lavry AD11
Mytek
Forsell mada-2
Lynx Hilo
Burl Audio
ApI a2d
Apogee Symphony I/o
Antelope
Etc...
There are other high end converters with real tubes & transformers.

Personally I want to hear the Millenia Media AD converter for the 500's rack.
But Too bad They never released the DA version...
And
AES/EBU output has Tascam pin configuration, not Yamaha.
And don't have ADAT...
Bummer.
ADAT version would be awesome.

Only converters need interface.
Some converters have optional interface cards, with USB or FireWire, or ADAT or ProTools HD, etc...
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-01-2016, 04:42 AM
tonyreed tonyreed is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 37
Default Re: Interface advice

I had meant ad and da on the same device. I have fairly good pres so I figured i just wanted a thunderbolt connected interface.
I use my desk for monitor control
cheers tony
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-01-2016, 07:13 AM
Wireline Wireline is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Midland TX
Posts: 141
Default Re: Interface advice

If all you need is ADDA with no pres, no effects, etc, and just an interface with a console, the MOTU 16A might be worth a look. Couple of higher end guys I know seem to be very pleased. Really all depends on how much you want to spend
__________________
Ken Morgan
Midland, TX
It Doesn't Matter What I Did Then - What I Do Now Is What's Important
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 05-01-2016, 09:03 AM
EGS's Avatar
EGS EGS is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 2,675
Default Re: Interface advice

Quote:
Originally Posted by tonyreed View Post
...Just dont want all the crap that comes with the focusrite and its poor pre amps. basically would like some better converters...
I think the Focusrite LS56 sounds/works great. What issues are you having with it?
__________________
Desktop: PT 2019.12 / Win 10 / GIGABYTE GA-X58A-UD3R / i7-980X hex @ 3.9GHz / 32GB / Focusrite LS56
Laptop: PT 2019.12 / Win 10 / HP ProBook / i7 quad / U-PHORIA UMC1820
Legacy: PT 5 & 6 / OS9 & OSX / Mac G4 / DIGI001
Info/Services link
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 05-02-2016, 04:05 AM
tonyreed tonyreed is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 37
Default Re: Interface advice

It works OK - but I have better preamps which I use instead and really I have no need for the other controls on it. So I wanted to get a better rack mounted system that just does the converting.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 05-02-2016, 07:11 AM
tonyreed tonyreed is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 37
Default Re: Interface advice

Thanks for the Motu idea. That might be the go
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 05-02-2016, 12:44 PM
musicman691 musicman691 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Soprano State (NJ)
Posts: 16,971
Default Re: Interface advice

Quote:
Originally Posted by tonyreed View Post
Thanks for the Motu idea. That might be the go
MOTU stuff is good but instead of a dedicated application to control the interfaces they use a web browser based system. And the newer stuff like the 16A don't have direct hardware play-through which is important if you're trying to set up a no latency system for things like monitoring.
__________________
Jack
See profile for system details
iMac dead & retired as of 11/4/17

QAPLA!
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 05-06-2016, 04:30 AM
tonyreed tonyreed is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 37
Default Re: Interface advice

Thanks for that - doesn't sound ideal at all. Im thinking the RME stuff might be good option.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Digidesign 003 interface - Advice ? shunter Pro Tools 10 29 04-15-2013 05:33 PM
Interface advice Roger Stauss Pro Tools 9 3 09-30-2012 03:25 PM
M-Powered Interface Advice! jackgnic Pro Tools M-Powered (Mac) 12 06-17-2008 01:18 PM
MIDI INTERFACE ADVICE Rups MIDI 0 04-14-2007 04:27 PM
Need advice: 88x/16 interface kenlac Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 2 06-21-2000 05:12 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:09 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com